We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Air Manis Hill Residence
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Padang
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Padang, like most other Indonesian towns, is a bustling, hot and humid settlement located along the Indian Ocean coast in West Sumatra. Instead of staying in a nondescript town hotel, we decided to stay away from the centre in Puncak Air Manis Residence based on the good reviews here on TripAdvisor.

Air Manis, which literally means “Sweetwater”, is actually the name of the beach which is separated from Padang town by the Batang Arau river and the hill called Bukit Gado-Gado which encircles the beach. The road to the Air Manis beach is a narrow winding road which climbs up steeply up Bukit Gado-Gado before descending down to the beach. Puncak means “peak”, and the reason for this is that the residence is located at the top of this winding road before it descends down to the beach.

From the road, all that you can see of the residence is an unmarked gate with no signage and trees. Hence, you would not even know there was anything of significance there if you were just passing by. Sliding open the gate and driving in, you will reach the parking shed and see a glimpse of the main residence. As you walk towards the house, a spectacular vista of Air Manis beach way unfolds before your very eyes. The residence is truly perched on a hill top with fantastic views of the ocean all the way from Sikuai and the other small islands in the distance, the bay entrance to Teluk Karsik and Teluk Bungus, the port of Teluk Bayur, and the entire Air Manis beach including Malim Kundang and the two islands of Pulau Pisang Kecil and Besar.

The main house itself is a nautilus shaped plan, whereby you enter into the dining area and open kitchen. Down a half flight of stairs is the Spartan living room area, and outside to an open terrace overlooking the ocean. This is where we took our breakfast and dinner, and probably our favourite spot in the entire property!

There are also two rooms in this main house, the East Bedroom or the West Bedroom. You could choose to actually book one of these rooms, or book the whole Main Residence. For us, we had chosen to book the Private Bungalow, and we were glad to have made this choice.

Located away from the Main Residence, a short walk down the hill by a garden path, the Private Bungalow is a rectangular glass box facing the greenery of the jungle. The walk down goes past the rainwater swimming pool and it is nice to be away from the main building and have your own privacy.

You enter through the open kitchen and dining area which is shuttered with glass louvres; then into the living area which has 3 day beds. The living area has an attached long verandah facing the jungle, a great spot to just sit and read a book. The bedroom with a four poster bed and ensuite bathroom complete the Bungalow.

The kitchen comes with a refrigerator, gas hob, water dispenser and kettle, so you could chose to do your own light cooking should you wish to do so. But why bother when you are on holiday, and there is a good cook at your disposal based at the Main Residence?

The food prepared by Ibu is excellent. Breakfast is provided every morning on the open terrace at the Main Residence, and although it got repetitive by the third day, it was nice. For dinner, you could place your order and Ibu would prepare it for you at the appointed time. Ibu’s beef rendang is superb and you must try it! The portions are also huge and filling.
Staying at Puncak Air Manis is like staying in your own private home. It is perfect for that getaway that you need to recharge your batteries, especially if there are no other guests at the same time. You do need to be aware that you are staying in a private home and not a hotel and not expect full hotel amenities. There is no air-conditioning or television, and we wouldn’t have it any other way. You are also staying in a glass box house with no curtains, which may be an issue to some people, but not to us. Location-wise you are also away from the town and nothing close by, but to us that is a plus not a negative.

Stay here for the isolation, the greenery, the excellent staff and most of all the spectacular view. We will be back!

Room Tip: No doubt about it. Stay in the Private Bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jadamros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airmanis, Owner at Air Manis Hill Residence, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thanks for your kind words and for spending so much time describing our place! Your efforts have shamed me into doing more with out website to explain our rooms and facilities more clearly. We are setting up a knowledge base and help desk to help guests to find answers to questions and to learn more before arrival.

We have discussed breakfast with Bu Iis and in future we will rotate the breakfast menu subject to seasonal availability. We particularly like the special fresh white mushrooms that are often in the market and they will be one option. Guests will be able to choose .... so for those who just want our homemade bread and homemade jam, don't worry, you will not be disappointed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
15
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Loved the location of the Villa Air Mantis. The place is peaceful and quiet - with a fantastic sunset view. The room was large and clean - as was the bathroom. There was no A/C, but the fan was fine with the cooler evening temperatures. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I stayed in the main house. I'm sure all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airmanis, Owner at Air Manis Hill Residence, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
It was great that you could make it and that the last minute flight changes all worked out. We are always amazed at how the combination of breeze and altitude make the inside and outside temperatures so comfortable year round. It keeps our environmental footprint pretty minimal not needed A/C. What we like most about no A/C is that we can hear the natural sounds from the rainforest around us to the surf on the beach 200m below. Thanks for your kind comments and hope we are "in residence" next time you come to share a beer on the terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We chose this villa as we wanted to have a relaxing week and see some of the real Indonesia. The staff are brilliant and find that perfect balance between being helpful and giving guests their own space

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EboneyStaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Words fall short to express what it's like to spend time at the Villa: quiet, comfortable and great views from the top of Bukit Gado Gado. I'd say the best escape from noisy Padang city. If you can imagine a place to get away from everyday Western (or Eastern..) life, this is it: tropical islands to explore on your doorstep; wildlife right next to your bedroom and Rick's morning coffee.
If you have the chance, go here. You won't regret!

Niels & Sylvia

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niels62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This place is really quiet and beautiful, with not only an extremely fascinating architecture and cosy feeling, but as well a breath taking view over the coast and towards the small tropical islands with their exotic desirable beaches. Monkeys, butterflies and eagles are your neighbors when you live at Villa Air Manis high up on the hills above Padang, surrounded by forest and a cool breeze. We enjoyed our time at Villa Air Manis very much, specifically because Janet and Rick, who run the Hotel and ever smiling Mrs. Ibu Is made us feel like we are part of the family, cooked and cared for us, explained in long evening conversations how they experienced the culture and history of the region. I highly recommend staying at Villa Air Manis, it will feel like being in a little paradise and at the same time at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefaniewu w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airmanis, Owner at Air Manis Hill Residence, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We were so happy to see you recover so fast during your stay. It was a delight to meet you both and we very much enjoyed our talks on the terrace. I hope the interview with Bu Iis worked out ok. Please keep in touch and do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Villa Air Manis is a unique accommodation in the hills of Padang with an unbelievable view over the picturesque coastline. The design of the villa is unique, offering not only perfect views, but providing also an impressive open space. The villa is built by an architect, and you can feel how many ideas went into the perfect design. The interior is also very well designed with some beautiful antiques. The house is a perfect blend of modern and antique elements. The villa is surrounded by a beautiful garden and nice and large pool. The staff is also perfect: The cook Ibu Iis creates great homemade Indonesian menus, the cooking is really on the level of an excellent restaurant; Jup, the manager and driver is very reliable and took us to a nice tour.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arvine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airmanis, Owner at Air Manis Hill Residence, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Sorry to have missed meeting you this time and look forward to sharing a beer with you on the terrace next time. We are working on a new project we call the "Secret Terrace". It will be a new place to take in the full panorama but fully surrounded by rain forrest greenery. We will post some images when it is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We spent 7 nights at Air Manis Villa and we had an amazing time. Jufrial and Iboh were always available and friendly. The owner always responded to any questions we had and advised us helpfully.

The views were stunning; the rooms were spotless.

If you find yourself in Padang and you wish for some comfort and privacy, spend some time at Air Manis Villa.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon_Nichols_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padang hotels
3.3 mi away
Mercure Padang
Mercure Padang
#1 of 38 in Padang
467 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pangeran Beach Hotel
Pangeran Beach Hotel
#8 of 38 in Padang
136 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Zuri Padang Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Grand Inna Padang Hotel
3.7 mi away
Ibis Padang
Ibis Padang
#6 of 38 in Padang
187 reviews
1.6 mi away
Havilla Maranatha Hotel
Havilla Maranatha Hotel
#16 of 38 in Padang
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Air Manis Hill Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Air Manis Hill Residence

Property: Air Manis Hill Residence
Address: Jalan Air Manis 151 | Padang Selatan, Padang 25215, Indonesia (Formerly Puncak Air Manis Residence)
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Padang
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Padang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive retreat set in the garden on a mountain top overlooking the Indian Ocean. Awake to the sounds of monkeys and bird song. Walk in the immaculate gardens where exotic orchids and rare plants surround the private rainwater swimming pool. Visit our on-site silk textile studio and meet local artisans. The bungalow features a large living room, private bedroom with en-suite bathroom, private verandah, dining room with kitchenette and day beds for up to 5 persons. The main residence has two private bedrooms, each with en-suite bathrooms, a huge lounge and dining area and large kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Air Manis Hill Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing