We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Patra Parapat Lake Resort
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Parapat
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location but bad service”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Offering one of the best views of the Lake Toba, Patra Parapat lets you down with a moderate service & not-so-clean environment. This could have been due to the renovation happening at the time we stayed, but the moderate service should not be an excuse. The rooms are big and offer wonderful views of the lake. the weather was just fine so we dint bother about the Aircon, you dont need one for a highland. The bathroom is a bit messy. The drain outlets were clogged & you can never get to shower in warm water as the heater forever doesnt heat up the water. We reported to the Reception and their promise of getting it fixed in half an hour never happened and while checking out we knew that every room had the same issue. The food was decent but the restaurant has more flies than food. The appreciable part was a hot cup of coffee. The fries were fried numerous times and had litres of oil in them. Not impressed a bit except for the views. Would prefer to stay on Tuk Tuk instead of Parapat

Room Tip: Rooms & Views on Samosir Island especially Tuk Tuk are better in every sense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunildev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This hotel is located quite far from Parapat town. It's just a decent hotel and under renovation, could see broken tile outside the room. On the back yard (facing the lake) has a beautiful view. Unfortunately, the outdoor table clothes so smelly. We prefer to dine indoor to avoid the smell. Food was standard and nothing special. The room which we stayed facing the lake and was just renovated. It has new bed, big LCD tv and private balcony. While, the bathroom was troublesome, the sink didn't work well, water stuck. The poorest thing was the water heater not working at all. We knew this by reading few same comments before, so we're not surprised. The staff said that we had to wait for quite long, they advised to switch them on for few minutes first before bathing. We did as advised and the result was big zero, no hot water even warm coming out. They had an event inside the hall till very late, and you can imagine how the loud music disturbing the guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VivianaChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogor, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We went to explore Lake of Toba with backpacker style and we didn't expect that the gate to the hotel is so far away, about 1-2 km with zig-zag road. We also don't have the right phone number of the hotel, so we couldn't ask them to pick us up in the gate. The weather is so cold and also little rain. When we arrived, this hotel is so wide. From the lobby, dining room, the pool and the garden. We had purchase the room by Agoda. Its so help us, because if we just purchase in that moment, you will get the high price, about 600k.
The room is standard, and I thought the hotel is just about had renovations because you could find many woods in the floor and iron constructions that haven't finished yet.
To get the hot water, we had to wait about 1,5 hours, because the water didn't ready yet.
We spent the time to walk around near hotel.
Ow yeah, the view from our room is so great! nice! and addicted.
In the morning, when we will have breakfast time, they don't serve it, so they asked us first,
"Do you want fried rice or fried noodle?".
Its like we are just the only residents in that hotel, There is nobody. So private.
To get to Parapat city, they provide a free shuttle directly to Parapat. You just could give the tip to driver.

Room Tip: Are you looking for peaceful place? yes, this one is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvoneTriesYuarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Apart from lovely views from high above Lake Toba, there is little going for this hotel these days. It looks like a relic of a better past, twenty years ago. Only our small group stayed there in Feb 2012, one night. Rooms were run down, towels old, there was no water at all in the evening until 6am, no hot water until after that. Meals were OK but cats roamed unchecked through the dining room, wailing and as soon as we left dinner, they were on the table licking the plates. Needless to say the same tablecloth, stained, was on the table at breakfast, and the cats back roaming. No aircon or fan in the room apart from a loud exhaust type fan. Beds were admittedly very comfortable. The place is remote from the town. Best to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Applecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Parapat hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parapat
2.3 mi away
Inna Parapat
Inna Parapat
#1 of 9 in Parapat
81 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Carolina
Hotel Carolina
#1 of 7 in Samosir Island
210 reviews
21.6 mi away
Grand Mega Hotel
Grand Mega Hotel
#2 of 5 in Pematangsiantar
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Toba Village Inn
Toba Village Inn
#2 of 26 in Samosir Island
220 reviews
2.8 mi away
Danau Toba International Cottage
5.6 mi away
Mas Cottages
Mas Cottages
#2 of 12 in Samosir Island
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patra Parapat Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patra Parapat Lake Resort

Property: Patra Parapat Lake Resort
Address: Jl. Pertamina Siuhan | Danau Toba, Parapat 21 174, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Parapat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Parapat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Patra Parapat Lake Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Patra Parapat Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing