We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“better than expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

The room was small but nice and there was a mosquito net, but there was in fact no hot water as its Solar and they had no sun and the pillows were so musty I had to sleep with a towel over the pillow as I am allergic to mould etc. I am told the hotel owner is Austalian so shame on you for not changing out the pillows regularly. The restaurant was nice food if overpriced and the garden setting was beautiful. Next stop Bajawa so fingers crossed we get something decent

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunloverj37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

We wish to comment on your report on our lodge where you blame the Australian owner (myself and other shareholders) on musty pillows and no hat water. Firstly our apologies but we will stick to our mandate to employ only local staff, secondly the House keeping staff have been clearly informed re your complaint re musty pillows and this will lead to an improvement of the problem, thirdly we do not have sun all year round especially in the rains. Yours is not the first complaint re our solar hot water system and we are seriously considering compromising our eco principles in favor of gas hot water in that part of the lodge.

Thank you for your interest,

Alan Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    118
    49
    15
    6
See reviews for
46
119
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

I was extremely happy with this package tour.
I had only three nights in Flores . With one night in Labaun Bajo I wanted to see as much as possible, with the main focus to see the three colored crater lakes at sunrise on top of Kelimutu volcano.
I was also traveling solo. The company Eco lodge Indonesia were fantastic ! They arranged my flights from Labuan Bajo to Ende (otherwise it was a 16 hour drive) and a flight from Ende back to Bali. I had been having a lot of trouble trying to book these flights myself online from Australia.
Mario (guide) and Franky (driver) met me at the airport in Ende and my fabulous adventure began. Driving through the beautiful country side up to Moni we had a picnic by a beautiful river eating a great Nasi Bugus . I spent a very memorable afternoon visiting the Saga village ,drinking home grown coffee on the veranda of a family from this village and learning about their life and their ancient and very sacred ceremonies. Upon arriving at the Kelimutu Eco lodge the chef was waiting for me to discuss what meal he would like to prepare for me. The meal was fantastic!.
I was very happy with my accommodation .It was comfortable ,clean and charming. All the staff where very polite ,responsive and very eager to please.The pancakes for breakfast were the best I have ever had while traveling throughout Indonesia . Ritha cooked me some awesome local dishes, chicken curry and baby eggplant curry. Other highlights were watching the sunrise over the three colored crater lakes on top of Kelimutu. Sitting with women in their home in a local ikat village and lightly bartering with them for handwoven Ikat sarongs. These women had spent up to five months weaving these masterpieces . Sitting in a local hotspring within a village with villagers watching the full moon shine on ancient rainforest trees and steeply sloping rice paddies. Mario was a fabulous guide. He offered a jam packed exciting off the beaten track agenda that he would personalize to suit your energy levels and desires for the day. Mario provided an intimate platform for me to engage with village life and the beautiful people I met within these villages . Franky was a very careful and competent driver. I loved his gentlemanly ways of always opening the car door for me. Kelimutu 2 days 2 nights package is a must for the time poor wanting to get an extensive and intimate taste of the Ende, Moni Kelimutu area in beautiful ,magical Flores.There is an option on this tour to do quite a bit of trekking rather than driving.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 560Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Sir,

I wish to thank you for your report on our lodge in Moni especially your appreciation of our staff. all our staff are local people and are trained to really show off their location and culture to our precious guests.

With regards,

Alan Wilson,
Founder Member of Chairman of ECOLODGESINDONESIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maumere, Nusa Tenggara Timur, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

As a tour operator I have often stayed at this hotel. Well, its our company policy to always put clients here. The reason is that the hotel is well designed and located. It is perched on lush and green hill overlooking ricefield and a small creek running in between.

The existence of Moni Kelimutu Ecolodge is indeed an added value for travelers to enjoy the masjestic beauty of Kelimutu. For, staying around the place is simply not enough if it's only for one day. The hotel gives you more chance to explore and enjoy the exquisite piece the area the Mother Nature provides for. You can enjoy staying for two nights or so..

Since it belongs Australian couple, the standard is certainly of western. It is chic hotel with no questions about facilities and comforts. It's romantic place for honeymooners. THanks to Moni Ecolodge we now have set up special package called Romantic Weekend In Kelimutu. You may check us at http://www.floresbaktatours.com/flores-tour/flores/flores-traveling/flores-tours/flores-is-the-island-of-flower.php

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominggus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
We wish to thank the writer of this review who has looked at many aspects of our Kelimutu Lodge with care and thought. The management of Ecolodgesindonesia has put a great deal of money and manpower into this lodge. We have just purchased two more blocks of lands (one the rice fields accross the river) to ensure special guest experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

As previous commentators have stated, this place is too expensive considering the average rates of hotels in Flores in general. The hotel is cashing in from its close location to the national park, lack of alternative hotels in Moni and from the "eco" title. It was not very clear, apart from a few sun panels, what is so eco about the hotel? This is a new hotel chain in Flores. The rooms are ok, not too big in size, but the management is friendly and savvy. The restaurant service is slow, and in the night lighting attracts a lot of insects and bugs, so bring your own repellent if you eat in the place. Also, the breakfast options are not good value for money, if you compare with the other places we have stayed in. As for lack for other options to stay in, this is the best choice, but too expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kati018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
We wish to respond to two areas in this critique (a) our eco credentials and (b) cost.
(a) Eco credentials. Our company ECOLODGESINDONESIA is based on Green Globe principles, all of which are followed at our Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge as follows:
(i) 100% employment of local people to ensure most of the income earned enriches and empowers the Lio people of Moni. More importantly this is an important conservation measure highlighting the environment as a source of income, a cornerstone of our companies philosophy
(ii) Eco sustainability of the area in terms of fauna and flora. Thus we note key groups of fauna (birds and butterflies) and monitor their frequency annually
(iii) Food production. Due to the recent purchase of a rice paddy across the river we are self sufficient with rice but also produce much of our fruits and vegetables organically. We have just appointed an Agriculture Officer on our staff
(iv) Use of eco friendly management systems. Thus most of our power comes from solar energy, all our sewage is recycled through reed beds on to the gardens, we use low energy bulbs, all biodegradables from the kitchen and garden waste are composted and we are very careful to recycle most of our rubbish
(v) Support of Local culture. As a company we support a local group of women weavers by purchasing product for our shop and bringing paying guests to meet them. Also all our guides are local people
(vi) Support of the local economy. We purchase over 95% of the lodge needs in either the Moni area or Ende. Also all transport for our guided tours in Flores are local companies
(vii) Transparent Management We pride ourselves on our transparency. All our accounts are open for inspection monitored by a Board and audited. Many of our staff are shareholders ensuring local participation in management by election of office bearers of the company.
(b) Cost. This Lodge was the result of much hard work and investment. It was designed by an internationally recognized designer using local materials with much thought. Many of the developments were expensive for example the solar system cost over US$ 70,000. All the profits from this lodge have been used to purchase more land for protection around the lodge. By western standards, the cost of rooms are cheap. Comparison with other hotels in Flores is irrelevant as this lodge is unique.

We welcome critical constructive comment and accept any criticism re our service. We use people most of whom have never served international guests and have been trained from scratch as part of our Conservation approach. They learn fast and we follow up courteous suggestions for improvement from our guestswith alacrity.

In summary, we accept the critical comments on aspects of our service and have followed up with a detailed audit on our Manager. We do not accept in any way the comments re our eco credentials and cost. It is recommended that writers consult with us first prior to making statements that threaten the jobs of local people.

Alan Wilson, Chairman of The Board, Ecolodges Indonesia, Bali, Indonesia
Email alanwilson@ecolodgesindonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

The hotel has a nice location and is also nicely built and arranged. The rooms are neat, clean but not very spacious. They have a small balcony that is big enough to sit on a chair, but that's it. The lodges have a larger balcony / terrace but otherwise they did not look very different. So better safe the money and book a standard room, if you plan to go there.

The manager was a very good businessman - right at our arrival and after check in he tried to sell us all kind of arrangements and guides for an obscene amount of money. After some bargaining we just rented the hotels motorbike for a day for a somehow reasonable price and did all we wanted to do on our own - there is really no need for a guide in Moni. But if you like you can find one all along the road in the little Village of Moni. And there you'll get a fair deal!

So after all it is a really nice place, but it's not outstanding - and be aware of the salesmanship of the manager!

Room Tip: Safe the money for the lodge, if you do not need a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jochen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
We thank the writer for this report and one of the results has been the replacement of our Manager. This report helped us to identify another major problem that we have attempted to solve. The negative comments re room size but as yet most of our guests have been quite happy on this aspect. Our rooms are definitely not triple rooms. We intend to build family cottages this year.

Alan Wilson, Chairman of The Board, Ecolodgesindonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,472 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 858 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

This place was 3-4 times as expensive as some other places we stayed in Flores...so did it deliver value for money?

The villa was certainly very comfortable, and I would have no difficulty in believing that it is the most upmarket place to stay in Moni (it certainly was more upmarket than other places we stayed in Flores). It was a nice place to sit out on the balcony although in such an environment you must always be on the guard for the mosquitoes so some may not be able to fully relax!

The environment is green and countryside-like with buffalo grazing on the hill on the opposite side of the stream.

We didn't eat dinner here as we found the prices way out of line compared to even western eateries in Flores. We took the torch and walked to the hotel a couple of minutes back along the main road towards the village - that does decent, honest and cheap meals.

Overall I liked it, and it was a nice break from more basic places, but I didn't love it and I'm having difficulty saying that it is value for money compared to other places in Flores, which is why my mark cannot be any higher.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
We are responding to the complaints re cost of our rooms and restaurant, which are not accepted.
ROOMS. For a hotel which has a unique, beautiful and peaceful situation in a valley facing Mount Kelimutu, we are cheap by any western standards. We offer total peace and quiet in lovely gardens with fantastic views. The comparison with other hotels in Flores is irelevant as we are unique and no other hotel could compete with the above.
This lodge was designed by an internationally acclaimed eco architect, and as the location is remote, building costs were very high. Our company ploughs 80% of its profits back into the environment through other lodges and thus we need to charge according to the above.

RESTAURANT. The profitability of our Restaurant is well below accepted international standards. Certainly there are cheaper establishments in the area and guests are most welcome to use them. None have our ambience.

We are very happy to respond to consructive criticism.

Alan Wilson, Chairman of The Board, Ecolodgesindonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed here for one night (only 5 hours) in a downstairs room below the check-in area (not one of the lodges). Location-wise this is a good place to stay to reach the Kelimutu volcanic crater lakes. The room itself was fine but the sheets on the bed were stained. The restaurant is decent but the service is slow if you don't order ahead and the breakfast wasn't very substantial. As another reviewer said, this is probably the best accommodation currently available in the area.

Room Tip: Book ahead to guarantee a lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
This report is from a guest who only stayed 5 hours in our room below the office. Our cottages and rooms above the restaurant are much more attractive in their views and situation. We do not believe that you can judge the experience of our Kelimutu on a short stay.

With thanks,

Alan Wilson, Chairman of The Board, Ecolodgesindonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flores hotels
136.8 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
33.0 mi away
Budi Sun Flores Diving Resort
29.9 mi away
CAPA Resort Maumere
CAPA Resort Maumere
#4 of 5 in Maumere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
136.5 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#7 of 37 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
136.8 mi away
Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge
Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge
#11 of 37 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
31.7 mi away
Sea World Club Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores

Property: Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores
Address: Main Rd, Moni | Kelimutu-Moni-Ende, Flores, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge was designed and built by the now internationally acclaimed eco designer Meryl Wilson. This is the fifth lodge of the company and follows our strict eco guidelines follwing our six pillars for local employment, growing our own food, use of renewables, sewage recycling, protect of the local environment and training program for key stakeholders. The lodge is a great stepping stone to see the mystical crater lakes, hike in the mountains, for birding, artists (see our Art Tour)and the start of our Trans Flores safari to see the Komodo Dragons based at our Bajo Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing