We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Eco Tree O`tel(Labuan Bajo)(Great Value!)
US$34
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$321
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Kasuwari Hotel(Labuan Bajo)(Great Value!)
US$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budi Sun Flores Diving Resort(Maumere)(Great Value!)
US$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
94
141
55
24
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
141
55
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmosquito nethot waterrice paddieslocal villageplace to staysmall riverbanana pancakesoutdoor showerstayed two nightsremote locationbeautiful gardenin townstayed longerindonesian foodnational parknasi gorenglabuan bajo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The setting is beautiful and in theory this is a great place to stay a night or two, BUT:
There seems to be a serious problem with the sewerage system. The stink in the rooms (at least in the main building where we stayed is totally unacceptable. Who would like to spend his vacation on a waste water treatment plant? Opening the window to let fresh air in is unfortunately no sensible option because of the many mosquitoes. Management seems to be poor as the staff refused to give us a proper receipt for food and drinks. We got three little had written papers – one for our meals (with service charge and tax added), one for the beers and one for the meals for our guide and driver (both without service charge and taxes). To us this was an indication that the staff at the restaurant is making some good extra money by pocketing the payment for the (simple but costly) food for the guides and maybe even some of the beers. And that no official receipt was issued on our request is also not the right thing.
The food was delicious although not cheap at all. IDR 80,000++ for a main course plus 40,000++ for a small cup of vegetables as a side dish is clearly closer to Bali prices than to any other place on Flores. Asking the waitress why this micro portion of veggies was so expensive we got the (funny) answer that the vegetables are local!
All in all, a very mixed experience.

Room Tip: Not in the main building because of the sewerage smell in the rooms - maybe the other rooms are better.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rolofromaustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Ref your report, we will follow up your complaints re our sewage system when a senior member of our Board visits on Monday next. Also there should be no problem obtaining a receipt. Both these aspects are important to our management as we face full houses for the next 6 months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Like it's sister the Rimba Lodge Kalimantan, the prime reason to stay here is it's proximity to a major attraction in this case the wonderful Kelimutu crater area. The hotel setting is excellent with beautiful countryside surrounding the individual lodges that contain decent comfort including an under the stars roofless bathroom.

Unlike the Rimba, the food here is very acceptable and we even were able to wash it down with s decent local wine. A good place to stay if Kelimutu is your target.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friggykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Manager at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your comments re our Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge. We obviously must improve our food at our Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here last week as part of a tour of Flores and Komodo. The rooms were clean, comfortable and In a beautiful garden setting. The bathrooms are great.The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was wonderful. This is a fantastic place to stay- not too far to walk into Moni and far enough away so that you can see the brilliant night stars. Thank you Ben for your professional courtesy and friendliness..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

We thank you for your report. We believe that The kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge is a special place also. We have purchased more land in the valley and are adding rooms also. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This was our first stop in Indonesia, and couldn't have been a better welcome to this stunning country. Ben scheduled great guides for us to see Kelimutu, getting to and from the airport in Ende, and other trips. Rita, the chef (five stars!) cooked up the best meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner, we are still missing those amazing banana pancakes. The room was comfortable with a great view across the valley up to Kelimutu.

Room Tip: The cottages offer the best views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jedd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Jo,

Thank you for your review. This is greatly appreciated especially your review of the rooms as we have tried to make an effort with our room staff.

Staff and Management Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here on a group tour last week. The accommodation was fantastic very authentic and its great to know that everything is powered naturally to the best of their ability. The staff are exceptional and the rooms are very comfortable. Overall it was nice to take a step out of technology into nature. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to get away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

We thank you for your report especially about our staff, all of which are from the villages around Moni. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews