We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base for hunting dragons!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Flores
Allendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good base for hunting dragons!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My stay here was part of an inclusive package which included Air transport fro Bali and boat transfer to Rinca Island to visit the famous Komodo Dragons.
It was a lovely hotel and I was sad to note that I was the only resident for my one night stay. Indonesian tourism is suffering just now from the world wide recession which is a shame as it a beautiful and exciting country to visit. Most of my time was spent on Bali which is feeling the economic pinch. I know it's a long way to go from the UK but, I can assure you, it will be worth it. I will be writing about my other hotels, so watch out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fnms99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review on our Bajo Lodge. It was most appreciated and thank you for emphsising the lodge itself.

Alan Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    37
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
18
35
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Level Contributor
131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hotel itself is nice and the location excellent. Rooms fine, garden lovely, eating terrace beautiful.

The staff,...well, they are not very professional, but this is Flores, and they try their best. However the hotel is totally overpriced. We paid 750000 rupias (around 65 euros or 80 USD) for a room with extra bed and breakfast included. They have recently built many newer hotels with much better facilities and lower prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aner g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
We apologise with the lateness of our response to this report but have just completed a mangement review of the six lodges in our company and have used your report to attempt to overcome the service problems mentioned. We acknowledge that a weakness in our company business model is using unqualified local people; however, we are slowly improving and our company is setting a Conservation yardstick for Indonesia. with thanks,
Alan Wilson, Chairman Ecolodgesindonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

A couple of km from Labuanbajo and it's harbour, the lodge itself is wonderful, with very nice garden, great sea views and open dinning room. Rooms are large and quite good, with A/C, mosquito net, bathroom ok (but sometimes you need to be patient waiting for hot water to arrive). Food is also remarkable, if you like fish ask for it.
One day boat tours from LabuanBajo to RInca Island or Komodo Island are great: komodo dragon, deer, buffalo, wild boar, monkeys and lots of birding, in short or medium treks (max. 2 hours) . In adition, some remarkable snorkelling can be done (Pink beach, Manta point) and also many excellent diving locations.
So...what's the problem? Imagine that you are suposed to be at Labuanbajo's harbour at 7:00 am for the boat, and you have ordered your breakfast at 6:00 am, how would you feel if at 6:00 the dining room is closed, no one at the kitchen, no waitress and no one at reception? Everybody is sleeping!!!! As you can see in other reviews, it's not the first time that it happens. Not to mention if you have to leave to the airport...
It's a pity having this bad experience in such a lovely place

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HIPPO_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We are a really cool and easy going couple but with the exception of the day receptionist, we found the staff helpless and incredibly unprofessional. They can't speak a word of English and they are very patchy. Breakfast is from 6 to 10 and on the day we left we had to wait in the dining room until 6:30 as the staff was still sleeping!! They were all over the place. The hotel is located 2 km from the centre of Labuanbajo. The hotel is charging 50.000 RP (£3.50) for the shuttle each way!! And 1 night they forgot to pick us up in town.....what a nightmare!!!!!
It looked like that there is no management in this place.
Do not book excursions with them. They are very overpriced!!!
The beach is a laguna with very shallow water and it's impossible to swim.
Large rooms and bathroom. Nice sea water swimming pool. Nice garden. Beautiful open dining room and lounge.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveltheclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We spent 2 nights at Bajo Komodo Ecolodge with a full day outing to Komodo Island. The lodge was very adequate, comfortable and great value. Room was comfortable, aircon worked great and staff were superbly friendly. Only negative we found was that the water (from solar heaters) was lukewarm. Their tour branch arranged a memorable day for us to Komodo Island including a superb guide and as requested, an early morning start so that we could arrive at sunrise at Komodo, we were transferred to the dock at 3:45 and took a fast boat reaching Komodo at 6am. Komodo was one of the wildlife experiences of a lifetime and we loved having the island to ourselves since we arrived well before any other tourists and could enjoy the general wildlife and birds, highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamFleaRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Manager at Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you for your report on our lodge. Your realistic and positive report makes all our hard work with the local people worth while.

Alan Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

The Komodo eco lodge is a peaceful, beautifully appointed small hotel. Set in stunning grounds, with a wealth of trees and bushes, most in full flower when I was there, it was a wonderful place to spend a few days enjoying the un equalled snorkelling around the various islands,as well as a memeorable trip to Rinca island to see the komodo dragons.
There is a great salt water pool at the hotel and the beach is jsut a short walk, when on one afternoon I was able to take a short boat trip to Bidadari island for one snorkelling trip.The staff at the lodge were more than helpful, arranging everything for me and even provided a companion to help with communication with the boat captain (in the light of my very poor indonesian!) As a woman travelling alone this was a thoughtful gesture on behalf of the desk staff.
I couldnt fault the cleanliness of the room, which was spacious and cool with excellent air con.
Food was excellent and it would be hard to fault the service during my stay.
There is a wonderfully comfortable lounge area where one can relax with a drink and the friendly atmosphere of the place meant that fellow guest were soon chatting.
I was glad to see that the hotel is adding additional rooms to help cater for the demand for visitors.
I had come from the equally well run Satwa Eco Lodge close to Way Kambas in Sumatra and have nothing but praise for this organisation who strive to not only give their guests access to some of the most enigmatic and exciting wildlife and wild places on the planet but also ensure that their guests are comfortable,well looked after and have the opportunity to relax in great surroundings.
A s a lone traveller I cannot recommend Ecolodges Indonesia highly enough.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms seem equally pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

The rooms here are decent and clean, the gardens are pleasant and it is magical to wander down to the beach at sunset. However, our stay was frustrated by extremely slow-witted staff and inept service. We found a whole host of problems when we moved into our rooms, including broken plumbing, broken lock and lack of cleaning. They were all fixed (eventually) but these were such obvious problems that it was unbelievable that they were waiting for guests to point them out before resolving them. In essence, there was no management.

I hesitate to rate the place "Poor" because for all I know these issues have been resolved by now (our visit was a while back). However, I have to rate according to our experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Your critical comments re our staff are accepted and we apologise with the lateness of our response to this report.

We have just completed a mangement review of the six lodges in our company and have used your report to attempt to overcome the service problems mentioned in our Bajo Lodge. We acknowledge that a weakness in our company business model is using unqualified local people; however, we are slowly improving and our company is setting a Conservation yardstick for Indonesia. with thanks,
Alan Wilson, Chairman Ecolodgesindonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.9 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#7 of 37 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
2.8 mi away
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#6 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sylvia Resort Komodo
Sylvia Resort Komodo
#11 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#7 of 17 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge

Property: Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge
Address: Jl. Pantai Pede Km. | Gorontalo-Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge, designed and built by Meryl Wilson, was opened in 2002. It was the first hotel in Labuan Bajo to have a swimming pool and rooms with attached bathroom and hot water. It has been chosen as one of the special ecolodges in the world. The lodge follows all the key eco principles of the company.The lodge is a good stepping stone to the Komodo islands and also to access some of the most diverse diving and snorkeling sites in the world. It is also the start of The Trans Flores Safari accross Flores to our sister lodge in the east near the mystical crater lakes of Kelimutu.Like all our lodges, it has beautiful gardens, which include a Coucal breeding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bajo Komodo Eco Hotel Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing