We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodgings, wonderful staff but disappointing food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lodgings, wonderful staff but disappointing food”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

I loved this hotel. It was so quiet and peaceful from the moment we turned onto the drive. A real contrast to the other glitzy hotels along this road. The lounge area was a really relaxing place to be and we enjoyed using the chess set and looking at the photo albums of the hotel. It was a pleasure to support a hotel built and run with ecological principles at its heart.

It was lovely to be welcomed with a cool drink when we arrived and the service from all the staff was so good. Everyone so friendly and obliging, we felt at home almost straightaway. Nothing was too much trouble and every member of staff greeted us with a friendly hello. It gave us a warm glow to be there.

The only disappointment was the evening meal. We had the set meal which we hoped would showcase some different Indonesian dishes and good cooking. The soup was over salted, the beef and veg main rather chewy and lacking in depth of flavour and the dessert very bland. However we could not fault the service and breakfast was very good.

Overall would recommend as a relaxing beautiful place to stay in Labuan bajo.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your report about our Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge. We must try and improve our evening meals. Your comments about the lodge are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    38
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
18
36
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Currumbin, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our 3 night stay here was wonderful - ecolodgesindonesia is a conservation company using only local people empowering them to value their heritage. They also aim to assist species which are critically endangered and by booking here we help in a small way to achieve this vital goal. Service was exceptional from all levels of staff. The room was large, airy, comfortable bed, a/c, ensuite, mosquito nets and balcony overlooking the grounds and lovely swimming pool. A great array of Indonesian meals to try at dinner - we were on the boat for lunch each day- ample to eat. Calm days on the water - snorkelled at Bidari Island - amazing life and good vis. Couldn't visit Komodo Island due to volcanic ash so visited Rinca and saw the huge Komodo Dragons (not very active) and a walk around the island - Buffalo and birds - then off to Kelor for another amazing snorkel. Our next day on the boat to Sambolo Kil for an easy snorkel, clear waters, heaps of life and colour. Highly recommend a stay here - so much to see close by.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bews4223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for this review. Reviews in Trip Advisor are shown to all our staff and very useful for motivation.

With many thanks,

Management of the Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Only stayed one night but I can highly recommend the hotel and the area. I really wish I would have stayed longer.

The hotel is simple but the rooms are nice and the staff is very helpful.

The area is beautiful and of course the jumping off point to get to Komodo and Rinca Islands.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikelboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Manager at Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We thank you for report and wished that you could have stayed longer.

with thanks,

Management and Staff
Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

An excellent place to stay if you want away from the hustle and bustle of traffic whilst only being a 3 minutes taxi from town. Breakfast is good (eggs or noodles), the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean with excellent mosquito nets, the pool are is fantastic. A real treat for this place is the self service bar. My only gripe would be the beach which was full of driftwood and certainly not as idyllic as you'd like. However, the people I met there were all good eco conscious enthusiastic travelers.Overall, I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are as good as the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeem27HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Manager at Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We thank you for your positive comments about our Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge. We fully understand and agree with your comments about the beach in front of us. This is our weakest point and we most certainly are not a beach lodge but a peaceful haven to discover the area especially the Komodo National Park with its dragons and superb diving/snorkeling and the mountains sorrounding with great birds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Through tripadvisor, I was looking for accommodations and trips to Komodo Island to see the dragons. I found the Ecosafari company, which has ecologically conscious lodges on Flores Island, Bali and other locations and organises trips. Website URL is ecolodgesindonesia dot com. I emailed this company (and a few others), but onnly this company got back to me right away. The manager Nyoman Martini patiently answered all our questions via email and on the phone and then sent thoughtful proposals. She organized a trip with a guide named Hendrick whose company has the website gotokomodo dot com. He also did a great job. We had a great time, saw what we came to saw, and Nyoman at Ecolodgesindonesia and Hendrick at the tour company took great care of us.

Room Tip: Consider the distances in Indonesia - between Bali, Flores, Rincha and Komodo, it may make sense to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDfromCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for this report. Our Travel arm Ecosafari Indonesia is relatively new and it is gratifying that you were looked after. The komodo NP is one of the most beautiful parks on the globe.

Thank you,

Alan Wilson, Chairman of the Board, Ecolodges Indonesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmth uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Cant understand why this little gem wasnt full. Its right by the beach with super views out to the islands and amazing sunsets either from the first floor verandah dining area and lounge or from an evening stroll along the sand. The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmschulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your comments on our Bajo Lodge; also for accentuating the sunsets which can be spectacular. We agree that our occcupancy must be improved.

Alan Wilson,
Chairman,
ECOLODGESINDONESIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The place has a beautiful garden, large rooms and some remarkable furnitures. The problem is the maintenance, as everything is getting old. So you get a very good place, but it could be great if they would just decide to invest something in small renovations (really needed, for example in the bathroom, or the bedsheets).
In short:
- good breakfast, even if poor in quantity
- quite spot, but with some noisy music at night from a club on the street (not so loud, but without that it would be 100 percent silent!)
- nice staff (they should try to be more silent from 6 to 7 in the morning when they clean and move stairs and tables on the terrace above the rooms)
- beach is not good, just interesting and with a stunning view of the bay (people is here for the trips to the islands, mainly Komodo)
- price would be ok if renewed. As it is now, I'd say expensive
- atmosphere is good, and the hotel follows some ecological rules and a green project

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massimo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your constructive criticisms on our Bajo Lodge. we agree that we can and must improve. Eight of our rooms are new but we agree the fittings in our older rooms need changed. Also your comments re our sheets have been reviewed with our house keeping staff. On the positive side, you made many kind comments.

Alan Wilson,
Chairman,
ECOLODGESINDONESIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.3 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#8 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
450 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bintang Flores Hotel
Bintang Flores Hotel
#9 of 41 in Flores
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores
4.6 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#17 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
221 reviews
1.9 mi away
Eco Tree O`tel
Eco Tree O`tel
#7 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge

Property: Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge
Address: Jl. Pantai Pede Km. | Gorontalo-Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge, designed and built by Meryl Wilson, was opened in 2002. It was the first hotel in Labuan Bajo to have a swimming pool and rooms with attached bathroom and hot water. It has been chosen as one of the special ecolodges in the world. The lodge follows all the key eco principles of the company.The lodge is a good stepping stone to the Komodo islands and also to access some of the most diverse diving and snorkeling sites in the world. It is also the start of The Trans Flores Safari accross Flores to our sister lodge in the east near the mystical crater lakes of Kelimutu.Like all our lodges, it has beautiful gardens, which include a Coucal breeding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bajo Komodo Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bajo Komodo Eco Hotel Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing