We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to stay there!”
Review of Hotel Happy Happy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Happy Happy
Ranked #2 of 12 Bajawa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent several nights in Happy Happy.
The rooms are very clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful to plan your day trip around Bajawa!
You get free Water to refill!

If you want to sleep without the sound of the mosque from the center of Bajawa, your lucky to stay in happy happy!

The breakfast is gorgeous!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ku_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Bajawa is a small town with limited accommodation options, but we were more than satisfied with our stay at Happy Happy.

The rooms are bright and clean, they could just do with a little bit of TLC - there were wires hanging out of sockets, a cracked mirror etc.

The Indonesian manager was very friendly on check-in and gave us welcome teas. However, as other reviewers have mentioned the Dutch male owner doesn't live up the 'happy happy' name and seems to be lacking in customer skills - he's not rude, just doesn't seem interested in his guests!

Happy Happy is one of the first hotels you'll come to in town if you're coming from Ruteng but Bajawa is only a very small town so everything is within a short walking distance. We ate most of our meals at Lucas Cafe which was 5 minutes walk away and had an excellent local menu.

Breakfast was one of the better ones we had in Flores with eggs, toast, fruits, juice, teas.

Happy Happy also had the strongest wifi connection we came across anywhere in Flores and wifi is available in all rooms.

If you're spending a couple of days in Bajawa for trekking/visiting local villages etc, then Happy Happy is a good option for a base.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights an enjoyed this place. Was basic and clean. Hot water was great. Nice breakfast was included with room rate. Free water bottle filling is a nice touch :) We used a guide from here to trek with us one day to Bena, Tolela, etc and he was pretty good--Alfonso was his name. He was very happy and friendly! We ate dinner at Dito's and Luca's which are a quick walk from this hotel. Would definitely recommend this guest house to other travellers!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amz155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Happy Happy Hotel is a name to remember and it kept his promises of having comfortable and big rooms (the beds & matresses have been great!) , hot water shower with a very good price value. The breakfast was good.
We were walking around in Bajawa and we haven´t seen any other better choices to stay. Luckily we were traveling in low season, so we did´t book in advance and could get a room upon arrival, but it would be recommendable to do so, since the place is very busy and quickly booked out. The only thing we have encountered during our stay, both managers seem to be not happy at all! We have been very surprised, that we might met someone new, but we did met both Dutch guys. But nobody ever ask us if we would need assistance or some information or made an effort to do more than a quick check-in/out and a rough breakfast service. It was actually quite avarage hospitality, we we don´t mind, since we didn´t want to be friends with the managers, but having a nice accommodation, so in fact I would really recommend that place.

Room Tip: Choose the one not next to the road which can be a bit noisy...but the ones along the hall are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChARTsResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here the night after staying at the worst hotel in Ende, so discovering a clean, well maintained place was an absolute joy. The room was light, airy and a good size. The bed was very comfortable, and I very much like that we got tea on arrival. Breakfast was lovely. We didn't really want to leave! The owners and staff seemed pretty friendly.

Room Tip: Room 1 was a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is presumably your best option to stay overnight in Bajawa. The place is clean and the breakfast was the best we had on our tour through Flores. The only surprising fact is that the Dutch owners did not make any effort to decorate the place. No pictures on the walls, nothing. And if you see how ugly the cables for the reading lamps are fixed you wonder whether any of the owners was present when these works were done.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rolofromaustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henk37, Owner at Hotel Happy Happy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thanks for your nice review. But did you noy see the painting in the room,the ikat and pictures outside the room? What is your suggestion for more?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed room 5. Bed left no room for movement unless you're a hobbit,
enough to open cases and access basin in room. 'Bathroom' bijou with
shower and toilet, plus a single towel each. Shower and transform the
whole 2 Sq Meters into a flood. Need to wash hands? - take a handful of
liquid soap from bathroom to bedroom, wash then search for the towel.
Brush your teeth and bang your nose on the glass shelf over the tiny
basin. Breakfast - poorly cooked eggs with some " homecooked gooh"
they called bread. Overall, keep your shoes on 'clean'.
It's home stay, but this poorly planned? Maybe good for backpackers, if
your expectations are greater, avoid. Whilst there, access was via a leap
over a channel under reconstruction, no alternative access or signage to
suggest a problem, highly dangerous in my view, thou' I'm no H & S fan.
2nd day at 17:00 no power and as a result no water either, plus the now
un light jump over a meter deep channel.

Room Tip: Don't use room 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Friggykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bajawa
161.8 mi away
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
Puri Sari Beach Hotel
#2 of 22 in Labuan Bajo
505 reviews
161.7 mi away
Luwansa Beach Resort
Luwansa Beach Resort
#9 of 22 in Labuan Bajo
282 reviews
87.2 mi away
Bajawa Roo Hotel
Bajawa Roo Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bajawa
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
(Madja) Edelweis Homestay
86.9 mi away
Lucas Authentic Lodge & Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Coconut Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Happy Happy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Happy Happy

Address: Jln. Jendral Sudirman, Bajawa, Flores 86413, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Bajawa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bajawa
Price Range: £19 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel near the center and the intrance of Bajawa, with only six rooms available. A Dutch family from Ameland the Netherlands runs the hotel.After travelled across Flores about 10 times.Our purpose is to give you a warm feeling the time you are staying with us and also to provide the service you require.Our manager and guide is Alfons. He has been guide for many years. He can arrange transport and trips for you. The breakfast we serve is unique for this part of Flores. Homemade bread, juice, fruits and an excellent pot of coffee or tea. It keeps you going for most of the day ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Happy Happy Bajawa, Flores, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing