We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My third trip to Nihi and not my last!”
Review of Nihiwatu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nihiwatu
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Sumba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2010

My family (wife and 2 young kids) just returned from Nihiwatu and we're already planning our next trip. This was my 3rd trip and our family's first. They love it as much as I do. World-class, uncrowded surf / great, plentiful food / unique and beautiful setting / outstanding staff that now feels like family / cultural experiences galore / loads of activities / and the best of memories. Nihiwatu continues to upgrade their level of service and has not become complacent. Special thanks to resort mgr Ernst, waterman supreme Christian, Sumba Foundation princess / yoga guru Ka'ale, surf stoked Ben, Andy (bar), Andy (chef), Lian, Mary, Marthen, Jenny....and the rest of the crew.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youshouldgotoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for Nihiwatu
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2010

Even if you are not a surfer it is still paradise. We spent 7 nights at this quiet, beautiful, and blissful resort. You can do absolutely nothing, or be entertained with outdoor activities from hiking to yoga, from dawn till dusk.
Understated luxury, personalized service, great food, white beaches and an incredible wave! What more can you ask for!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank memax100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We recently returned after the perfect family experience with you, and are still feeling overwehlmed by the incredible experience! Never have we felt so cared for by the wonderful staff. It was also an amazing cultural education. The location is amazingly beautiful, the surf great , and the fishing exciting and plentiful. We would recommend this trip to anyone, and we hope to return next year. Thanks to all for the best family vacation, we really miss you. Susan, James, Peggie, Roy, and Nat.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSUZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernst2010, Manager at Nihiwatu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2010

Dear Susan

I think after two weeks with us it's fair to say your family had the total Nihiwatu experience, and it is great to have been able to welcome you into our extended family!

Your gracious comments have been passed on to all the staff.

Best regards

Ernst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Unreal destination to have had the opportunity to stay at. Best part of the holiday was the interesting other guests and staff we met. Was a friendly relaxed feel to the place and you could do your own thing if wanted or be social and be part of the group. The staff were the best ,nothing was a problem for them and all were so genuine. Andy your culinary skills were amazing if you ever want a holiday in Australia give us a call and you can stay and give us a few cooking lessons. Ernst thanks for the laughs had a great time.
Next time would love to bring the kids and stay longer .
Mick and Emma Willcox

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickandEm74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernst2010, Manager at Nihiwatu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2010

Dear Mick and Emma

Thank you for posting a review. It was a pleasure to have had you to stay and we would love to meet the rest of your family one day.

Andy says he will be taking you up on the offer of cooking classes in Australia. Just make sure he returns to Nihiwatu afterwards!

Best wishes

Ernst Ludick
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2010

We holiday at Nihiwatu every year and it actually gets better each time. Unsurpassed service!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark and Roz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

A well kept secret worth sharing with your closest friends.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliveWheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

This property adds value on every level, the location is stunning (forests, ocean, also very exclusive), staff are genuine, culture abundant (via Sumba Foundation), activities (fishing, diving, swimming, surfing) & architecture (Sumbanese, teak wood, carvings). There are so many cool areas of the property to relax in -- all with sand floors.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradleysydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernst2010, Manager at Nihiwatu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2010

Dear Bradley

Thank you for your posting. I am thrilled you liked the new additions to the public areas (beach lounges, yoga studio, jungle spa, etc).

We look forward to welcoming you back for your third trip!

Best wishes

Ernst Ludick
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sumba
26.0 mi away
Hotel Sinar Tambolaka
Hotel Sinar Tambolaka
#7 of 14 in Sumba
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
L Bajo Hotel
L Bajo Hotel
#19 of 20 in Labuan Bajo
104 reviews
8.7 mi away
Watukaka Resort
Watukaka Resort
#3 of 14 in Sumba
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.0 mi away
Pondok Wisata Pantai Cemara
29.2 mi away
Oro Beach Houses and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Padadita Beach Hotel
Padadita Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Waingapu
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nihiwatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nihiwatu

Address: Desa Hobawawi | Kecamatan Wanukaka, Sumba 87272, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Sumba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sumba
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sumba
Price Range: £653 - £1,721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nihiwatu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted #1 Hotel in the World for 2016 by Travel & Leisure magazine. An award-winning luxury resort on remote Sumba Island, Indonesia. A wide range of land and ocean-based experiences ensures all tastes are catered to. Attentive service and gourmet meals add to the refined and intimate ambience. A romantic getaway idyll with pristine private beach stretching in excess of 2.5km of length ideal for honeymooners and the unique tribal culture on the island offers guests a glimpse of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Nihiwatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nihiwatu Hotel Sumba
Nihiwatu Hotel Waikabubak
Nihiwatu Resort Waikabubak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing