We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sumba Nautil Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Sumba
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I`ve been surfing and travelling from Scoland to South Africa and from Senegal to Sumba: The Sumba Nautil Resort is top of the list for sure! A great host and hostel, perfect organization, the food is always good and the Bintang always dingin! Terimah kasih Mr. Ali, can`t wait to go back, deffo!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    23
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
10
23
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We staid 2 nights with our young daughter (4) at Sumba Nautil Resort. The hotel is the best we have seen in Sumba. Comfortable, excellent food, even wine on the menu (not easily found on the island), amazing view. Ali the owner was friendly and always ready to help, even driving us to the beach when our driver failed to show up one afternoon. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel, either for a romantic time or with the family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tango385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at Sumba Nautil Resort for the last 3 nights of our 5 day visit to Sumba at the end of November 2013. The setting of the resort overlooking the cliffs close to Marosi is spectacular and it was a feast for the eyes to arrive in the majestic, open, timber lobby and dining hall of the hotel and gaze across the gardens landscaped attentively and populated by lush green vegetation and bright tropical flowers, and out to the ocean.

Our bungalow was elegantly and comfortably decorated with natural materials and arts and crafts, lovely hanging pieces of ikat (hand woven textiles from Sumba) and furniture made with local wood. Colours were tasteful and subdued and clearly a lot of work, care and thought had gone into creating these guest rooms. The bathroom had hot and cold running water and was spacious and spotless. There was also an in room fridge, television and DVD player and tea/coffee making facilities. This sounds normal by international hotel standards but the longer we spent in Sumba, the more remarkable the feat of building this resort appeared.

Sumba is one of the least developed Indonesian islands and very poor; most water needs to be collected by villagers from central springs or wells and guesthouses/hotels need to truck it in, in very large containers. Most electricity is run off generators. Many of the villages that we passed through do not have electricity at all and activity ceases as soon as the sun goes down and resumes at first light. Mr Ali, the owner and manager of Sumba Nautil kindly hand drew maps for us to take a walk to the beach and villages close to Sumba Nautil and then, a scooter drive close to the eastern coast to a well known waterfall. The walk was wonderful, taking us onto deserted beaches (not a soul in sight on unadulterated coastline) and through villages and farms and encountering curious locals, all helpful and friendly. It was the children who had learned to ask for money for photo taking.

The villagers had very little to sell to foreigners, only coconuts, such is the small scale of any type of trade in this part of the island. While a western standard hotel in the midst of these unchanged rural communities seemed an anomaly, the villagers appeared highly respectful of Mr Ali and his resort. Mr Ali told us subsequently of the role that the Sumba Nautil plays to support local communities.

The scooter ride to the waterfall was an adventure. We would recommend the ride into a lush valley and then winding through villages and rice fields to get to the site. But an argument with a park entry ticket official (over an inflated price and no available change) made us turn back without seeing the beauty spot. The ride was worth it though.

The food at the Sumba Nautil was good but the lack of a distribution network on the island means that ingredients are limited. For example, Mr Ali hand carries good quality French butter from Bali for use at the resort (which tastes much better than the local made brand) and for which we were grateful. The best food were his Indonesian dishes. Sumba coffee every morning was delicious.

As a not-do-very-much retreat the Sumba Nautil was perfect for us. The room was gorgeous (the huge geckos would amuse us with their wind up calls) and very comfortable. Mr Ali and his family were extremely helpful and accommodating. The approximate US$100 room per night seems high for a place that is less developed than say Bali or Lombok but we recognise that costs are often higher in Sumba (eg local transportation is a monopoly and a car/driver costs more than Bali). We would highly recommend Sumba Nautil especially for adventurous travellers who want to splash out on a special place to stay, in an area where they will hardly see another tourist, get a glimpse into traditional village life, and who want to experience one of the last parts of undiscovered Indonesia, and don't mind the odd hiccup or something not working. (The staff readily and happily fixed any small issues that we had.) We would also like to thank Mr Ali and his staff for their wonderful hospitality and attention to our needs during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottishflower8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa Heads, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Before I begin I must mention that I love Sumba. Waves were great, the locals were friendly but the Sumba Nautil Resort is up there with one of the worse places I have ever stayed in Indonesia. Where do I start..?

1. The worst part about this place is the owner, Ali. If you’re looking for a relaxing and friendly vibe from the staff and owner you will not find it here. Ali is a disgruntled unhappy man. Never before have I experienced somebody who lives in paradise to be so unhappy, unfriendly and unhelpful.

2. After paying $100 a night for a room and telling Ali multiple times that there were two wasp nests above our bed, his response was 'no problem don't worry about it' and refused to removed them. We also informed him about a poisonous snake that an environmentalist spotted in his room next to ours, of which he replied 'the snakes in the resort are friendly'.

3. At breakfast every morning Ali sat there coughing and spitting out flem while we were trying to eat. Further to this, his staff do not smile or even say good morning and they seem bitter about working there - a direct reflection on Ali's management towards his staff.

4. Sumba is a place which does not yet have any transport infrastructure ie taxis, busses etc.. in which case a motorbike is essential to get around. Despite this, there is only one working motor bike in the whole place. When we got a flat tire, Ali wouldn't get it fixed after 2 days. so we pushed the bike to a tyre place ourselves and fixed it. There was no effort in his service offering, Ali didn't care if we had no transport or if there were no working bikes - it feels like he has given up and doesn't really want to be there.

.5 He didn't clean the pool. The pool was full of bugs. If there was a scoop I would have cleaned it myself. Furthermore he never put out the sunbeds for people to lie near the pool.

6. He ran out of beers. Told us the beers had all sold out on the whole island. When we drove up the road and found some just 10mins away, we took them back and were enjoying them in the common area where Ali approached us angrily and told us that we were not allowed to drink them there. It was also my partner and I anniversary where we brought a bottle of special wine from Oz for the occasion to drink with our dinner and he told us that were we not allowed to drink it in his restaurant.

7. Breakfast was delicious but same thing every morning they never mix it up. His menu list is boring, dull and expensive. He will try and make you get his meal deal which is terrible. I got a beef burger one night which was a beef paddy with an egg on top, and that is it. His Indonesian food is the worst I have ever had, his mie goring tastes like noodles with ketchup manis mixed through it, so bland and no effort put in.

8. HIs bed has bed bugs. There were 8 of us staying there at the time, all of which had multiple bites all over our bodies. He was trying to say it was sandflies, but there is a different feeling from sandflies and bed bugs. When you lie in your bed at night and have the sensation of bugs crawling in your skin that is definitely bed bugs!

All in all we cut our trip short, not because of the waves or the lovely place Sumba is, we honestly couldn't deal with Ali and his unhappy staff any longer, it was getting us all down. I would go back to Sumba, but I will never put myself through this awful experience by staying here again. Ali makes Basil Faulty look normal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Angelsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SumbaGuillaume, Propriétaire at Sumba Nautil Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Sumba is a magic island , far from the mass tourism , with not any big town and factory ; our Resort is located in the heart of the countryside and guests may understand that Sumba conditions are not same as Bali .
We do always our best and will try to clarify facts point by point :
- Many guests agree to describe Mr Ali as a very helpfull man , friendly and concerned , as much as some of them declare feeling at home .
- Concerning the wasp nests and the snake , we never saw this snake so we were unable to solve the problem , Ali was just joking . We have a very long surrounding wall and our garden is cleaned every day but we are in the middle of the country , in a very beautifull and authentic area with endemic birds and geckos eating mosquitos . Just to inform : the only kind of poisonous snake in Sumba is a small bamboo viper living in bamboo forest or ricefiels .
This is not at all our environment and , since we are there (1999) , we never have had the slightest problem with any animal .
- Ali had got flu at this moment and we want to specify that breakfast is served on the terrace which is 25 meters far from the bar where stay Ali or the staff . Staff always say "good morning" of course and often get compliments ; just note that Sumbanese people are more reserved that Balinese .
- It is definitively not true that there is not any transport : it is possible to rent a car + driver like in Bali but also rent an "objek" for motorbike transport or use local buses (3 times a day) and "bemo" to reach every place you want . The flat tire was never point out and , when we notice this problem , it was Sunday (shops are closed and artisans don't work) .
- Ali has not given up at all : he is happy there , very well integrate and local people have a high regard to him . At the moment , he is improving cottages feature and new furniture will be settle soon in the restaurant ; not really a sign of weariness .
- The swimming pool is cleaned every day but , once again , we are at the countryside and , at this period , leaves fall and grasshoppers jump in the pool . Like everywhere , we put away the sunbed cushions when it rains but sunbeds are always near the pool .
- About wine , we sell a various range of wine but guests are free to drink any kind of their own bottle in their cottages , not at the restaurant as it is the norm everywhere . For beer , it can occur that our supplier from the town be out of stock for 1 or 2 days : Sumba is far from other Islands and goods arrive by shipping , so we are depending on sea conditions .
- For breakfast , we do our own bread (3 different sorts) , we serve various seasonnal fruits sold in Sumba (even the expensives ones) but we are very sorry to inform that bacon and sausages are not available in all Sumba . We are quite renowed for our cookery and dinner menu is different every evening with choice of courses . Our hamburgers are always served with grilled onions and sunny side up egg on the top so as grilled fresh tomato and chips for accompaniment .
- As for bugs in the bed , we never have had this kind of problem and there is definitively no bugs in our beds . On the other hand , it is true that Sumba is proud of its numerous virgin stunning beaches but , sometimes (at some places and depending on the weather) , we have sandflies in the sand . Our guests are warned about that and we provide a very efficient repellent - may we specify that itch always occurs 24h after bites and are worst at night .
We sincerely regret not having be able to satisfy you ; we consider that negatives and justified remarks are constructive and help us to improve our services . Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batam, Indonesia
Level Contributor
315 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

After a warm welcome by Ali, the owner, we have been guided to our very spacious “bungalows” with a splendid view over the cliffs near Marosi Beach. Please read carefully the room configurations when you book since there are many differences in location and furniture. We enjoyed every morning a nice breakfast with homemade bread which let you forget any carb warning. Their lunch sandwiches are delicious too and the daily changed 3 course menu in the evening is not seen anywhere else in Sumba. The location is near some nice traditional villages and the marvelous white stretch of Marosi Beach. However since traveling over the roads on Sumba is a time consuming adventure it is advised to locate different hotels along the way when you plan to visit various villages.

General: Please read tripadvisor “excellent” ratings in the context for what is available on the island taking into consideration the comfort & pricing levels.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the cliffs are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terbangbelanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife boijed 4 nights and ended up staying 5 nights. Mr Ali was a very nice host and explained us all about Sumba, the beaches to surf, etc. Food was amazing and living in Indonesia one gets to a point where if there's something rather than rice is already good but here is a 5 star restaurant. Rooms were very nice, good beds made us sleep till late everyday, pool was beautiful specially at sunset with a Bintang beer and local staff always cleaning!!!! Will go back for the Pasola in February

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VascoCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liechtenstein
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

No TV, no annoying musik, no spa, but the scenic view on the bay from the tasteful cottages make this place a safe bet for the more upmarket traveller in sumba.
Mr. Ali and his wife are great hosts (although not always perfectly organised). Some of the staff are more friendly, some are less.
The only heavy problem are the surfer guys who stay there (mainly Australian and Kiwis) who's behaviour is sometimes a total desaster: alcohol, gambling and loud foolish talk (for days!) can be a real issue for the more civilized guests. I hope Mr. Ali will find a solution, to protect this lovely place...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30andtravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sumba hotels
0.0 mi away
Nihiwatu
Nihiwatu
#1 of 14 in Sumba
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Watukaka Resort
Watukaka Resort
#3 of 14 in Sumba
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oro Beach Houses and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pondok Wisata Pantai Cemara
0.0 mi away
Peter's Magic Paradise
Peter's Magic Paradise
#1 of 2 in Tarimbang
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanto Hotel
Tanto Hotel
#1 of 6 in Waingapu
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sumba Nautil Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sumba Nautil Resort

Property: Sumba Nautil Resort
Address: Patiala Bawa - Lamboya, Sumba, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Sumba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sumba
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sumba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sumba Nautil Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standard to luxury accommodation (4 rooms in the villa and 7 cottages) , in the middle of a lush tropical garden ; located in a still very authentic area , surrounding with traditional villages .Stunning panorama - Peace and harmony - relaxing at the swimming pool -High hospitality and complete facilities - fine cuisine in our restaurant- Much knowledge about Sumba cultures and traditions when guided tours .You have it all : strenuous ones as well as relax ones will enjoy our amazing resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sumba Nautil Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sumba Nautil Hotel Sumba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing