We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couples hide away”
Review of Hotel Tugu Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Lombok
Ranked #3 of 178 Hotels in Lombok
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“couples hide away”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Ideal for a romantic interlude, this hotel really caters. If you like the "Banyan Tree," experience,
Hotel Tugu, Lombok, is far superior. Ideal for honeymooners, spa lovers and de-toxers, you can do no better.
I have never felt so looked after and catered for than with the staff at this hotel. The dining experience was good, dinner on the beach, weather permitting--we went at the beginning of the monsoon. There is a wait for the food as it is cooked to order obviously by a loving chef. The local fish with saffron sauce is delicious.
You can book a boat to the Gili Islands for snorkelling and island hopping. A word of warning take very good quality sun cream or better still a swim top. Watching the sea life on the coral reef
leaves your back exposed! You also need a hat for walking around.
There is deep sea diving available, or if you are not one to be on the waves you can go trekking in the hills and visit the waterfalls.
Many people incorporate this holiday with a visit to Bali--been there but much prefer Lombok.
Almost a two hour journey from the airport, we went over the monkey forest, so had a good look at the internal terrain and journeyed back by the coast. Don't let the length of the journey put you off.
The hotel is undergoing a bit of a facelift just now and expanding it's very private rooms each equipped with it's own little garden.
TV, WiFi, available --BUT hey! this place is a haven getaway.
Jan

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Janet,
Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We are appreciative of your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and comments on our hotel. The most importantly we are very happy that you have had a great time.
We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about our ambiance, dining experiences,Gili Island & Ganga water falls etc & most importantly of our staff. We are so happy to have such great comments like " This is a haven getaway" from our dear friends, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.
Janet ,we are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Lombok.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    89
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
179
571
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Tugu was the last stop of our honeymoon. we got instant upgrade in our villa. The staff here are amazing and so friendly. Anything we requested we got. This is def a 5 star hotel. Place is so charming with antiques allover the ground. The owner is a famous antique collector. Henrik was a gracious host and helpful with activities outside of the hotel. Food was excellent and we had tea time by the pool everyday. We would come back to Tugu in the future. We truly loved this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esther k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Esther,
Thank for leaving such a lovely review of the hotel, we are truly happy to read of your wonderful experience here with us. We were delighted that you were able to experience some of the services that our staff can offer. Our team is delighted to note your words mentioned about them. Please consider our little Tugu as your own home.
Our entire team will be very happy to welcome you again anytime.
Our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We already knew the other Tugu Hotels, so we were very excited to explore the Tugu Lombok now. When we arrived we were invited for an upgrade - to the amazing Bhagavat Gita Suites and we found no words when we entered the suite because we suddenly felt in love: fantastic, charming, luxary but with a cultural athmosphere. As usual in all Tugu Hotels, the staff is absolutely attentive, helpful and very friendly at any time. We enjoyed the motto for breakfast: "any time anywhere" that means you can have your breakfast, ordered from a menue card as much as you like, at any time you like and at any place in the hotel area (restaurant or beach, or,...). We felt at home at once. The hotel area in general is fantastic, the beach is clean but for swimming you need swimming shoes that are offered by the hotel. Canoes are available and as well individual guided tours to the Gilli Islands for snorkeling and diving - it is a must!
There is only one thing that could be improved: the dinner offered has a good "value for money", but the quality itself does not reflect the 5* standard of the hotel. Nevertheless we can recommend the Tugu Lombok without any restriction; one of the best hotels we had ever been and we will come back! Michael & Katharina P. from Hamburg, Germany

Room Tip: Bhagavat Gita Suites with direct access to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Michael & Katharina,
Thank you for taking your time off to write a great review of your stay At Hotel Tugu Lombok. We all appreciate the lovely words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about our impressive location, Bhagavat Gita Suite & its facilities, the pool area & many more. You have mentioned most importantly of our staff, we will be grateful & truly delighted to have such wonderful comments like “felt at home at once “.
I shall personally covey your appreciation to all our staff members in general. I am sure they will be inspired, will be so happy to serve you again any day.
We also have noticed your comment about food. We thank you for taking your time to bring your concern to our attention. However, please allow me to explain that we have implemented a deliberate strategy to maintain as low prices as possible for all items listed despite the high quality provided. The main focus of this approach is to provide "Value for money". We have gained very good reputation for serving excellent food for many years. Nevertheless, we have shared your honest comment with our head chef for our evaluation and further improvement.
Michael & Katharina, we are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Lombok.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We arrived after 3 days trekking on the volcano and was looking for some relaxation, and yes we found it! We enjoyed the white soft sand in peace and quiet (no other attractions within eyesight or hearing distance, just local farms), long massage and great food. The dinner could upon choice be served either at a table on the beachfront or in the restaurant which is a great hall without walls, sculptured with local figures. In fact all the buildings were old and moved there to create the hotel, they said that the owner was Indonesia's biggest collector of antiquities.
But best was the bathroom! In a private garden (with high walls so nobody can see in) larger than the bedroom itself, there was amidst the green a big copper bathtub set in marble, fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredrikwestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Fred,
Thank you so much for your review which shows how happy you were at our resort. We are delighted the way you have explained all our facilities & services. We are happy that you have been a part of Tugu family & giving us a chance to serve you. This is why little Tugu is famous for, we want you make this place as your own home.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you ever plan another visit to our resort. We will be delighted to have you back & help you anytime. Thank you again for your nice sentiments mentioned in your review & we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife an I spent two days here during our honeymoon, and we both agree this is the best hotel we've ever been to. The staff are remarkable - they provide very personal attention, are very accommodating and their attention to detail is unrivaled. The grounds for the hotel are also fantastic. The owner is apparently one of Indonesia's largest antique collectors and the rooms and grounds are filled with works from his collection, giving it a very authentic Indonesian feel. The beach is beautiful with crystal clear water and the sunrise is not to be missed.

My only regret is that we weren't able to stay here longer! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Rod,
Thank you so much for your great review that is posted on TripAdvisor.
We are thrilled to hear you had such a fantastic stay with us and I have shared your wonderful comments with the entire team.
Your positive feedback is in line with the surrounding reviews and we are really proud that we have contributed in some small way to making your experience with us a flawless one.
On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for considering our resort for your stay and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back on your next visit to Lombok.
With best regards,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Tugu for three nights on honeymoon. It was incredible. Everywhere you look there is a wonderful surprise - some kind of antique or temple or other beautiful thing. The beach, the decor, the grounds and the pool were all breathtaking. The bathroom was gorgeous with its circular copper bath and rain shower. The bar is beautiful, with decor themed around a local folk story, serving delicious cocktails. The staff all make a huge effort to give the best service possible. There were constant little surprises throughout our stay, like handwritten notes on our table at mealtimes and a beautiful cake to celebrate our honeymoon. They even put a little flower on top of our suitcases when they brought them to the room - little touches that make a big impression. And the driver who picked us up from the boat brought fruit and water in an ice box for us. All the staff were lovely, from the waiters to the maintenance men. The only negative thing for me was I needed to ask for supplies of a certain toiletry item; I eventually found a female member of staff to ask, and she gave me a box of them but when we left they had been added to the bill at a cost of around £10. I would expect any hotel, especially a luxury one, to provide emergency toiletries for free. We had a lovely dinner on the beach under the stars one night. They even provide snorkelling equipment, canoes and rock shoes on the beach. Afternoon tea is a real treat. The food was all prepared with a lot of care and there is a a wide choice of Asian and Western food but it is overpriced (more like London prices than Indonesia prices) and you can't easily get to anywhere else outside the resort. But it is still worth going, as Tugu is unlike anywhere else you will ever go.

Room Tip: Even the cheapest rooms are beautiful and have round copper baths and rain showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Hannah,
Thank you for taking time off to write a lengthy review. I & my team were delighted & inspired by your wonderful comments & sentiments expressed in your review. All of us at the resort will say “big thank you" from the bottom of our hearts.
You have mentioned & described about the rooms, food & the “Tugu touch “experience , most importantly of our staff, we will be grateful & truly delighted to have such wonderful comments.
I shall personally covey your appreciation to all our staff members in general. I am sure they will be inspired, will be so happy to serve you again any day.
We thank you for posting your constructive feedback and comments; Let us assure you that we are looking into all the concerns in exceeding our guests expectations beyond limits.
We do hope that with all the experience you had with us will bring you back to your favorite place in the near future on your next visit to Lombok.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had an amazing few days at Tugu Lombok, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome right from the start, there were lots of little personal touches and we were made to feel really special.

The room was beautiful, filled with lovely furniture, atmospheric lighting and a super comfy bed, there was also a partial outdoors bathroom which I absolutely loved. It was our 10th wedding anniversary while we were there and we had dinner at our own private table on the beach with a little cake baked especially for us. The beach itself is really lovely, white sand, warm sea and gorgeous sunsets.

It's also really worth taking a trip out in the surrounding countryside, the scenery is stunning, lots of rice fields, coconut plantations, Lombok is a beautiful island, so unspoiled and Tugu Lombok is a great hotel to base yourself, would highly recommend. Thank you! The Snowdons.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alextrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Alextrips,
Thank you for the time you took to post such a great comment of your experience with us!
I will pass on your positive comments about the stunning country side, our room, the service, the atmosphere, etc. to my team...
We were so privileged to have you with us for the 10 th wedding anniversary & we were delighted to make that special day a memorable one for both of you.
Of course we would be delighted to have you stay with us on your next trip to Lombok in order for you to truly experience the "Tugu touch services"once again.
With best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lombok hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
725 reviews
9.4 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,491 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,216 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Lombok

Property: Hotel Tugu Lombok
Address: Sigar Pejalin, Tanjung, Sire Beach, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lombok
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lombok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lombok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwest coast of the island, the luxury art hotel sits on a private white-sand beach, within six hectares of mature coconut plantations facing the ocean and Mount Rinjani. It features beautiful artifacts and antiques inspired by ancient tales of Mahabharata, aimed to bring back the ancient romance of Lombok. In a blend between magical landscapes and unique artworks, legends and modern luxuries, Tugu Lombok captures the soul and romance that nobody had seen before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tugu Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Tugu Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing