We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”
Review of Hotel Tugu Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Lombok
Ranked #3 of 180 Hotels in Lombok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This hotel was just the best part after our Mt Rinjani trekking. The hotel welcomed us in a very friendly way, even when we had dirty clothes after the 3days trek. The Rooms and the bath are just great, bed very comftable. Food is very delicious, people very friendly,
The History of the Hotel is very intersting because of very old and forgotten sculptures & traditional equipment. It gives a very nice touch.
This is the place to relaxe and enjoy your partner :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afri_canAk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Afri,
Thank for leaving such a lovely review of the hotel, we are truly happy to read of your wonderful experience here with us. We were delighted that you were able to experience some of the services our staff can offer. Our team is delighted to note your words mentioned about them. Please consider our little Tugu as your own home apart from grading the resort as an "Amazing place" .
Thank you so much again!
Our entire team will be very happy to welcome you again anytime.
Best wishes ,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tugu Lombok
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights here in September and loved every minute of our stay. We came from Bali first and stayed at the amankila, como shamballa and he legian in seminyak so were used to 5 star accommodations . The staff at Tugu are amongst the friendliest and most helpful anywhere. After 1day everyone knows your name and they all go out of their way to make your stay memorable.. The general manager, Roshan Fernando, is extremely friendly and helpful .

This place is true paradise, and we have stayed at the best hotels all over the Caribbean.. The beach is lovely, you can walk forever and hardly see another person. Snorkeling on their private boat at the Gili islands was spectacular. Dinner is available on the beach literally at the waters edge, and the food is tasty. Our beachfront suite was huge, comfortable with a private pool. And the design and artifacts all over the hotel are spectacular and literally not to be believed. Had fabulous messages in a breathtaking Hindu temple spa right on the beach. The enormous pool was surrounded by huge Indonesian temple artifacts making for a spectacular experience.

Our only regret was that we had only booked 4 nights here. We could have stayed forever. We will be back.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank worldtraveler754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Audley Travel UK planned and recommended our trip to Singapore and Lombok.
Singapore and The Fullerton were terrific.
But the Tugu Lombok was something else again!
Amazing villa with gardens front and back, own fish pond, private pool, huge bedroom and bed, large bathroom with rain shower area and outside double bath.
All beautifully decorated in authentic Indonesian style.
Beach 20 yards beyond the front garden and pool.
Stunning, imaginative cuisine - Indonesian and international.
Stunning, imaginative 'little touches' - flowers on bed, candles up back garden pathway to Villa, fruit and towels brought round to the Villas and beach during the day.
Wonderful public areas - restaurant and bar decorated in Indonesian style, an enormous pool meandering around beautiful lawns, tropical shrubs and trees.
Above all smiling, friendly, hugely welcoming and professional staff.
Nothing was ever too much trouble.
We became part of the Tugu Family - a real privilege.
Excellent doesn't do justice.
A place to die for.
Not a hotel, but Paradise regained.

Room Tip: Go for one of the Bhagavat Gita Suites. A little more expensive but with own pool, garden etc.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Jonathan,
Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We are appreciative of your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and comments on our resort.
We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about our colorful antiques, ambiance, cuisine, staff & impressive facilities. You have mentioned & described about the room & the “Tugu touch “experience.
We are touched with your statements mentioned “A place to die”; “Not a hotel, but paradise regained” We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear friends like you.
Jonathan, we are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Lombok.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 40th wedding at Hotel Tugu, Lombok, early in November. From the moment we arrived and throughout our stay, we were extremely impressed with the exceptional service and the fact that all staff called us by name. On our 'special day' we were made to feel like a king and queen. Whilst we were at breakfast, the garden staff erected a palm archway in our garden, which was trimmed with hibiscus and frangapanni blooms. That night, we dined on the beach and once again, the staff went out of their way to set up our table with incredible floral decorations and crisp white tablecloth - candles were arranged in the sand all around the table. When we had finished our main course, staff produced a beautiful cake complete with candles, our names and 'happy anniversary' wishes. Couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: The Bhagavat Gita Suite was stunning. The bedroom was massive with a huge 4-poster bed, a separate...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VandP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear VandP,
Thank you for posting a great review on the TripAdviser.
It is our privilege to learn that you have had an unforgettable moments & making your experience in the resort a distinctive one specially during your 40 wedding anniversary . It was indeed a great pleasure to have you with us & giving us an opportunity to make your anniversary a memorable one.
We do hope that with all the experiences you had with us will bring you back to our resort in the near future on your next visit to Lombok.
We will be delighted to welcome you back & please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may require at anytime.
With best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Lombok is a relaxed island & still relatively untravelled by tourists. And when you arrive at Tugu Lombok, you feel like you've discovered a secret oasis. Set on a beautiful beach, the hotel blends seamlessly & yet dramatically into its surroundings.

We stayed in one of the Bhagavat Gita Suites & absolutely loved our room. The huge canopy bed is wonderful ... & the personal plunge pool & outside style bathroom add to make a luxurious & unique stay.

One of the real treats about Tugu is the concept of having breakfast at any time, in any location. So in the Bhagavat Gita Suites, you have an outdoor day bed (by your plunge pool), which makes for the perfect setting for breakfast. Dinner on the beach is also pretty ideal. And afternoon tea is served in the main dining area every day from 4pm.

Getting around Lombok is more challenging than Bali, but the hotel will help you to arrange a scooter, taxi or there's a private car you can use. If you choose to make your own plans to visit the Gili Islands, the harbour from which you take the ferry is less than a 10 minute drive from the hotel. Unlike other more developed islands, there isn't too much of an alternative to eating outside of the hotel, but honestly, with such a perfect location, incredible food & accommodating staff, you will probably not want to get away anyhow!

This is a definite hotel to recommend to friends & to return to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 306KarenK306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Karen,
Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We are appreciative of your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and categorizing our resort as " A stunning hotel" . The most importantly we are very happy that you have had a great time too.
We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about our rooms, ambiance, cuisine, staff & impressive facilities. We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear guests, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Lombok.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

A friend of mine recommended this place to me, and telling by the very good reviews, I was excited to stay there.

However, I got really disappointed.

Yes, the place itself is OK/nice, not my taste, but thats personal opinion; but:
- the place is a swamp of mosquitoes, outside, in the restaurant, in the room, you get hammered
- the prices are ridiculously high - 150k to rent a really dodgy scooter with an empty tank; the restaurant was about 4 times the local price, and simply not good (I got diarrhea from the pizza - the first time during my entire Indonesia trip)
- our room was close to a mosque - prepare to wake up early ...
- room setup was acceptable, but have seen way better for this high price (may be I just dont have a thing for cultural artefacts)
- the hotel is really in the middle of nowhere, takes around 30 min scooter drive to get anywhere

On the upside:
- most of the staff was really friendly and tried to fulfill as possible
- the private beach is nice
- they do think of some nice personalized details to add to your stay

Im sorry, may be I had too high expectations, but the highly inflated prices, and the sickening food were a real deal breaker for me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yanky83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Yanky,
We thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We remember your stay well and we are sorry to hear that in the end you had not been pleased with our efforts to make your stay as memorable as possible.
We are more concern of some points you have motioned in your review. We would like to share our views.
-Tugu hotels & Restaurants stand for and it is our mission to convey the arts, history and romance of cultural Indonesian heritage to our guests. As such our resort is private, secluded from hazel & bezel, located in a remote fishing village. We regret very much that you were unable to explore such values, specially the authentic cultural experiences and the ancient traditions of Indonesia.
-In tropical countries it is not possible to totally eradicate mosquitoes; however we prevent and minimize insects with burners in the open air areas like the bathroom, lotions provided in every room, spray provided in our restaurants, anti mosquito plugs in the rooms and weekly 3 times fogging has always been a part of our pest control program .
-The scooter you hired for two full days was 200K or 10 $ a day. The owner of the scooter offered a special rate after our negotiations on the second day.
-We deeply regret the disappointment you felt with regard to the price of food. However, I may inform you that the pricing structure of food in similar hotel category or Villa in the area especially on the Sire beach even higher than us. The main focus of this approach is of course to provide value for money. We were rather surprised that you had diarrhea after having the Pizza? We only saw your comments on TripAdvisor, as you did not mention to us whilst in the resort.
-As you may aware Lombok is predominantly Muslim occupied Island. Observing Islamic religion practices take place all over the Island, as it is their way of life.
Thank you so much about your comments of our staff, beach & the “Tugu touch experiences”. At Tugu we aim to make every stay as perfect as possible, and whatever had happened with your stay, we will always thrive to be better in the future, so once again we thank you for your comments.
We hope we will be able to welcome you to one of our other Tugu properties sometime in the future.
With our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Myhusband and I spent four nights here with our 17 year old daughter and had a wonderful vacation! The beach is beautiful and if you swim out a bit to the platform the snorkelling is fantastic - almost as good as the nearby Gili Islands! Both swim shoes (for the coral) and snorkelling equipment is free to use. The food was terrific and we enjoyed being able to eat whenever and whereever we wished - just hanging out in the bar playing cards and having dinner was great - but eating at a special candlelit table on the beach was the best! We enjoyed both our private plunge pool as well as the interesting resort pool and the 30 minute free welcome massage was wonderful! There are so many extra touches that make this resort special - from the fresh flowers in the room every day to the personalized daily wishes painted on leaves and presented to us at meals. The staff are all very friendly and seemed to know who we were (Even greeting us by name) and we met the personnel manager Yakub (Jacob) who was working hard to train his staff in preparation for the upcoming expansion - 20 more rooms!

Other nice touches - 4pm Teatime with delicious treats, great free wi-fi throughout the resort, large collection of movie DVDs to borrow

Room Tip: We stayed in both the Bhagavat Gita Suite and the Aloon Aloon villa and loved them both - especially...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nbrown900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear LJW,
Thank you very much for your time to post a review on your recent stay at the Hotel Tugu Lombok on TripAdvisor.
Thank you for your compliments on our design, atmosphere, style and the location. This is what Tugu hotels & Restaurants stands for and it is our mission to convey the arts, history and romance of cultural Indonesian heritage to our guests. We are proud to promote the real authentic Indonesia with all its culinary influences from Chinese, Balinese, Javanese and Babah Peranakan cuisine, its exotic culture, art and history.... Thank you for taking some of your time to share your comment with others, we truly appreciate.
You have mentioned & described about the rooms, food & the “Tugu touch “experience , most importantly of our staff, we will be grateful & truly delighted to have such wonderful comments.
I shall personally covey your appreciation to all our staff members in general.
We are looking forward welcome you back again for your next visit in Lombok!
Our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lombok hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
748 reviews
9.4 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,553 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,261 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Lombok

Address: Sigar Pejalin, Tanjung, Sire Beach, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lombok
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lombok
#3 Spa Hotel in Lombok
Price Range: £176 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwest coast of the island, the luxury art hotel sits on a private white-sand beach, within six hectares of mature coconut plantations facing the ocean and Mount Rinjani. It features beautiful artifacts and antiques inspired by ancient tales of Mahabharata, aimed to bring back the ancient romance of Lombok. In a blend between magical landscapes and unique artworks, legends and modern luxuries, Tugu Lombok captures the soul and romance that nobody had seen before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tugu Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Tugu Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing