We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional - Paradise away from it all”
Review of Hotel Tugu Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Lombok
Ranked #5 of 182 Hotels in Lombok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights and had a brilliant time.

Before I get into why it it so amazing, a couple bits of info regarding travel etc.,

-2 hour car drive away from the airport, lots to see if traveling in the day time. This was just about right for our trip, any less than 3 nights though and the transfer time might be long. $25USD one way if you book at the airport - $38USD one way if you book with the hotel
-$25USD per person entry into Lombok, to buy a visa and 100,000 IDR to leave the country

So then - what can I say?

This place is a touch of paradise. It is what I regard as a real boutique type of hotel, where nothing is too difficult for the staff. They were clever at always understanding whether we were up for having a chat or whether we wanted some time to ourselves. They were always on hand if we required something to eat or drink, however simple our request.

The layout is delightful and so beautiful to relax in - with lots of different types of places to chill.

The rooms were just perfect, clean and VERY comfortable. Our bathroom was outside (but still undercover) and was so charming.

We ventured out to do some snorkeling, but other than that stayed in and around the hotel and relaxed.

We will certainly return and hopefully sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aadavix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Aadavix,
Thank you for the glowing testimonial of Hotel Tugu Lombok. We are glad that you were able to experience some of the wonderful services that we have to offer. We do our best to offer the most luxurious services and experiences for all our guests and we will continue to try and exceed your expectations each time you visit us.We are happy to hear that your holiday was lovely and you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again soon!
With best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

Perfect escape on a beautiful mention. The excelent service makes you feel fantastic.
Wonderfull big villas. Very goot food on reasonable price. Many complementry extras.
You can take your meals whereever you like, on the beach, in the temple... very romantic.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Thomas,
Thank for leaving such a lovely review of the hotel, we are truly happy to read of your wonderful experience you have had with us.
I will pass on your positive comments about the food, the service, the atmosphere, etc. to my team... Of course we would be delighted to have you stay with us on your next trip to Lombok in order for you to truly experience the "Tugu touch"experience once again.
Our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

From the moment we arrived at Tugu Lombok we were greeted by a member of staff waiting With a Lemon Grass cocktail and a cold flannel to cool us off after our Journey. Hendri the hotels Guest Relations manager gave us a warm welcome sat us down and Explained about the History of Lombok the Hotel and It's founder (all of which was very insightful). We were then lead off to our Beautiful room in the hotels Aloon Aloon Villas were Hendri showed us around the room. The decor was stunning and the sheer size of our bed blew us away, another five or so people could have fitted in with us! Whilst we got acquainted with our room the more we looked the more we liked especially the huge shower over the super sized copper bathtub.
Looking around the hotel it was clear a lot of time and effort had gone into the building and maintenance of the grounds, stunning antiques are visible at every turn and the swimming pool that meets the restaurant was impressive! Our private beach was bliss with service on hand every time we needed food or drink. One of the most impressive features of Tugu Lombok was the spa situated in a reconstructed temple the atmosphere and the massaged were so relaxing!
The staff were all amazing and it was clear of the intention to keep every guest feeling at the heart of focus by the size of the property compared to its relatively few 16 rooms (if this were in Spain I'd guess another 50 so rooms would have been crammed in to maximise profits).
Although the customer service was outstanding from start to finish one staff member stood out to us and we felt they were well worth a mention on this review. Roby a member of the reception team was incredible such a kind and gentle man and nothing was too much trouble for him, he gave everything and expected nothing.
We will most certainly return in the near future a truly exceptional experience that comes highly recommended for the right reasons.

Room Tip: From what we could see all rooms looked amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Mark,
Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We are appreciative of your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and comments on our hotel. The most importantly we are very happy that you have had a great time.
We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about our colorful antiques, ambiance, cuisine, staff, room & impressive facilities.I shall personally covey your appreciation to all our staff members in general not forgetting Henry & Roby. We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear guests, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.
Mark, we are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Lombok.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at Hotel Tugu in April as part of our honeymoon and it was by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in. Upon arrival we were greeted by the general manager who immediately arranged a welcome drink and sat us down after our journey from the airport. The location is fantastic, right on the water's edge with a lovely stretch of sandy beach in either direction. The hotel itself has been meticulously designed as a traditional retreat (from my basic knowledge of Indonesia) and is full of original artefacts and artwork. Our room was beautifully designed and extremely spacious and comfortable with huge beds and rather unusual, semi-external bathrooms, which we loved.

The service was also absolutely faultless. All of the staff could not do enough to help and were extremely attentive even whilst you were lounging around the pool or on the beach. They were all extremely friendly and really went out of their way to accomodate your requests. We chartered a boat for a day directly from the private beach and the kitchen staff made us some breakfast to take with us and some cold drinks for the trip. They did the same when we had to check out extremely early on our last day.

The food at all points of the day was fantastic with a vast array of hot and cold choices at breakfast. We tended to have a light snack at lunchtime and then have a complimentary afternoon tea around 4pm. The evening meals here are sensational with fresh produce every day, especially the seafood which was often delivered directly to the hotel from the shoreline by local fishermen.

We spent a lot of our honeymoon out and about really exploring the areas we visited which also included Seminyak, Ubud, and Singapore and are not at all ones for just arriving at a hotel and reserving our sun loungers. However, this was the second part of our honeymoon and the place was so idyllic that you really didn't feel the need to go anywhere else. Apart from our boat charter and borrowing some bikes from the hotel to cycle around the bay and explore local villages, we just soaked up the lifestyle at Hotel Tugu!

Overall this hotel is fantastic in every aspect and we would love to return at some point in the future. We have recommended it to everyone we have spoken to and can honestly say that staying here really made our honeymoon extremely special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lennie7787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Lennie,
Thank you for taking time off to write a lengthy review. I & my team were delighted & inspired by your wonderful comments & sentiments expressed in your review. All of us at Tugu Lombok will say “big thank you" from the bottom of our hearts.We were so glad to hear that your stay was extremely special & was memorable.
You have mentioned & described about the rooms, food & the “Tugu touch “experience ,location , concept , most importantly of our staff, we will be grateful & truly delighted to have such wonderful comments.
I shall personally covey your appreciation to all our staff members in general. I am sure they will be inspired, will be so happy to serve you again any day.
We are always committed to create only positive memorable experience for all our guests.
We do hope that with all the experience you had with us will bring you back to your favorite place in the near future on your next visit to Lombok.
Lennie, thank you once again for well written & the experience expressed in your visit to our resort.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Tugu was recommended by friends who live on Lombok and we were not disappointed. It is a small, intimate retreat hotel with swimming with fish and coral off the beach. You can have dinner where-ever you like - on the beach, in the gardens, in the restaurant. Spa is lovely. Prices are good. You can get a boat pick you up from the beach and take you to Gilis for diving. I would suggest that this is best for couples or children who can entertain themselves and who like the water.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Rachel,
Thank for leaving such a lovely review of the hotel, we are truly happy to read of your wonderful experience here with us. We were delighted that you were able to experience some of the services that our staff can offer. We are have noticed how well you have enjoyed the the sea & the marine life.
Please consider our little Tugu as your own home.Our entire team will be very happy to welcome you again anytime.
With best wishes ,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This hotel was just the best part after our Mt Rinjani trekking. The hotel welcomed us in a very friendly way, even when we had dirty clothes after the 3days trek. The Rooms and the bath are just great, bed very comftable. Food is very delicious, people very friendly,
The History of the Hotel is very intersting because of very old and forgotten sculptures & traditional equipment. It gives a very nice touch.
This is the place to relaxe and enjoy your partner :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afri_canAk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Afri,
Thank for leaving such a lovely review of the hotel, we are truly happy to read of your wonderful experience here with us. We were delighted that you were able to experience some of the services our staff can offer. Our team is delighted to note your words mentioned about them. Please consider our little Tugu as your own home apart from grading the resort as an "Amazing place" .
Thank you so much again!
Our entire team will be very happy to welcome you again anytime.
Best wishes ,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights here in September and loved every minute of our stay. We came from Bali first and stayed at the amankila, como shamballa and he legian in seminyak so were used to 5 star accommodations . The staff at Tugu are amongst the friendliest and most helpful anywhere. After 1day everyone knows your name and they all go out of their way to make your stay memorable.. The general manager, Roshan Fernando, is extremely friendly and helpful .

This place is true paradise, and we have stayed at the best hotels all over the Caribbean.. The beach is lovely, you can walk forever and hardly see another person. Snorkeling on their private boat at the Gili islands was spectacular. Dinner is available on the beach literally at the waters edge, and the food is tasty. Our beachfront suite was huge, comfortable with a private pool. And the design and artifacts all over the hotel are spectacular and literally not to be believed. Had fabulous messages in a breathtaking Hindu temple spa right on the beach. The enormous pool was surrounded by huge Indonesian temple artifacts making for a spectacular experience.

Our only regret was that we had only booked 4 nights here. We could have stayed forever. We will be back.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank worldtraveler754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lombok hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
774 reviews
9.4 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,617 reviews
1 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,307 reviews
9.6 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
9.4 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Lombok

Address: Sigar Pejalin, Tanjung, Sire Beach, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lombok
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lombok
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lombok
Price Range: £152 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwest coast of the island, the luxury art hotel sits on a private white-sand beach, within six hectares of mature coconut plantations facing the ocean and Mount Rinjani. It features beautiful artifacts and antiques inspired by ancient tales of Mahabharata, aimed to bring back the ancient romance of Lombok. In a blend between magical landscapes and unique artworks, legends and modern luxuries, Tugu Lombok captures the soul and romance that nobody had seen before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tugu Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Tugu Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing