We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5* holiday in paradise.”
Review of Hotel Tugu Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Lombok
Ranked #5 of 181 Hotels in Lombok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have just enjoyed a 10day holiday at Hotel Tugu, Lombok. This unique and memorable experience will remain in our hearts for ever.

The hotel provided a perfect holiday experience from the minute we arrived to a welcoming party of happy , smiling, helpful staff to the minute they all lined up and waved goodbye; a heart rending experience.
The staff were all incredibly friendly, welcoming and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

The attention to detail in this hotel was amazing. The aromatherapy scent which hit us as we entered our room for the first time, the personalised leaf messages at meal times and the stunning floral displays on the tables and around the hotel complex.

The surroundings were breathtakingly beautiful. A backdrop of mountains , volcano, lush vegetation, pristine white sand, immaculately tended lawns, colourful flowers and pretty, friendly birdlife.

The hotel provided us with personalised tours to the Gilly Islands to snorkel and feed the fish. We saw turtles and a stunning array of various colours , shapes and sizes of fish.
The dragon boat is a unique mode of transport, great fun and very comfortable.
We also visited waterfalls ,which entailed a taxi ride and walk through the jungle. Our local guide was knowledgeable, friendly, helpful and great fun .On the way there we visited a local market .We even stopped off to feed monkeys on the ride back to the airport!

We stayed in 3 different types of room during our stay and all were of exceptional quality .We loved the copper baths, huge showers, enormous, comfy beds and comfortable furnishings.

Daily use of mosquito repellents and high level of cleaning took place effortlessly and without our awareness due to the staff's quietness and efficiency.

Tugu family you are amazing. Selfishly we would like to keep you a secret but we know we can't!
We will be back in 2015 and can't wait to see you all again, our wonderful friends in Lombok.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Nicola C ,
Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We are appreciative of your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and comments on our resort. The most importantly we are very happy that you have had a memorable experience.
We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about our surroundings,the different types of rooms, excursions to waterfalls,Gili Islands & to the monkey forest etc. We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear guests, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts. All of us we are proud of been a part of the Tugu family for the good reasons. Our mission is simple, to be elegant, different from others and service from the heart.
Nicola, we may thank you once again for sharing your personal experience, we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip in 2015. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need, from this end.
Warm regards from Tugu family.
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

The Hotel Tugu Lombok is without a question my favorite resort in all of Asia. From the second my husband and I arrived (exhausted from a 4-day volcano trek) to the moment we left 5 days later (having extended our stay by 3 nights because we loved it so), everything was perfect. And the attention to detail in all that was done was mind-blowing.

Having showed up on short notice (without a reservation), we were shown around the property (which is gorgeous and very unique) and decided on one of the kampong lombok bungalows. Lovely outdoor bathrooms, beautifully decorated, well thought-through. Housekeeping did an excellent job of making us feel more than at home, and anything we needed in addition was just a call away.

We are not huge beach-goers, but ended up spending quite a few hours on the wonderful white-sand beach in one of the huts or beach beds, sipping wonderful freshly made fruit drinks. The staff went out of their way to fulfill any wish we had, and were extremely attentive, competent, and friendly.

We both got some excellent treatments in the spa (an adjacent building), and to this day I still have one of the delicious smelling soaps from the Tugu in my bathroom.

The food was delicious (we had an amazing fish one night), and the ambiance simply magical. A gem of a place, and one we will definitely come back to as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1337Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear 1337 Mel,
Thank you so much for posting a great review on the TripAdviser . We have noted that you have taken so much of your time to explain every detail you feel about our resort. I have already conveyed some of your comments to our staff, they were so happy & delighted the way you have expressed the little Tugu in your own words. The phases like “A gem of a place” , " the ambiance simply magical " etc; we are truly honored to have served you with that special “Tugu touch”.
Thank you for mentioning all other facilities & services of the hotel. All of us we are proud of been a part of the Tugu family for those good reasons. Our service mission is simple, to be elegant, different from others and serve from the heart.
We may thank you once again for sharing your personal experience; we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to our resort. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need, from this end.
Warm regards from entire Tugu family.
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

It is very difficult to write into words what an incredible place Hotel Tugu is.
A place of tranquility, calm and peace, it is a different world to the hustle and bustle we are used to in the developed west.
When I first arrived, I was Immediately taken aback by the beautiful people the hotel employs. The staff at Tugu are like no other I have ever experienced. Their generosity, politeness and humbleness are infectious and I can honestly say that they are what make this place so special. Everyday, their interaction was a pleasure. Whether it was the gardeners, the porters, the waiters, they were a joy to engage with. English is spoken to a high level which really helped in making my family feel welcome.
The second thing that makes this place so wonderful is it's surroundings. Set well away from the jostling cities and towns, Tugu is on a pristine, clean beach with uninterrupted views of the forests and sea. It is a half an hour boat trip to the Gilly Islands which the hotel has access to meaning there is plenty to do for day trips.
My sister was getting married in the Hotel Temple and before hand, we were fortunate enough to take two boats to the Gilly Islands to snorkel. This was a magical experience.
The third thing that makes it so special are the rooms you can stay in. I shared three nights in a room of three and then two nights in a room of two. The rooms are exceptional. The beds are comfortable, air conditioning makes the rooms cool and the bathrooms are stunning with large bath tubs and showering facilities. Some bathrooms are inside and some are located outside (privacy is still paramount.) Other rooms, (pricier) come with swimming pools and beds outside. The basic rooms (where I stayed) are still absolutely brilliant and have everything a guest could want.
I was fortunate to dine most nights on the beach under candle light. I awoke for glorious sunrises, witnessed lightening and thunder storms over the sea and sat under full moons with the planets Mars and Jupiter the clearest I have ever seen. We had great games of volleyball with many local fishermen and hotel employees and were given opportunities of visiting waterfalls and the monkey forest where you can feed wild monkeys. More than this, we were entertained but local musicians and feasted on locally caught fish and fruits from nearby forests. Opportunities to canoe, swim, play frisbee etc are there.
Tugu, thank you. I was upset to leave but know I will return next year to be in this magical place. I cannot stress to all potential visitors what a magical experience you will have here.

With love,

Simon

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Simon,
Thank you for taking time off to write a lengthy review. Our team were delighted & inspired by your wonderful comments & sentiments expressed in your review. All of us at Tugu Lombok will say “big thank you" from the bottom of our hearts.
You have mentioned & described about the rooms, surroundings , the trips to water falls, Gili Islands & the monkey forest. Most importantly of our staff, we will be grateful & truly delighted to have such wonderful comments.
I shall personally covey your appreciation to all our staff members in general. I am sure they will be inspired will be so happy to serve you again any day. We are always committed to create only positive memorable experience for all our guests.
We do hope that with all the experience you had with us will bring you back to your favorite place in the near future on your next visit to Lombok.
Simon, thank you once again for well written & the experience expressed in your recent visit to our resort with your family.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were lucky enough to be introduced to this hotel as one of our closest friends got married here after falling in love with the place last year whist on holiday....From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff were the ones that truly made this place exceedingly special and unique.

We arrived via speed boat on the beach and started to carry our suitcases up to the reception but were greeted by the staff running and telling us to 'stop carrying our bags' as they didn't want us to have to carry them ourselves!
We stayed in the Baghavat Gita suite, an enormous room with four poster bed, masses of space and lovely outdoor bathroom. It also has a pool in the front garden which leads out to the beach...truly stunning. As we knew a number of guests staying at the hotel, I was able to visit a number of the rooms and they were all lovely with lots of space. Some were a little dark to do make-up in but this really is a minor thing! All the rooms are different too which makes the place feel more unique.

The wedding itself was perfect and the amount of little touches and work that went into it was really remarkable. Hours of work went into the decorations, the entertainment, the food..... the photos speak for themselves, and you really got the feeling that the staff were just as excited about the wedding as we were.

We also went on boat trips and a trip to the waterfall which is a 40 minute drive away - a must if you are staying here. The hotel are happy to organise anything and so attentive to our needs. They knew our names by the end of our 5 night stay which made us feel so special.

The food here is also delicious and there is a lot of choice - the portions were large and very filling!

This is a very romantic hotel, perfect for couples and was a beautiful setting for my friends wedding.

Room Tip: Villas on the beach are large and have their own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norrers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Norrers,
Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We are appreciative your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and comments on our resort. The most importantly we are very happy that you have had a great time during your friends wedding as you rightly mentioned our team were just as excited about the wedding as you were.
We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about our Bhagavat Gita suite, the water falls , our cuisine,the boat trip to Gili & specially of about our staff. We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear guests, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Lombok.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at Tugu as the final destination of our Indonesian touring holiday. What a wonderful place. Off the beaten track, away from the busy resorts, you can truly relax . The hotel is beautiful set in lovely landscaped gardens leading down to a white sandy, quiet beach. We were made to feel very special by all the staff who cannot do enough to ensure your stay is perfect. From sunrise breakfast on the beach, boat trips from the hotel to see green turtles and feed the fish, and candlelit dinners on the beach it was truly memorable. I would not hesitate in recommending a stay here. It certainly exceeded our expectations and we would love to return. The most perfect place we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat50England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear kat50,
Thank for leaving such a lovely review of our resort, we are truly happy to read of your wonderful experience here with us. We were delighted that you were able to experience some of the services
that our staff can offer. Our team is delighted to note your comments, that you have exceeded your expectations. Please consider our little Tugu as your own home.
Our entire team will be very happy to welcome you again anytime.
With our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My expectations of Tugu Lombok were fairly high from what I had read from other reports. I am well travelled and have stayed in some of the worlds best hotels ,but from start to finish it just got better and better! This is nothing like the normal five star resort. There is nothing pretentious about Tugu Lombok. It is unique, made up in part of reconstructed Indonesian buildings, several hundred years old, set in mature tropical gardens next to a white sand beach.

The staff are all friendly and totally attentive. No request is too much trouble. The menu was both Indonesian and international. Every meal was a culinary delight.

At the end of the week we were totally relexed and fully recharged. My wife cried when she had to leave. We will be back there very soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Steven H ,
Thank you for taking your time off to write a great review of your stay at our resort. We all appreciate the lovely words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about our impressive location, concept , its facilities , our staff & food many more. We are so happy to have such comments from our dear guests which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.
We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back for your next visit in Lombok!
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed in the villas, Room huge which was nicely decorated Balinese style. Outdoor shower area which I also liked. We had on our own private pool and gardens and a lovely view of the sea and beach. Swam in the sea every day. White sands at this Beach and nice to walk at sunset. Staff very helpful and friendly.
The Restaurant and Breakfast area overlooked the pool and beach. Food good, freshly made, including breakfast. This is a small resort around 25 rooms, but the grounds are large and well maintained. This resort is very personal, and private and a wonderful place to spend a special occasion.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen249566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Karen,
Thank you so much for taking your time off to post a review in the TripAdvisor. What a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed such a pleasant stay at little Tugu! We thank you for sharing your great feedback with us and for recognizing our effort.Thank you for mentioning all other facilities & services of the hotel. Our service mission is simple, to be elegant, different from others and serve from the heart.
We will be happy to welcome you again anytime. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may require from our end.
With best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lombok hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
774 reviews
9.4 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,620 reviews
1 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,310 reviews
9.6 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
9.4 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Lombok

Address: Sigar Pejalin, Tanjung, Sire Beach, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lombok
#28 Spa Hotel in Lombok
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Lombok
Price Range: £151 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwest coast of the island, the luxury art hotel sits on a private white-sand beach, within six hectares of mature coconut plantations facing the ocean and Mount Rinjani. It features beautiful artifacts and antiques inspired by ancient tales of Mahabharata, aimed to bring back the ancient romance of Lombok. In a blend between magical landscapes and unique artworks, legends and modern luxuries, Tugu Lombok captures the soul and romance that nobody had seen before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tugu Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Tugu Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing