We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms & spa. Average food & drink”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tugu Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Lombok
Ranked #3 of 174 Hotels in Lombok
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great rooms & spa. Average food & drink”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Very individual and unique looking hotel with many antiquities dotted around the hotel and individually styled rooms. We had an Aloon Aloon villa no. 202 which was a beautiful room, very large, high vaulted ceiling, big comfortable bed, TV (no BBC channel as advertised). The bathroom was huge and again very unique with a very large and deep copper bath with a large shower head above. All very nicely decorated if you like traditional, old style and interesting artefacts. Not for you if you like a big, modern, international style hotel.

The grounds are quite pretty and the pool is refreshing but there is only space for 8 sun beds around the pool so you need to get one early! The pool is a little unimaginative but good for cooling off. There are plenty of sun beds on the beach too. It was supposed to be the best beach on Lombok but it was very disappointing. Mixture of sand and coral so you need beach shoes or jellies. It wasn't the white sandy beach and clear turquoise sea we had expected as advertised in many places. We didn't even swim in it once during our stay as there is a lot of weed, it's not that clear in a lot of places and it's very shallow so you'd have to go out a long way for a swim. Snorkelling is about 400 metres offshore so you're better off getting a boat to snorkel around the Gili Islands.

The Balinese massage in the spa was one of the best massages we've ever had (IDR 810,00 incl 21% tax & service charge or around £24). Would highly recommend a massage during your stay.

So, for us, the room and spa got 5 stars but for a 5 star hotel, it was massively let down by it's food and drink which was very average. Fresh juices tasted more like squash. We can only think they're made up in advance so the ice just waters them down. Similarly with milkshakes....not very tasty at all. On our first night we had scallops and king prawns for starters which were OK, followed by crispy duck in a banana leaf which was full of tiny, thin bones so rather dangerous and difficult to eat and an Indonesian rice and noodle dish which was far too big and very samey and a bit stodgy.

The second night we decided to go for something lighter and had the tuna salad which was 3 small squares of tuna and practically half a lettuce with little else and a very unimaginative dressing and another salad which was similarly mostly lettuce! When asked if the food was OK, we said it was very average and disappointing and the waiter didn't make any comment whatsoever or make an apology or offer something else. This is far from 5 star service. We have had massively better food and service from two 3 star hotels / lodges we've stayed at. They could learn a lot from the Mahamaya on Gili Meno where the food was stunning and all the staff made a personal connection with everyone.....exceptional service there. You must try it out Tugu to see how it should be done!



Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkFloydCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear PinkFloyd,
We thank you for posting a review on TripAdviser. We are delighted to read your positive comments about our rooms & the Spa we are grateful that you share your impressions. We were indeed concerned with your comment of the white sand beach that is usually praised and loved by all our other guests, which we comb everyday to make it even more comfortable to walk on. All corals are been collected to one particular place & we always bury them on daily basis.
In the meantime I would like to apologize that the food & drinks in some occurrences was not up to your standards as perfect as you had wished for. Please be assured that we take your feedback very seriously and that we are checking and working on every single point of your comments with our food & beverage team.
At Tugu we aim to make every stay as perfect as possible, and whatever had happened with your stay, we will always thrive to be better in the future. In closing, may we thank you, once again for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. We are grateful for your feedback as it enables us to continually monitor our guest’s requirements and we do hope that we may have the opportunity to make up to you in your next returned trip to our resort. My email address is rfernando@tuguhotels.com, please feel free to get in touch with me directly if I could be of any further assistance to you.
With our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    88
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
175
557
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel, location and facilities deserve 5 stars. The design is impressive, the location is remote, calm and beautiful. The staff gets 4 stars for being friendly and helpful, for a 5star Hotel though they could be even a bit more professional but nothing to complain about!
The only point I would rate only 3 stars are the prices if food and trips. It is about double of the tourist prices in Bali for example. It is all great quality but for Indonesia not the right pricing!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolaus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Nikolaus,
Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read your positive feedback about the location, facilities, friendly & helpful staff and we are grateful that you share your impressions!
In reference to food & excursions pricing, we have implemented a deliberate strategy to maintain as low as possible despite the high quality of service provided. The main focus of this approach is of course to provide value for money but also to ensure that all guests in our care feel comfortable to completely enjoy a full sensory experience within or outside of the property.
We thank you for conveying your constructive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort, your Lombok home again soon.
With our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed at Tugu lombok for 4 nights recently with my family . This hotel is truly unique for its antique design , beautiful beach front and very friendly staff . It's a great place to unwind and relax .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Sanjeev,
Thank you for the time you took to post such a great comment of your experience with our resort! What a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed such a pleasant stay with your family! We thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Lombok.
With all our good wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you are looking to stay in an unique and local setting, yet be able to enjoy top quality service from the staff, then this is it. This one-of-a-kind property set in a quiet corner of North Lombok has been lovingly furnished with antiques collected by the owners - my favorite was the 10m tall ten-faced Vishnu statue. The ride to the hotel (it's about 1hr 45 mins away from the international airport) can be long but it's worth it. We stayed in a Bhavagat Gita villa for one night and it was the best beachfront villa we have ever stayed in. We had direct access to the beach (which was maybe 15 steps away only), lots of privacy and watched the most beautiful sunrise with Mt. Rinjani in the distance. Even though Tugu is not a big chain hotel, it had a fantastic spa in lovely surroundings. I would definitely recommend getting a Balinese massage there! We also had fun using the bicycles provided by the hotel to cycle through the surrounding village. The villagers are very friendly and will say hi as you go by. If you are tired of staying in big chain hotels I would definitely recommend you give Tugu a try!

Room Tip: Get a Bhavagat Gita room if you want direct access to the ocean. Room 101 is the furthest away so pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IshqTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Ishq,
Thank you for taking your time off to post such an inspiring comments about the resort. Our team here is delighted the way you have expressed our little Tugu with that finer details of service with a “Tugu touch “. We always committed to serve you with that extra smile from the heart. Thank you for mentioning all other facilities & services of the hotel. We are so happy that you have enjoyed the Balinese massage , Bhagawat Gita villa & most importantly you were impressed with the uniqueness of the resort. All of us are proud of been a part of the Tugu family for the good reasons. Our mission is simple, to be elegant, different from others and service from the heart.
Ishq,we may thank you once again for sharing your personal experience, we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to Lombok. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need, from this end.
Our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you are up for relaxation and to be pampered, then you can stop searching. We stayed in the bungalows facing the beach with our private pool and outside bathroom on the back. After a busy first half year in my job I enjoyed the tranquility and loneliness of our bungalow.
The room and the campus is like an inhabited museum. The reception is an old town house, the restaurant remembers two siblings which had been turned into a rooster and snake and the bungalows are whatched by a wooden statue with 10 faces. You easily forget your day live and get lost in the history of Indonesia, having this living stories around.
We had breakfast next to our pool, skipped the lunch after the huge breakfast or finished the left overs and had dinner in various sites of the campus. We even had our private bonfire the last evening. The perfect hide away.
One day we borrowed bikes to visit the local market. It is a busy and buzzy market and you should not mind tight crowds. At the hotel provide masks and snorkel and we discovered the corals and fishes in front of the hotel. They provide canoes too. We had several massages and finished our stay with the sunrise on the dragon boat. It was the perfect mixture of relaxation and entertainment.
The staff was always around and helpful and they fulfilled our wishes, wherever possible. Which can be a challenge, not only in an Asian country.
I enjoyed a week without street noise, however, the muezzin was quite present and reminded us at the times of the day.
This was definitely not the last stay at Tugu Hotel Lombok.

Room Tip: We actually preferred the room to the beach which provided some breeze since we do not sleep with ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Michael,
Thank you very much for your time to post a review on your recent stay at our resort on TripAdvisor.The team and I were delighted to have your stay with us and experience the true “Tugu touch”. Thank you for your compliments on our decor, style and location. Tugu is indeed famous for having one of the most beautiful, vast collections of art and antiquities in Indonesia, and besides for the amazing food, service and facilities that you had mentioned above, the hotel itself is a destination by itself to experience the real, authentic, rich and colorful culture of Indonesia in general and of Java in particular.
We may thank you once again for sharing your personal experience; we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to our resort. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need, from this end.
Warm regards from entire Tugu family.
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Long story short: Tugu hotel is as prestigious four seasons or st regis hotel with local taste.
Every single ground staff (from ground keeper all the way to manager) will greet you personally everytime they see you (some of them greet you by your name).
The hotel was very meticulous n pay attention to small details. Their services was as amazing as flying first class with SQ or emirates. They will accomodate your request (from dinner on the beach, served breakfast before the restaurant open, to mingle with the local). And the hotel won't nickle and dime their guest.
I am totally amazed and WOW with their service.
Highly recommended for all type of group (family with kids, solo traveller, or couple).

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaxCgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Laxcgk,
Thank you very much for posting an impressive review on TripAdvisor. We are appreciative of your valuable feedback and are deeply encouraged by your kind words and comments on our resort.
We all appreciate the wonderful words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about our staff ,service & impressive facilities. We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear guests, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Lombok.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband surprised me by booking four nights at the amazing Tugu Hotel for our anniversary We had our own pool over looking the ocean. We had a private dinner set up on the beach with a fire, we had daily massages and some amazing food. It was the most relaxing, peaceful holiday I have ever had. The grounds are beautiful. The room was spacious and well decorated. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Afternoon tea is set up everyday on the beach. Overall a wonderful place to stay. Carolyn and Jason

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Carolyn & Jason,
Thank you for the time you took to post such a great comment of your experience with us!
I will pass on your positive comments about the food, the service, the spa treatments, etc. to my team... Of course we would be delighted to have you stay with us on your next trip to Lombok in order for you to truly experience the "Tugu touch" once again.
Thank you again for your nice sentiments mentioned in your review & we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
With best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lombok hotels
1.0 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
9.6 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,417 reviews
8.8 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Lombok

Property: Hotel Tugu Lombok
Address: Sigar Pejalin, Tanjung, Sire Beach, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lombok
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lombok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lombok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwest coast of the island, the luxury art hotel sits on a private white-sand beach, within six hectares of mature coconut plantations facing the ocean and Mount Rinjani. It features beautiful artifacts and antiques inspired by ancient tales of Mahabharata, aimed to bring back the ancient romance of Lombok. In a blend between magical landscapes and unique artworks, legends and modern luxuries, Tugu Lombok captures the soul and romance that nobody had seen before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tugu Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Tugu Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing