We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special & memorable experience...”
Review of Hotel Tugu Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Lombok
Ranked #3 of 177 Hotels in Lombok
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very special & memorable experience...”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a place you really don’t want to miss & be assured you won’t be disappointed. Tugu have a knack of getting the little things right – like the cold towel after a fabulous day visiting the Gili islands on the hotel boat, the hand made flower decoration my wife was given each morning as we walked through the lovely grounds & the hand written notes written on fresh leaves left for us. Everything was excellent with only a couple of exceptions being the food & spa standard not being as outstanding. e.g. The food was good but not exceptional & somewhat inconsistent like being overcooked at times, also the spa was good but again not outstanding - which was a surprise given the extremely high standard of everything else. Overall this is a must visit hotel that is well worth every cent. Thank you very much team Tugu for a wonderful stay :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Jason,
Thank you for taking time off to write a review on Tripadvisor.
You have mentioned & described about the “Tugu touch “experience which we are most famous for. We are always committed to create only positive memorable experience for all our guests.
We also thank you for posting your constructive feedback and comments about the food & the Spa standards; we have taken note of these issues and will review it as we move forward to improve ourselves.
Once again, thank you for conveying your constructive feedback and we are looking forward welcome you back again for your next visit in Lombok !
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    89
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
185
576
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in Tugu. All reviews we read before where so true, the hotel is top class, but beside that we experienced something what can only happen once. My wife had an accident on a boat tour. We were brought back to the hotel and all the staff were waiting for us to help my wife out of the boat and bringing us to the hospital. Also after returning nothing was to much to make our last days as comfortable as possible, because my wife couldn't walk. This is what we mean by real hospitality! Thanks again Mr Fernando and all staff for everything. It felt like home and we will definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BenandAnnemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Ben & Annemarie,
Thank you for taking time off to write a review. Our team was delighted & inspired by your wonderful c sentiments expressed in your review. All of us at Tugu Lombok will say “big thank you" from the bottom of our hearts. In the meantime we are still concern & sympathetic towards Annemarie for that unfortunate accident. Our only hope is that she will get well soon , we sincerely wish her a speedy recovery. You are most welcome make little Tugu as your own home in the future. We are very much looking forward to having you back anytime as our dear friends.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may require at anytime.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and wish we had stayed longer. We arrived at night and were warmly greeted by Henry. As he showed us around the property, we were stunned by the beauty of the statues and buildings dramatically accented by lighting. When we walked into the outdoor restaurant area, we actually said "wow" out loud! We loved this hotel. Great location on a secluded beach with white sand. Our room was large with an extremely comfortable bed and gorgeous, huge bathroom. The property was beautifully landscaped, and the pool so inviting. But what made our stay so special was the quality of service we received from staff. Each time we went to the restaurant we were greeted by name and made to feel so special. We loved walking the beach in the evenings and, at low tide, watching the local people collecting snails in the sea grass. We had fun interacting with the children who would say "hello" to us as we walked by And don't miss the snorkel/beach excursion on the hotel's Dragon Boat to the Gili Islands. It's a fun day and the box lunch prepared for us by the hotel was outstanding! In fact, we enjoyed all our meals at the hotel...well prepared and well presented. We've stayed at many 5-star hotels all over the world that cost double the price, and Tugu Lombok is just as good if not better than most. To top it off, as we sadly left the hotel, we were given a gift, and a number of hotel staff stood by our taxi and waved the American flag as we drove off (knowing that we were Americans). What a nice touch!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Jven,
Thank you for taking your time off to post such an inspiring comment about our resort, how you have expressed your impression of our little Tugu with such finer details of service and the "WOW" factor. I was delighted to personally convey your appreciation to all our staff members & specially the ones you have mentioned the names, they have read your review and I would like to inform you that you have brought huge smiles on their faces this morning.
We want you to consider Tugu as your own home. We are proud of being a part of the Tugu family because of happy guests such as you. Our mission is simple, to provide you with that extra special, true experience while visiting in Indonesia, for you to remember even after you return back to your country of residence.
Jven, may we thank you once again for sharing your personal experience, we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to our resort.Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need from this end.
Our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Very individual and unique looking hotel with many antiquities dotted around the hotel and individually styled rooms. We had an Aloon Aloon villa no. 202 which was a beautiful room, very large, high vaulted ceiling, big comfortable bed, TV (no BBC channel as advertised). The bathroom was huge and again very unique with a very large and deep copper bath with a large shower head above. All very nicely decorated if you like traditional, old style and interesting artefacts. Not for you if you like a big, modern, international style hotel.

The grounds are quite pretty and the pool is refreshing but there is only space for 8 sun beds around the pool so you need to get one early! The pool is a little unimaginative but good for cooling off. There are plenty of sun beds on the beach too. It was supposed to be the best beach on Lombok but it was very disappointing. Mixture of sand and coral so you need beach shoes or jellies. It wasn't the white sandy beach and clear turquoise sea we had expected as advertised in many places. We didn't even swim in it once during our stay as there is a lot of weed, it's not that clear in a lot of places and it's very shallow so you'd have to go out a long way for a swim. Snorkelling is about 400 metres offshore so you're better off getting a boat to snorkel around the Gili Islands.

The Balinese massage in the spa was one of the best massages we've ever had (IDR 810,00 incl 21% tax & service charge or around £24). Would highly recommend a massage during your stay.

So, for us, the room and spa got 5 stars but for a 5 star hotel, it was massively let down by it's food and drink which was very average. Fresh juices tasted more like squash. We can only think they're made up in advance so the ice just waters them down. Similarly with milkshakes....not very tasty at all. On our first night we had scallops and king prawns for starters which were OK, followed by crispy duck in a banana leaf which was full of tiny, thin bones so rather dangerous and difficult to eat and an Indonesian rice and noodle dish which was far too big and very samey and a bit stodgy.

The second night we decided to go for something lighter and had the tuna salad which was 3 small squares of tuna and practically half a lettuce with little else and a very unimaginative dressing and another salad which was similarly mostly lettuce! When asked if the food was OK, we said it was very average and disappointing and the waiter didn't make any comment whatsoever or make an apology or offer something else. This is far from 5 star service. We have had massively better food and service from two 3 star hotels / lodges we've stayed at. They could learn a lot from the Mahamaya on Gili Meno where the food was stunning and all the staff made a personal connection with everyone.....exceptional service there. You must try it out Tugu to see how it should be done!



Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkFloydCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear PinkFloyd,
We thank you for posting a review on TripAdviser. We are delighted to read your positive comments about our rooms & the Spa we are grateful that you share your impressions. We were indeed concerned with your comment of the white sand beach that is usually praised and loved by all our other guests, which we comb everyday to make it even more comfortable to walk on. All corals are been collected to one particular place & we always bury them on daily basis.
In the meantime I would like to apologize that the food & drinks in some occurrences was not up to your standards as perfect as you had wished for. Please be assured that we take your feedback very seriously and that we are checking and working on every single point of your comments with our food & beverage team.
At Tugu we aim to make every stay as perfect as possible, and whatever had happened with your stay, we will always thrive to be better in the future. In closing, may we thank you, once again for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. We are grateful for your feedback as it enables us to continually monitor our guest’s requirements and we do hope that we may have the opportunity to make up to you in your next returned trip to our resort. My email address is rfernando@tuguhotels.com, please feel free to get in touch with me directly if I could be of any further assistance to you.
With our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel, location and facilities deserve 5 stars. The design is impressive, the location is remote, calm and beautiful. The staff gets 4 stars for being friendly and helpful, for a 5star Hotel though they could be even a bit more professional but nothing to complain about!
The only point I would rate only 3 stars are the prices if food and trips. It is about double of the tourist prices in Bali for example. It is all great quality but for Indonesia not the right pricing!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolaus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Nikolaus,
Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read your positive feedback about the location, facilities, friendly & helpful staff and we are grateful that you share your impressions!
In reference to food & excursions pricing, we have implemented a deliberate strategy to maintain as low as possible despite the high quality of service provided. The main focus of this approach is of course to provide value for money but also to ensure that all guests in our care feel comfortable to completely enjoy a full sensory experience within or outside of the property.
We thank you for conveying your constructive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort, your Lombok home again soon.
With our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed at Tugu lombok for 4 nights recently with my family . This hotel is truly unique for its antique design , beautiful beach front and very friendly staff . It's a great place to unwind and relax .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Sanjeev,
Thank you for the time you took to post such a great comment of your experience with our resort! What a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed such a pleasant stay with your family! We thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Lombok.
With all our good wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

If you are looking to stay in an unique and local setting, yet be able to enjoy top quality service from the staff, then this is it. This one-of-a-kind property set in a quiet corner of North Lombok has been lovingly furnished with antiques collected by the owners - my favorite was the 10m tall ten-faced Vishnu statue. The ride to the hotel (it's about 1hr 45 mins away from the international airport) can be long but it's worth it. We stayed in a Bhavagat Gita villa for one night and it was the best beachfront villa we have ever stayed in. We had direct access to the beach (which was maybe 15 steps away only), lots of privacy and watched the most beautiful sunrise with Mt. Rinjani in the distance. Even though Tugu is not a big chain hotel, it had a fantastic spa in lovely surroundings. I would definitely recommend getting a Balinese massage there! We also had fun using the bicycles provided by the hotel to cycle through the surrounding village. The villagers are very friendly and will say hi as you go by. If you are tired of staying in big chain hotels I would definitely recommend you give Tugu a try!

Room Tip: Get a Bhavagat Gita room if you want direct access to the ocean. Room 101 is the furthest away so pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IshqTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roshan F, General Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Ishq,
Thank you for taking your time off to post such an inspiring comments about the resort. Our team here is delighted the way you have expressed our little Tugu with that finer details of service with a “Tugu touch “. We always committed to serve you with that extra smile from the heart. Thank you for mentioning all other facilities & services of the hotel. We are so happy that you have enjoyed the Balinese massage , Bhagawat Gita villa & most importantly you were impressed with the uniqueness of the resort. All of us are proud of been a part of the Tugu family for the good reasons. Our mission is simple, to be elegant, different from others and service from the heart.
Ishq,we may thank you once again for sharing your personal experience, we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to Lombok. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need, from this end.
Our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lombok hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
734 reviews
9.4 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,527 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,238 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Lombok

Property: Hotel Tugu Lombok
Address: Sigar Pejalin, Tanjung, Sire Beach, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lombok
#3 Spa Hotel in Lombok
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lombok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwest coast of the island, the luxury art hotel sits on a private white-sand beach, within six hectares of mature coconut plantations facing the ocean and Mount Rinjani. It features beautiful artifacts and antiques inspired by ancient tales of Mahabharata, aimed to bring back the ancient romance of Lombok. In a blend between magical landscapes and unique artworks, legends and modern luxuries, Tugu Lombok captures the soul and romance that nobody had seen before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tugu Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Tugu Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing