We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly unique!”
Review of Hotel Tugu Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tugu Lombok
Ranked #3 of 186 Hotels in Lombok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I was a little apprehensive as we drove down a dirt road and stopped at an old building which was really dark inside. Everything was not old, but antique, and of the best taste. A real treasure trove! Our room was splendid, and we much enjoyed the huge copper bath with its rain shower. The common buildings are spectacular, too, and the decor in the bar is brilliant. The staff, though not ultra-efficient, could not have been more attentive, and the food was very good. Having said that, one has to accept that Lombok has limited resources and that supplies sometimes run out. Massages were excellent, and we took advantage of the outings on offer, which were very well organised. This is a wonderful place to relax.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hely N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanny Z, Assistant Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Hely N,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Tugu Lombok and thank you very much for staying with us. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great time and loved to read your wonderful description of your arrival, your accommodation, atmosphere and the food and service.

We do hope to welcome you soon again and in the meantime please let us know anytime if there is anything we can do for you.

Best Regards
Hanny & the Tugu family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

What a delight the Tugu is. My husband and I had 3 nights here in a Bhaghavat gita suite. This could not be faulted, with its unusual outside bathroom and superb view to the beach it was lovely. The staff are charming, helpful and keen to make your holiday the very best for you. Being able to eat dinner wherever in the grounds or on the beach watching the fisherman walking at low tide catching squid was a unique experience.

We took a trip in a horse and cart round the local village and saw the sunset at another beach (the one at the Tugu is for sunrise!). The beach is amazing and with the Gilli isles in sight, the view is lovely. The whole place is very relaxed and I would say they have the recipe just right. We loved it and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: One of the Bhagavat gita villas is worth the extra money. Any of them have a good view of the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tootlepip3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanny Z, Assistant Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Tootlepipsussex,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Tugu Lombok and thank you for staying with us with your husband. We appreciate that you took your time to share these very kind notes of your Tugu experience.

It a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your time in the Bhagavat Gita Suite with private pool facing the Indian ocean. Our staff will be thrilled to hear your compliments and we hear with great joy your comments on your dining experience and your horse carriage ride.
We hope that we see you soon again in Lombok or in one of our lovely sister hotels in Canggu (Bali) and in Malang and Blitar (both East Java). We wish you all the best

Kind Regards
Hanny & the Tugu family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, there is no denying that. The location and the facilities are perfect. The room that we stayed in on our Honeymoon was fantastic and the outside bathroom was a real treat. I would definitely recommend walking around and exploring the different areas of this hotel, there are some amazing statues and artifacts hidden around the place.
The only thing that lets down this hotel is the attentiveness of the staff in the restaurant. We found service at both breakfast and dinner slow. Quite often there were staff stood around talking and not really paying attention to their customers. The time it took to receive fruit at breakfast was a bit ridiculous, over half an hour, and there was only us and 2 other tables in.
Had this not been the case we would have definitely have rated this hotel as 5 stars!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephmc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanny Z, Assistant Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Stephmc1234,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Tugu Lombok on your honeymoon and taking your time to share your experience with us. We hear with great pleasure that you enjoyed your suite and extensive gardens at the property.

We appreciate your comments on your service experience, we know that there is always something we can improve and the service issue you have mentioned has been addressed and been worked on immediately. We do apologize for that inconvenience.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again. In the meantime let us know anytime if there is anything we can do for you.

Kind Regards
Hanny & the Tugu family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

No glitter , tastefully chosen antiques in a prestige setting of 6 hectares ! Every evening one can on joy the sunset above the Gili Air.The staff did pride itself to remember their guests ' names.

We stayed with our two kids in a pool suite . This was very spacious for the four of us. The outdoor bathrooms and "rock bathtub" was very original. Although in this area of the world outdoor bathrooms are not uncommon, they succeeded here to turn it into something original!

The only downside is the fact that the noise insulation between the rooms could be improved.

Room Tip: The beachfront pool suites are worth the extra money. It gives the impression having your own beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filip O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanny Z, Assistant Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Mr. Filip,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments, we are very happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay at our Tugu home. Yes all our rooms are very spacious, especially the Bhagavat Gita Suites where you stayed, and of course also the categories above those. We thank you once again and we hope to see you again the in the not-so-far future! Warmest regards from all of us at Tugu Lombok,

With our warmest regards,

Hanny Zulfina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of our 35-day honeymoon and it was everything we wanted and more. The location is perfect - right on the beach, the food is delicious and varied (even something as basic as vegetable spring rolls are incredible), and the service is the best we have ever encountered. Don't think twice about staying here, it really is worth every penny.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lauraq44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanny Z, Assistant Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Lauraq,

Thank you for taking your time to rate us at Tripadvisor! And thank you so much for your wonderful compliments; we are so happy that we are the highlight of your 35 day honeymoon. What special moments these are for you, we are honored that you had chosen us for this romantic occasion. We will definitely share your lovely words with our entire team member, they will be so happy to hear them.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again at Tugu Lombok or any other Tugu properties soon...

With our warmest regards,

Hanny Zulfina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I just stayed at Tugu for 3 nights during our Bali/Lombok honeymoon and had an absolutely FANTASTIC time. The property is just stunning and the entire experience felt incredibly exclusive and romantic. An ideal honeymoon destination. Our Aloon-Aloon garden villa was rich and enchanting and the whole place feels so otherworldly with little nooks and crannies everywhere for you to peacefully enjoy. Others have mentioned the calls to prayer that can be heard occasionally from a nearby mosque. While certainly audible, this never bothered us at all...it actually enhanced the experience for us. It's not very loud and we found it quite beautiful and relaxing. The food at Tugu was also wonderful - a diverse menu with a lot of new wonderful dishes to try (OH MY GOSH THE INDONESIAN SPICY MEATBALL SOUP...seriously I need that back in my life...what is it called??...some sort of bakso maybe??) - and also plenty of great comfort dishes as well (the pasta, pizza, and croque monsieur were all delicious). On our final night we had dinner on the beach under the stars with a scrumptious satay meal. The gamelan and dancing show was also amazing. The only thing that could be considered less than stellar is that service was a little bit slow at times, but everyone is so friendly and accommodating so you shouldn't be in any way deterred from staying at Tugu. It's a unique and worthwhile experience. We absolutely loved it and wish we were back there right now!! Thank you Tugu for making our honeymoon so memorable!!

Room Tip: Not sure about the other rooms, but we were happy that the Aloon-Aloon villas had fully enclosed bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanny Z, Assistant Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Allison,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Tugu Lombok and thank you very much for staying with us. We are delighted and inspired by your lovely review about your stay. It is great to hear that you have had a wonderful time here and we loved reading your notes about the magical, surreal and majestic atmosphere you have experienced on your honeymoon at Tugu.

A big thank you also for your comments on our food, the chef will be happy to hear that. The soup you loved so much is called Lebui Meatball soup, a traditional Lombok soup with tender meatballs and island grown black beans . We also well noted your comments about improvement and will work on them right away.
Thank you again for sharing 29 beautiful pictures of our grounds, suite and beach area. As you know our little Tugu is still relatively a ‘well-kept secret’ and these pictures will help our future guest to learn more about the property.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future. In the meantime let us know anytime if there is something we can do for you.

Kind Regards,
Hanny Zulfina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Spent three nights here on our honeymoon in the Aloon villa room, simply fantastic! Great service, beautiful location, great pool and stunning rooms. Excellent all round. Rooms are amazing, massive beds! Highly recommend the package that includes boat trip to Gilis, waterfall trip and various spa treatments.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanny Z, Assistant Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Hanna,

Warm greetings from Hotel Tugu Lombok and thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your very kind notes with us.

We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your time here. We believe the package you have chosen is the “Island of Bliss” package, which includes also sparkling wine upon arrival, couple massages, lazy breakfasts served wherever you wish, Gili Island boat trip, and romantic dinner at the private beach, on top of our spa temple or at the lotus pond.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful attention to us! We hope to have the chance to welcome you once again at our home, or any of the other Tugu properties

Kind Regards,
Hanny Zulfina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lombok hotels
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
776 reviews
9.4 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,629 reviews
1 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,314 reviews
4.1 mi away
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
#1 of 11 in Gili Meno
735 reviews
9.6 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tugu Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Lombok

Address: Sigar Pejalin, Tanjung, Sire Beach, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lombok
#3 Spa Hotel in Lombok
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lombok
Price Range: £160 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwest coast of the island, the luxury art hotel sits on a private white-sand beach, within six hectares of mature coconut plantations facing the ocean and Mount Rinjani. It features beautiful artifacts and antiques inspired by ancient tales of Mahabharata, aimed to bring back the ancient romance of Lombok. In a blend between magical landscapes and unique artworks, legends and modern luxuries, Tugu Lombok captures the soul and romance that nobody had seen before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tugu Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Tugu Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing