We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely heavenly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Medana Resort Lombok
Ranked #86 of 177 Hotels in Lombok
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Absolutely heavenly”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

It didnt take us long to fall in love with this place. We sat often on the veranda dreaming of owing it .Six cottages far apart set amidst lush gardens .The cottages inside were spacious clean and beautiful. Rusty the owner is bubbly and good hearted and takes personal interest in all the guests and the rest of the staff is equally delightfull. After finding out that my husband likes to fish Rosel one of the staff took him to fish overnight in his village. My husband came back the following morning tired and no fish but the experience was invaluble. There was also a huge beautiful pool and overlooking it was an open air restaurant where we sat every morning and evening admiring the view. Downstairs by the pool was a bar where you could get beautiful cocktails for a very reasonable price. The food in the restaurant was excellent and also reasonably priced.
We stayed in Medana for four days and after five days came back again to stay another three days until it was time to go home. Rusty and all the staff we would like again thank you for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmarinaalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    20
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
37
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We wanted to stay one night but ended up staying 3. Resty showed us around Lombok and it was lovely to listen to her stories and meet her family. The villas are amazing and the staff are incredibly friendly, always smiling and helpful, even climbing the trees to get us fresh coconuts. As it was low season we were the only guests here and got pampered. Great massages were provided by Ida and every morning we enjoyed a fresh breakfast by the pool. It is quite remote but resty or one of the staff members are always happy to drive you somewhere. We would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2011

i like the Owner and all the staff, i like the food, i like the pool also the tropical garden so fantastic with the best sunset view, not so far to Gili's and there so many program tour , going to waterfall , play golf, trekking montain and many thing to do, I really enjoy my holliday , i'll be back soon

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryuhave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhuhai, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2009

BillBraz is right in everything he said.
Resty is a peach, you'll get literally adopted and we never before or after experienced such a personalized friendly service.
The place is a bit remote and therefore not crowded, but she took us around the whole island whenever we felt like it, we were treated like age-old friends and never felt bored for a single minute.
Food was delicious, staff friendly and courteous and the villas and pool stand up to any competition of much pricier establishments
Value for money is excellent and we can wholeheartedly recommend the place by any means and standards.
We'll go back in 2010 and wish we were there already !

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

The Medana Resort is a lovely, if somewhat isolated hotel. It’s perfect for couples wanting peace, quite, beautiful surroundings, and attention to detail. The cottages are huge and beautifully decorated. Unfortunately, the air conditioner doesn’t do a very good job of cooling down the large rooms, but they provide fans which help a lot. The staff go above and beyond on all services and they are warm, friendly and make you feel like family, as do the owners who live on the resort grounds and who take time to interact with guests without being intrusive. The restaurant menu is a little limited and sometimes items were unavailable. However, the quality of the food was good. I especially liked the pasta dishes. One of the best things about Medana is it is only a 10 minute taxi ride to the port where you can catch a ferry to the Gillie Islands, so it’s perfect it you want to snorkel or dive these islands but don’t want to reside on them due to their lack of upscale accommodations. Warning: your taxi won’t be able to take you all the way to the port and will drop you off at a lot about a 5 minute walk to the ferry office which is right on the water. DON’T pay for a horse and buggy ride, it’s a short walk and don’t let anyone convince you to buy your ferry tickets from them or tell you that you need to charter a boat, you don’t, go to the ferry terminal at the very end of the road. So all in all, the Medana Resort is a little slice of paradise for those looking for peace and access to the Gillies.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverClucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snohomish, WA. USA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

This place was great! We were the only guests (out of six villas) and we had the place to ourselves. The staff were very courteous and helpful, especially Resty, the owner of the resort. She made it a point to make sure our stay was great and that everything was perfect. She even took us into town (Senggigi) for a night out, plus a trip to a beautiful waterfall (1.5 hours each way) and wouldn't accept a donation for fuel.

The villa was more than adequate for my wife and I. Each area (living room, bathroom, and bedroom) had ample space and amenities. The bedroom featured a large, canopy bed and the blessed air conditioner. The bathroom had two showers (one indoor and one outdoor), a large sunken tub, and a large vanity. We didn't use the outdoor shower, but it was a nice touch. The living room had a couch and chairs, a spare bed, and a mini bar. Fresh water was delivered daily.

The pool, bar, and restaurant were great! In the six nights we stayed, we had it all to ourselves. The only people in the pool were either myself or my wife. Everyone who worked there was very pleasant, saying hello and smiling whenever we saw them. The restaurant was decent. They excelled at making some dishes more than others. We didn't complain, considering where we were.

The beach was beautiful, but it was a ~10 minute walk from the resort through palm groves and farm areas. We did some snorkeling and also arranged a boat (owned by the resort) to the nearby Gili Islands. Much of our free time we spent lounging around the pool reading and working on our tans. It was very quiet and relaxing.

The Oberoi is not very far from the Medana. We visited it and had a drink near the pool. Oh, it was beautiful and all, but the prices were crazy. Medana's prices are about 5 times lower. We considered the Medana a much better value, plus we got to "know" some of the locals.

On our last night, a fabulous dinner for two was prepared for us. We had fresh grilled snapper, rice, potatoes, and vegetables, all served in an elegant, private (and romantic) setting in the pool area; our table was flanked by two large candelabras glimmering with candles. It was a great send-off!

Would we stay at the Medana Resort again? Definitely!

  • Liked — The peace and quiet.
  • Disliked — Remote area.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BillBraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lombok hotels
26.7 mi away
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Bea...
#1 of 4 in Desa Sekotong Barat
380 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
734 reviews
10.6 mi away
Sunset House Lombok
Sunset House Lombok
#3 of 5 in Batu Layar
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anema Resort Gili Lombok
1.2 mi away
Rinjani Beach Eco Resort
Rinjani Beach Eco Resort
#56 of 177 in Lombok
198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tugu Lombok
Hotel Tugu Lombok
#3 of 177 in Lombok
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medana Resort Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medana Resort Lombok

Property: Medana Resort Lombok
Address: Jl. Medana | Tanjung, Lombok NTB 83352, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 177 Hotels in Lombok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Medana Resort Lombok 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an 'insiders' gem of a hotel. Just six luxury bungalows in 1.5 hectares of land means room for all. The pool is just tremendous, overlooked by the restaurant and bar. Each bungalow has a bedroom, sitting room, large bathroom (with sunken bath indoor and outdoor showers) and a large balcony with a view of the sea, featuring Bali's Agung volcano as a sunset backdrop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Medana Resort Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing