We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely location and staff, needs a lot of work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Secret Island Resort
Ranked #171 of 445 Lombok B&B and Inns
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“lovely location and staff, needs a lot of work”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This place is great for a secluded get away, only three resorts on the islands so is so quiet. The staff were very friendly meeting us when we got dropped off to help with our things. The floating huts were booked up so we took one of the small rooms.We looked at a villa but the bathroom was dirty and smelly, the whole place needed a clean. Our room was ok, but the whole place looks in need of a re vamp. The snorkel trip is well worth it, best coral we've seen. There is free pool in the bar, food was average, lots of nice places to sit in the garden.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottyatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    24
    16
    14
    19
See reviews for
10
51
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singpore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Depending on what you are looking for this could easily be a place to leave you with happy memories for life! However do not come here if you are looking for 5 star facilities like air-conditioning, swimming pools, gourmet dining, shopping malls etc. Do come here if you want to get away from all that modern stuff and just get back to basics. Having said that, you do get electricity and internet at night, if you need to catch up with people back home or plan your next trip.
As people have mentioned, the infrastructure is somewhat in need of restoration but in many ways the gently decaying facade only adds to the charm. Our stay was during the off season so we were the only guests for part of our stay, whilst in the mean time the staff kept themselves busy with sprucing things up for the approaching busy period in a couple of months time.
Talking of staff, the people here, including the owners, Peter and Titin, and of course, Siti, are some of the most friendly people you could ever possibly meet - easily one of the highlights of this hotel and indeed the whole trip.

Pros:
Rustic charm
Friendly staff
Dont miss the hotel operated snorkelling trip!
Reef bungaloes - sleep near to the fishes (not with them, thankfully)
Internet (in the evening)
Coolest and biggest gecko I've ever seen - a godzilla of geckos!

Cons:
Simple food - but wholesome and reasonable value
Basic facilities only
Brackish (salty) tap water (this is very common in resorts on small islands)
Water supply at the older reef bungalow seemed a bit unreliable but will hopefully be sorted out by the busy season

Room Tip: The reef bungalows are probably the most interesting place to stay. We stayed at the older bungalow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arepairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed there 2 nights - for chillout and relaxing. the staff, especially Sitti,was soooo amazing... She is like the good soul of the resort. the food simple, but really yummy...
just the house really needs refurbishment, it was a bit in a bad state, exfoliated things and not really the newest standard. But in the end we were relaxed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nenelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our stay in Lombok was full of interesting experiences. Had no plans. And one of the places we ended up by mere chance was the Secret Island in Gili Kede. Should have taken the bungalow on the reef but took the nearest to the reception and it was qiuite allright. Everything was like it use to be in Finnish summer. Except you got electricity for 12 hours. Got a nice "shower" after each swim from the dwell. The service was perfect. You could get cold wine , beer, drinks anytime from the bar. Food was just delicious, especially the butter fish! The breakfast was just fine. Had lots of walks around the island. Met friendly village people everywhere. Also took the snorkle "Mania" trip for 3,5 hours. Had the friendliest young man as our guide. There are millions of small beatiful details around the resort which Peter and his lovely wife have carefully layed in their places. Especially lot of amazing wood craft. I also appreciated the fact lots of material is recycled.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank satumatkailija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We took a blue taxi from Mangsit for IRP 350000 and a boat for IRP 15000 to arrive at Gili Gede where we reserved a room for 250000 in the secret Island Resort.
The place has a nice but somewhat negected athmosphere.and the resort has probably buils a number of years ago.
The room needed refreshing but everything functioned, the beach is small, the people are nice and the rstaurant is OK.
After one day there however we preferred to go elsewhere anyway.
The Island has no electricity during the day but it is beautiful an relatively untouched so far

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonius V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We visited Gili Gede in the end of January 2014. It was really spontaneous (as backpackers normally are): we phoned the owner Peter on the very day as we arrived and he greeted us very warmly on his resort. After checking all the facilities, we decided to take one of the houses which are located on the water. For everybody who is interested in that resort: it is simple, not luxurious, but nice and cosy and has its special charm. You can easily jump into the water after getting up and have a little refreshment before going to breakfast. The staff is very nice, the location marvellous and the food in the restaurant is excellent. After 3 overnight stays, you get a kajak for free and can explore the sourroundings of the island. We were 4 people, unfortunately one kajak was broken. But still, we cannot complain about anything! Also snorkeling trips were offered, but hence the time we were there it was very rainy we skipped that. The island itself is very charming. If you walk along the shore, you get to a rural village and it is really a nice change after the touristic spots on Bali. I really recommend this resort to everybody...also to low budget-travelers (I was also one). If you are looking for a place with loads of tranquility and want some time for yourself and to relax, visit this place :)

Room Tip: Take the houses on the water....a long walk but really worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singaraja, Indonesia
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We had a wonderful three days at secret island recently. The warmth of the owners and their care for every aspect of our stay really made secret garden stand out from other places. The half day snorkelling trip was fantastic, skippered by the owner himself, with a great knowledge of the best snorkelling in the area! Wow, you have to experience it to know! We enjoyed dancing to the music in the evening and listening to lovely flute playing. I would recommend the ikan red saus rice for dinner and the pisang goreng with chocolate were great too. The rooms were reasonably priced with a wide range of options. Clean towels every day was very nice too. As was free transport back to the mainland.

Room Tip: Have a look at all the rooms before choosing the one that you like the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drallybaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lombok hotels
4.3 mi away
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Bea...
#1 of 3 in Desa Sekotong Barat
362 reviews
20.7 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
20.5 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#6 of 7 in Mangsit
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ko Ko Mo Resort Gili Gede
Ko Ko Mo Resort Gili Gede
#1 of 2 in Gili Gede
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tanjungan Bukit Lodge
Tanjungan Bukit Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gili Gede
7 reviews
29.4 mi away
Aston Sunset Beach Resort
Aston Sunset Beach Resort
#6 of 35 in Gili Trawangan
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Island Resort

Property: Secret Island Resort
Address: Gili Gede, Lombok, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Lombok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Island Resort is a Eco friendly small resort with a very good small beach in front. We are slowly rising up to a 3 star quality hotel in a 5 star location. There are now 7 units with solar hot water and now there are 2 'Bungalows over the reef' available. These are stable units attached to a dock within easy walking distance to the Restaurant and lounge. These two bungalows over the water are the only ones in either Lombok or Bali. The snorkeling is great nearby and the fishing is still good to. SIR operates a 9 meter sport fishing boat called 'Scorpio' that is very good for touring the 12 South west gilis and snorkeling to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Secret Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing