We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - if you know what to expect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bumbangku Beach Cottage
Ranked #149 of 574 Lombok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Its a chill place, a very chilly place, no internet, no nearby city / entertainment, no hot water (but by nature water is warm here anyway!), traditional toiletes, huge crabs all over the place, some broken dogs and cats, and if you get u lucky also some cockroaches, etc .... but read on, it gets better!

We arrived at night, and yes we can agree on some of the other reviews, it can be spooky if you dont know the place and you go to bed in your bamboo beach cottage without ac!

Then again if you get familiar with the place, have your first breakfast (later lunch and dinner) at the beach (if you ask for it they even put your dinner table right at the water!), get to know the staff that will serve you everything all day right at the beach and call you by your name, realize you have a whole beach to yourselve and a few others that stay there, ... then again the spookiness turns into a just joyfull quiet stay at a beach with a lot of time for yourself!

You can go surf "just around the corner" in the next bay - they pick you up and get you there by boat. Nice wave in the middle of the ocean, great experience just to be there - even greater if you are an experienced surfer!

There are many fisherman on rafts all over the place catching baby lobsters, unfortunately the awareness of how to deal with plastic waste is just not there... meaning you will find plastic waste at the beach and in the water.
It took about 15 minutes each morning for some of the brave visitors (thank you and sorry we were to lazy not to join) and the beach was clean again, leaving us with a clean beach for the rest of the day!

All in all, yes we got affected by the spookiness of a late night arrival not knowing where we are and not being able to get a feel for the place, but once your there and have arrived there is a very good chance you will enjoy your stay like we did!

The only downpoint from our pov was the food - whilst the rest of our stay could be described with special in a positive way, we just cant say the same about the food.

Thank you to danny and his lovely family!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Sascha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

The bungalows are nice but a bit overpriced. You are far away from other hotels so you have no other choice than to eat in the hotelrestaurant. The food is ok but it was impossible to get some fresh fish. Even if you ask in the morning or the day before. And that just infront of the beach...
Its not the best hotel but we preferred it to the hotels in kuta!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snorettaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Got to the resort after a very long drive. A weird bay filled with lobster growing floating wooden "things". Had a swim. Water was not clear. The room was nice and spacious. Fridge and all. The bed was good. The toilet was smelly but looked fairly new. The weed in front of the hous wasn't looking very pleasant. Staff were very nice and helpful. Had a very nice walk about 3km along the beach during low tide. Sand was whiten and fine. Got us wine in ice bucket and the food was ok. Lobster was delicious but the side dish was nothing special. Breakfast ok. The only way to get around was to rent a scooter. Kuta village was quite far. About 10km. Not a very charming place. Tried to buy some beer and finally found some big bottles. Wine nowhere to be found. Drove to Novotel Hotel (such a nice beach and friendly staff) . The water was just amazingly clear. As the Kuta beaches around Novotel were fabulous. Got us a deal from a village "travel agency" to Gili Kede island for the day after. The Bumbangku Cottage was a great experience because it made it possible to see the Kuta beaches. So pity that the lobster harvesting is making the water so blurry. If you love to swim, forget about this place.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank satumatkailija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I arrived around 10 pm at this place and I was the only guest so it seemed, everything was pitch black. My bungalow was very basic, which I'm used to, but kind of expensive compared to other similar places I've stayed, also it didn't lock from the inside and I felt kind of uneasy. The next morning in daylight it looked a lot friendlier, but since I was really the only guest I decided to leave. So I moved to Kuta Lombok and had a wonderful time. Staff was friendly though and I think if you're with a group of people it's not too bad. It's right on the beach, the sea is filled with lobstercages though, so not very suitable for swimming.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colettevanojik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

If you're looking for a beautiful escape.. Run. Run as fast as you can. Do not say I didn’t warn you.

-Your girlfriend/wife will be very disappointed to find a thin mattress in the hut, sitting next to.. Nothing.

-Do not expect to get service promptly. Call me rude, but all the staff members appeared to be heavily under the influence of drugs. Valium to be exact. Nobody was able to respond properly despite the fact that I could speak Bahasa Indonesia, and even if they did, action would only be taken.. By the time you check out.

-All that exotic food you saw on the menu? Sorry mate, don't bother. Don't ask them what IS available. Ask them what ISN'T. Don't know why they even bothered with a menu to begin with.

-We booked a boat under the hotel to bring us out to surf. I kid you not, the captain's poor handling of his boat actually caused the entire boat to capsize, together with our group of 8. No care was taken to ensure the safety of passengers, and the captain basically STRANDED us out at sea as he got another boat to tow him back. We had to pay a boat passing by, just to pick us up as we floated helplessly in the middle of nowhere. Of course, we got out alive. But our DSLRs, phones, and etc? Of course, the owner, Ibu Nunung, didn't offer to help, and even tried to put the blame on us. We lost a total of $3500 worth of belongings because of Bumbangku's chartered boat, and a whole lot of respect for the owner and staff.

Hated my trip to Lombok because of this, and am still trying my very best to get around the corruption amidst the reimbursement!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank masalathosai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We were duped by the photos on the website and unfortunately did not see other disappointing reviews before we landed here for Xmas. The photos of the beach and rooms make everything look soooo much nicer than they really are. This place is very run down. When we arrived it barely looked open with some indoor and outdoor furniture stacked rather than set out for use. The food and beverage photos have clearly been taken from other sites - they bear NO resemblance at all to reality. I had requested a deluxe beachfront room but we we're booked in for a superior bamboo cottage. It was only luck there was in fact a deluxe room available we could have. There was nothing special for Xmas, no decorations, special menu, nothing. If the quality of the food and beverage was as depicted on the website this would not have been a problem. The daily activities that sounded so great in the website, especially as we had an 11 year old with us were non-existent.

The people we're amazing - none of this is their fault. The only thing that 'rescued' the situation for us was the wonderful time our son had with the local kids in the water and the wonderful journey we had getting there. Otherwise we we're essentially 'duped' at Xmas. Don't go.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

the food was poor. but we paid so expensive.. after this experience we will never come back again to this place.sooo far away and the road is broken. kuta lombok is better and closer.
im agree don't trust the professional photo. the place and the beach is so dirty..we can not swim because of seaweed anywhere..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B1G_success
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lombok hotels
13.3 mi away
Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp
Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp
#1 of 1 in Jerowaru
237 reviews
29.3 mi away
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Beach Resort & Spa
Cocotinos Sekotong, Boutique Bea...
#1 of 4 in Desa Sekotong Barat
397 reviews
5.5 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#1 of 12 in Kuta
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lombok Hill Wiolett
Lombok Hill Wiolett
#1 of 1 in Pujut
49 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ekas Breaks
Ekas Breaks
#20 of 574 in Lombok
233 reviews
36.4 mi away
Sheraton Senggigi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bumbangku Beach Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bumbangku Beach Cottage

Address: Jl. Raya Awang, Dusun Bumbang, Lombok, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 574 B&Bs / Inns in Lombok
Price Range: £9 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Bumbangku Beach Cottage 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute white sandy Beach, Relaxing and close to surfing spot ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bumbangku Beach Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing