We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where to start?”
Review of Griya Asri Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Griya Asri Hotel
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Mataram
Reviewed 30 October 2011

First of all I'm a backpacker so my expectations aren't high...I booked this hotel for one night as it said it was close to the airport...and it is. The old airport. I flew in from Bali to the new airport (not realizing there were two) and it was an HOUR away by taxi (120,000 Rp). It advertised a restaurant which was another reason I booked it, getting in late, but all they had was a few cans of soft drink in a fridge in the reception and a couple of items you could get on room service (like burger or sandwich) NOT EVEN A BEER!
I don't know which rooms they put pictures of on their website but it was definitely not where they put me. First I was on the ground floor (room 210 I think) but I asked to be moved as the toilet was continually flowing and making a lot of noise, so they put me in the room next door. It was so manky. Walls had writing on, curtains were stained, bathroom was dirty and everything looked about thirty years out of date. Real shame as the little chap on reception was lovely (albeit not great English).
The bed was comfy though, so I slept well, managed to get one English speaking Singapore news channel on the tv (and a couple of fuzzy asian ones). Breakfast was inedible. Cold fried eggs covered in salt. Very weak coffee. Toast was ok, but then, when you're toasting it yourself you can't really go wrong!
They do have free bottled water and a computer terminal with internet in reception for guests to use, so that was good.
Last thing I will say is that the area around the hotel is residential. There is nothing here. Wouldn't be so bad if there was an actual restaurant or shop nearby for provisions, but no. That was another taxi ride away. Overall really disappointed. And that's saying something when I'm used to sleeping in dorm rooms!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Griya Asri Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

We moved from Seggigi Beach to Mataram for 2 nights prior to leaving Lombok. BIG mistake, as we came from a beautiful resort style hotel to this terrible run down place for about $5 less. First, there was no hot water as they told us thats what you get for that money in Lombok. It was not mentioned anywhere on the site (although it is now) so after a few dramas they agreed to put us in an 'upgraded room'. After a few minutes we had to call management again......full ashtray on the window sill, filthy dirty room, cigarette but on floor, old sticky plastic bags in drawers, broken door locks & one door was straight out to road so no security, dirty floor, basin tap broken in bathroom, toilet not flushing properly, wires hanging out of the wall covered in cobwebs....etc etc. They got us to sit & wait another half hour & they put us in another room which they had attempted to clean. Complete with air freshner hanging from air conditioner A little better from eye-level down.
We didn't want any more hassles so said that one was ok. The management was a bit sheepish after all that but certainly the staff were friendly enough. This hotel was about 10 mins from the airport & about 5kms from the large shopping centre but not hard to get to with a cheap cab ride.
Breakfast was included at the hotel which was toast, & tea/coffee but also rice or a similar dish if preferred. In all, I would not stay there again as you will get a lot cleaner for the money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Griya Asri Hotel is good of service,friendly and strategic location. It's very nice to know all of it.For next,keep do the best for your guests.We hope you can be the best hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stellajakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed at Griya Asri for one night earlier this month. Although the price was cheap, it definitely was not anything like the photos show on their website. These are obviously more expensive, but it would be good to have an idea of what to expect in advance.

When I arrived, the young man on reception was really helpful and did everything he could to help me (and I had a LOT of questions)! Sadly, he was the only one who appeared to be working(although the other staff were polite too). I was woken at 6.30 am by a woman shrieking with laughter. This continued for about 40 minutes (and I was wearing ear plugs). My room was right next to reception, but it was all very unprofessional to me.

The room itself was rather shabby, and full of dead Mosquitos under the air-con. There was no net (which I would say is essential there), but the young man on reception went to the shop to buy insect spray just for me. Really kind

The room was clean, but really it needed some updating/insect removal. It was cold water only, which was fine, and breakfast was included, which was good too.

On the whole, I wouldn't stay here again. The noise was too much, and there was a real problem with Mosquitos. I gad my own net, but nowhere to hang it. There could have been a coil or something just to ease the problem. Maybe if I'd paid more I would have had a better experience, but I stayed somewhere 15 mins up the road that was cheaper and nicer. And no shrieking receptionists!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovely_lotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I booked this hotel based on the photos on their website and figured I could find some touristy things to do nearby. However apart from the Mataram Mall (only worthwhile if you need a supermarket or or other stores) or a 15 minute drive to Senggigi there's not much for tourists in Mataram. Although it is off-peak season, I was still surprised to be the only non-Indonesian in the area.

There was only 1 staff member in the hotel who could barely speak English so communication was difficult. Even making a phone call from the room was difficult without any English instructions. The staff did try to be helpful when they could figure out what I was saying. I had booked a deluxe terrace room with the fancy looking bathroom from the photos but was given a different room. However as the hotel was almost empty they quickly agreed to move me to the room I was expecting.

There is free wifi access in the room, but no fridge. A bathrobe was advertised but not present in the wardrobe, and there was only 1 English speaking TV channel (not that I wanted to spend much time watching TV but it's nice to have in the evening before bed). There is no safe in the room or safety box available at reception, and if you plan to leave your phone or camera battery plugged in to charge up while you are away, you can't because all electricity stops when you remove your key to leave, inc aircon.

There is construction going on very close to the rooms... they are building new rooms. So if you want a quiet nap during the day before you go out at night

The bed was comfortable and the bathroom as clean as possible considering it is open-air and therefore subject to constant humidity. It's a nice touch to be able to shower under moonlight, and there are pavers to stand on. Surrounding the pavers are large rocks/pebbles which are a bit green and slimy due to the humidty I suppose.

Be prepared with mosquito repellent (I bought a plug-in repellent with changeable pads for about IDR13,000 or $1.40 from the supermarket which I plugged in at night).

Breakfast was included, and eaten just near the front lobby. It consisted of a fairly spicy nasi goreng (fried rice), cold fried eggs, toast and tea or coffee. No juice. One of the staff did fry up some fresh eggs for me though.

Room Tip: This hotel is more suited to locals than tourists.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vett74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irviyan, Owner at Griya Asri Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2011

Dear Vett74
,
Thank you to bring this to our attention, however I must straight out things you have mentioned and need to be addressed here;

1. We do advertise the wardrobe but we have never mentioned any bathrobe, for the curiosity, we keen to know where have you read this advertisement at?
2. We have deluxe terraces with two kind of different bathroom design, as I took your reservation myself, there was no specific requirement asked by you regarding the bathroom as I recall. We’re trying to give the best service as we could provide to our guests and this will be underlined as reference in the future.
3. We have 3 English speaking TV Channel, 2 news Channels (French 24 and Asian News Channel) and a movie channel (HBO). We have been providing this English Channel since the last 2 years. You should have been able to watch these channels during your stay with us.
4. Our hotels use Energy saving switch, as in most of hotels that concern of saving the earth by saving the use of energy, we are proudly one of them. It is widely use in hotels everywhere in Indonesia or abroad. This key tag that you insert into the socket will act as switch to the main power. You can always ask the front desk to help with charging your devices as you leave your room.
5. We are under construction in some of the hotel area by the time you were staying with us. We are trying to improve and add Rooms facility and renovate the restaurant (Currently Finished). It is the way we improve the quality of service we can provide to our guests.
6. In case if you were not aware of, we do not have safe deposit box nor we advertise them. We tried our best to provide the best value for money with price you were willing to pay.

Again we thank you to give us this positive critics and review, we will note things that need to be improve and we try our best to be able to give you and our future guests even a better stay in the future. Thank you.

Regards,
Ian Srigede

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

I stayed in Hotel Griya Asri for three weeks in January 2011 while studying Indonesian at the University of Mataram. I moved there from the Hotel Airlangga and never looked back. Griya Asri became the hotel of choice for any of the students and Australian lecturers who chose not to be use homestay accommodation - there was around 12 of us, using 8 rooms.
The owner, Ian (a shortened version of his Indonesian name), was very friendly and made me feel particularly welcome. His English is excellent, although I mostly tried to communicate in Indonesian - he was very gracious with my mistakes!.
The manager, Salim, went out of his way to make us feel at home; going so far as to ask what food we would like him to buy for the complementary breakfast each day (which included bread for toast, fresh fruit, tea, coffee and nasi goreng), and he also made sure there were a couple of English language channels on the TV, including HBO.
The rest of the staff have varying levels of English, but were always ready with a smile and keen to help out with any issues. The security guard was even once roped into giving me a lift on the back of the hotel's scooter, at no cost.
The room I stayed in was one of the best in the hotel and is listed at RP250,000 per night, which was a little more than AUD26. it was very large. Ian also gave us a discount on top of that because of the size of our group. My room had AC, western toilet AND toilet paper, King-sized bed, satellite TV, telephone, a fantastic shower and... wait for it...... FREE WIFI INTERNET!!!!! Some of the rooms have minibars, but (strangely) not the Deluxe Terrace Rooms, which are removed from the noise of the main road and have little outside sitting areas.
I was a couple of minutes too late to get one of the two truly awesome rooms in the hotel, which have a stacked stone shower and a real resort feel to them. There is a photo on the hotel's website that shows what I'm talking about. Having said that, my room was fantastic and a 1000% better than Hotel Airlangga, which charges similar rates for substandard service and amenities.
The only thing missing from the hotel is a pool...
The hotel's location was perfect for me, being within 300 meters of the University. It was a RP3,000 bemo or RP15,000 taxi trip to the Mataram Mall and about RP30,000 to seaside Senggigi. There are warungs everywhere, from which food, snacks, drinks or phone credit (called 'pulsa') can be bought. The hotel also provides room service, although I didn't use it. The hotel can do your laundy, which is charged per item (and relatively expensive), or you can walk across the road the the Handayani laundry (which is part of the SMK [TAFE equivalent]) and have it done for RP5000 per kilo with a 24 hour turnaround.
The website says that you can rent cars from the hotel, but I didn't use that service.

I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone going to Lombok. Senggigi is certainly more tourist-oriented, and the prices reflect it. Mataram was definitely better value.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sxwilso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank steffie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mataram
0.5 mi away
favehotel Langko Mataram
1.9 mi away
Idoop Hotel
Idoop Hotel
#6 of 25 in Mataram
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fizz Hotel Lombok
Fizz Hotel Lombok
#19 of 25 in Mataram
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#12 of 20 in Gili Air
354 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sunset House Lombok
Sunset House Lombok
#3 of 5 in Batu Layar
555 reviews
0.0 mi away
M Hotel
M Hotel
#12 of 25 in Mataram
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griya Asri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griya Asri Hotel

Address: Jln. Pendidikan no. 58, Mataram, Lombok 83125, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Mataram
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Mataram
Price Range: £14 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Griya Asri Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Griya Asri Hotel is located within the heart of Mataram, the capital of West Nusa Tenggara and only 10 km away from Senggigi beach, the main tourist destination in Lombok. We are also within a convenient reach of other showplaces such as traditional Indonesian weaving factories, pearl markets and Balinese Temples. For your travelling convenience, the International Airport of Lombok, BIL, is only about 45 minutes within reach whilst Lembar Wharf is 30 minutes drive away. Our friendly staff and hotel facilities alongside the favorable access to various transportation we offer, will give you the package of a great value for money. The hotel is perfect for any individual looking for a stay in Lombok for any occasions. Griya Asri hotel is simply described as a "Comfort For All" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Griya Asri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griya Asri Hotel Lombok, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing