We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Question: How can the staffs manage to keep smiling all the time?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Mataram
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One Question: How can the staffs manage to keep smiling all the time?”
Reviewed 20 January 2008

I stayed in Alang Alang with my partner during our new year vacation. The day before we checked in we went to Gili Islands, and because my parter carried such a heavy and huge luggage we stop at Alang Alang just to ask whether we can put our luggage first before we check in the next day. No problem with that. The next day we checked in pretty early around 10AM, and the room was already available for us! And our luggage was already in the room. When we entered the room we was amazed. Nice bed.. nice bathroom. They have open air bathroom which was great for me than the usual hotel bathroom.. Something new for us.. Great room
Service wise, I really can't find the perfect words.. The never seem tired to serve the guests, and I don't know how can they manage to keep smiling all the time. Unlike the other hotel, this hotel didn't have any new year party during the new year eve, which was good for us and I'm quite sure for the rest of the guest as well.. Tired of having a hectic and noisy day in Bali and Jakarta, we found the hotel was super great for us.
Location wise, it's not exactly at the sengigi centre but if you take taxi it won't take you more than 7minutes.
Great great staffs, great service. Totally fall in love with Alang Alang villas... The people the service, everything.. Especially the lady at the Front Desk..
I will definately be back again..

  • Liked — Staffs
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    48
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
73
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2007

Spent 10 days in 2005 at the Alang Alang on a longer 3 month trip through SE Asia. This is one of the most memorable places during that trip. The service and friendliness of the Staff was outstanding. Breakfast here was incredible - enjoying the view, fresh fruit....
Great, beautiful pool with totally adequate size.

  • Liked — Truly everything!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falk-wulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2007

Would reccomend Alang Alang to anyone wishing to have a good relax, and base themselves somewhere beautiful to explore beautiful Lombok. It's perfect for couples too, very romantic. The staff were awesome and absolutely went out of there way to ensure we were as comfortable as possible, right down to the flowers scattered throughout our room when it was dressed. I mean, I had a torn calf muscle, and all of a sudden the resort carpenter turned up with a handmade wooden crutch he'd knocked up back of house somewhere. Briliant. It's the sort of service and accomodation you just won't find in the Western world anymore.
Watching the sun set over the Lombok straits, while sipping sundowners with your loved one....say no more.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SHMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2006

We spent a wonderful 6 nights at this beautiful little piece of paradise! the room was delightful with spectacular views of the sunsets. But what made our stay perfect was the service! The staff made us welcome from the very start, got to know us by name, greeted us every day with such warmth and hospitality, we didn't feel a need to leave the place!! lovely touches included a plate of fruit salad mid-morning, by the pool, and a fresh coconut to drink from!
i would recommend this lovely intimate hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jacqui b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2006

The staff at Alang Alang were really lovely and very helpful...unfortunately though I'm not sure the same can be said for the resort. Our room - which did have a lovely view overlooking the gardens and sea, was fairly small and also seemed to have way more mosquitoes than we found anywhere else we went to on Lombok (we killed another 3 every time we set foot back into the room!). As for the grounds - the garden is nice and peaceful, but there is no beach at the Alang Alang (although this is not necessarily a bad thing and the garden overlooks the sea) and the pool is average. Also the hawkers, selling everything and anything were allowed in the grounds - they kind of hovered in the background and we had a group of around 10 men sitting at the end of the garden chatting whilst we were trying to have a massage one day - it made me especially feel uncomfortable and added to the fact that along with the mosquito problem in the rooms, the management/owner did not appear to be as dedicated to the guests comfort as the general staff were. We would recommend Quinci Villas (slightly more expensive) - approx 5 min walk along the beach instead, the grounds are smaller but it's newer, looks a lot better and has a much sleaker feel to it.

Alang Alang is ok - but has a jaded feel about it and is nothing special.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
10 Thank ULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Alang Alang Beach Hotel in May 2006 for 5 days, after being recommended to stay there by friends. We were not disappointed. Immediately from arrival, the staff could not have been friendlier and more willing to help. Our room was lovely, with a big double bed and a view onto the pretty gardens. We had a large outdoor bathroom, which was was a real treat (standard with every room). The rooms and grounds were very clean. The pool was beautiful - a small infinity pool with waterfall and rock features looking out onto the sea. I loved the food - a good selection of Indonesian and Asian dishes at reasonable prices. I was annoyed to read in the Lonely Planet that the hotel was 'by the road' - this is slightly over exaggerated. The road is not that close and I did not hear any traffic once (and I hate noise!). Can't fault the Alang Alang apart from slightly slow service in the restaurant, but I feel that stays in keeping with the laid back and relaxing atmosphere! A lovely place to stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank jim_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mataram
0.1 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#7 of 7 in Mangsit
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
1.0 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,238 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sunset House Lombok
Sunset House Lombok
#3 of 5 in Batu Layar
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel

Property: Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel
Address: Jl. Raya Mangsit Senggigi, Mataram, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Mataram
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Mataram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alang Boutique Beach Hotel
Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel Lombok, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing