We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Mataram
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place, friendly staff”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and really enjoyed the location and friendly staff. We hiked rinjani and they even even went to the effort to pack a carefully wrapped lunch. Pool and beach side location were great. If you swim a little out there's good snorkeling too as the reef gets a not deeper. Great hotel! Would go back in an instant.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JaseNMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    48
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
73
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We Spent another wonderful week Alang Alang Boutique Beach Resort in Lombok. It 's the fourth time that we stay guests for a week and as always it was great . The garden is wonderful , peace , tranquility due to the size of the structure which has 19 bungalows and a villa with swimming pool are unique. For the third time we have rented a villa with pool ideal for our two daughters aged 8 and 4 years old . The property is dated and definitely would need some renovation but the location is unique, the sea view is magnificent. From the garden you can access to the nearby beach for a walk on a beautiful beach largely shaded by palm trees and other plants. The bungalows are built in the traditional style of Lombok and the inlay work in wood are beautiful. The art installations that adorn the interiors of the villa are unique and original , sea creatures , birds geckos, obtained with shells, pieces of rope, stained glass , sand , colors, ceramics and wood ... The food is excellent , the indonesian dishes delicious and western cuisine excellent . We do not like the buffet and the staff is always very helpful and attentive to special requests. During our stay we uncovered that the hotel could close within two months to be destroyed for a new modern hotel.....A big loss for Lombok and for our family because without Alang Alang Boutique Resort we would not go back on that beach!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annalisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay there! The place is amazing and the staff very friendly. The rooms are spacious and lovely, be aware of the mosquitos. It is a bit away from the centre but this is not an issue.
The breakfast options are limited.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amel_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Hotel and grounds are lovely with very friendly staff who were there within five minutes for anything you required. It rained and two young men are cleaning the water from our balcony within ten minutes. Every day our rooms were cleaned to perfection. The scenery, gardens awesome. The beach front bungalow was great. Outdoor bathroom lovely, we could not pick a fault. Although the food was ordinary the next time we go we will be doing dinner each night in Sengiggi for sure. The only negative were the hawkers who would walk onto the land on the sand strip to the front boundary and harass you and way over priced. This should be stopped as it was annoying. A little to far to walk to the shopping strip but easy to catch a bemo .A local told us to go into Mataram to the shopping centres as this is where you get the best deals. Definately will go again.

Room Tip: Beach front bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sec0ndh0neym00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights there, we booked based on the reviews here, but i would say the hotel is really old and it needs a fully makeover. The staffs are really helpful and friendly and attentive. The breakfast can be chosen from a 3 different menu, all are good and freshly prepared in kitchen. The hotel location is good as it has a direct beach access but just 8 min drive to the senggigi town where all the restaurants are located, the taxi fare was only 30000IDR. so if u like to be in area where all restaurants located so u need to check another hotel. Do take care if the mosquitos there as we were bitten many times!

the hotel facilities are really old and the room has an open or outdoor shower with old facilities,

the chairs , mattres and showeres are all old too but for 1 or 2 night stay is fine i think!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AlirezaSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and I had an excellent stay at Alang-Alang during the Christmas week of 2013. We stayed at Room 105 which had an awesome view of the sea, a very romantic mosquito netting that drapped over the bed, and like all rooms, had a very exotic semi-open air bathroom which felt very tropical. Staff were excellent and always friendly, especially at the reception. All staff (housekeeping, waiters, reception)greeted us on sight. Reception arranged motorbike rental for us at IDR50K/day which was actually slightly cheaper than in Sengigi town (IDR55K/day).....the bike rental guy was very easy-going and allowed us the option of extending the bike rental and paying the additional sum upon return of bike. Breakfast (included) was gorgeous, by the sea, and a lovely a la carte spread which left us stuffed to the brim daily.....the local orange juice is a must have. The "infinity" swimming pool was just the right size, with a mini-waterfall and cave, and has an excellent view of the sea. There's even a small cabana for guests to laze in by the pool. We loved having breakfast by the sea while admiring Bali's Gunung Agung in the horizon every morning. The hotel is a blend of sea, sand and lovely tropical jungle-type landscaping, at the end of a cove.....very private and quiet and relaxed. We much preferred this hotel to its newer neighbours....which were less private and less exotic. The hotel has a good selection of movie channels (HBO, Fox Premium, etc) which kept us entertained at night. Sengigi town is 5mins bike ride away while Mataram town is about 30 mins bike ride away, south of the hotel. Bangsal Harbour is about 30mins bike ride away, north of the hotel....we took the slowboat from Bangsal with the locals over to Gili Trawangan (IDR13K/way) for a day trip. Gili T wasn't really my cup of tea.....too many tourists, crowded and sweaty. I much preferred the seclusion and serenity at Alang-Alang. One place you must absolutely go for dinner is at Nipah Beach Lombok, where there is an entire beach populated by fishing villagers who open up their own BBQ seafood huts. We went there for dinner almost every evening (specifically a food hut named Pondok Ikan Bakar Nipah, it has a banner on it), to enjoy the sunset on the sand, by the sea and the cheap fish and squid. This food hut opens from 8am onwards until evening, for dinner. A sizeable fish (enough for 2 pax) costs a mere IDR50K, while squid was IDR15K/skewer. All marinated in a lovely spicy marinade and BBQ'd to perfection using smoky coconut husks. Served with fresh coconut juice as a refreshing thirst quencher. Nipah Beach is a 20min bike ride away, north of Alang-Alang, before reaching Bangsal. We are already planning to return to Lombok and especially to Alang-Alang Hotel in the near future for yet another romantic holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MankieCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I wanted a complete break to just chill and do very little for 4 days.... My objective was to have a bungalow, next to a beach, with not many people around, snorkel and if I wanted to ... Go and explore.

Bit of a big ask on the budget ... But this little hotel ticked every box.... Just out of season, away from the tourist town... ( but 5 mins in a taxi if you wanted to go), clean rooms, very leafy and green, not a great sandy beach.. But enough sand to walk out, laze in the water.. Or like me, put a snorkel on and float for hours watching the most amazing fish and activity... Just me, my boyfriend and a complete finding Nemo live episode right there first hand!

The staff were great, not intrusive but helpful.. We hired scooters at the same price as anywhere else and did not get ripped off - our helpful waitress sorted it all for us.... The food on the menu was limited... But seriously, if you want food the selection in the town is plentiful. Yes, the place could do with a lick of paint, but if it is out of season tranquility you want... This is it. Oh, and if you run out of reading material... They have a great set of book shelves with books people leave in all languages. It's the little things that make a difference!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hells72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mataram
0.1 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#6 of 7 in Mangsit
735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
1.0 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,199 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#10 of 30 in Senggigi
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel

Property: Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel
Address: Jl. Raya Mangsit Senggigi, Mataram, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Mataram
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Mataram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alang Boutique Beach Hotel
Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel Lombok, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing