We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad spot to be based for checking out West Lombok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Mataram
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not a bad spot to be based for checking out West Lombok”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I recently spent four nights at the AA for a business trip. The resort is located about four kilometers north of the heart of Senggigi. I walked into Senggigi one morning from the hotel and it took me about fifty minutes. According to the staff at the bar, the AA was opened in 1996. The owners are a German/Indonesian couple. The rooms are comfortable with outdoor bathrooms and veranda furniture so you can enjoy sea views. Breakfast was included in the price, and the food was well prepared and fresh. The ubiquitous nasi goreng or mie goreng and western breakfast food are served. I had dinner at the AA three nights as did my colleagues. The pizzas were very good – good crust and generous toppings. There is a pool but it is not very large. Also be advised that the AA does not have a typical sandy beach. The beach is laden with large rocks. During high tide you can navigate around the rocks and go for a swim, but do not expect cabanas on the beach or laying out on a blanket or towel. There were also issues with hot water in my room. You have to keep the water running for five to ten minutes. Get the staff to help you the first time. Service was very good and the staff were very friendly. Blue Bird and Express taxis are common and reliable. As with Jakarta, stick to Blue Birds and Express. The other taxi companies often have older vehicles and meters that might not be reliable. If you have the time, hire a moped or a Blue Bird and drive north from AA to Lombok Utara (North Lombok). There are some great, clean beaches with no resorts. The highway is lined with people selling sate and corn. There are some good restaurants in Senggigi, and the local pearls make excellent gifts. The public beach in Senggigi is a good place to meet locals and buy t-shirts and other souvenirs. The place can get “seedy,” but most vendors will leave you alone if you keep walking. Bargain hard because prices will be at least double what you should pay. People might offer you drugs, but remember the penalties are stiff in Indonesia. If you want a quiet beach experience head to South Lombok. Overall, AA was a comfortable experience. However, I could see staying somewhere else when I return because there are many accommodation options.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road. The road is noisy, and many folks don't bother to properly t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarrellFreund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    48
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
73
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon_Boy
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in June 2014. Generally everything was fine but we were disappointed there was no beach. The hotel itself was fine but really needed a refurbishment. We did not eat in the resturant as it was always empty and provided no ambience. Although it is only $2 taxi into Senggigi where there are was plenty of choice. The staff and service was very good.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which seemed overpriced, the garden vilas looked much better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swindon_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanur, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed for three nights in a room with seavieuw. We had a wonderfull time in this place. Quiet, relaxed, swimmingpool and sea in front of the hotel. There is a little beach at low tide. The atmosphere is good. The people very nice and friendly and very helpfull.
The rooms are good, interieur Lombokstyle with a lot of wood. Large terrace in front of the room.
Breakfast at seaside reataurant. The Alang alang breakfast is very good. Lots of fruit, juice, any kind of egg, toast and coffe or tea.
Also diner is very tasty.
Tha Alang Alang beach resort is on the Mangsit beach. You need taxi (around 15.000rp) or bemo to go to senggigi.
We will return back here.
It's worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floortje B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Lovely room with ocean view.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Food was very good although the breakfast options were a bit limiting.
About 10 minutes in a taxi to Sengiggi
It was our first time in Lombok and the staff offered to arrange a driver and car for the day for approximately $70 AU, we did find out later that we could have got it a lot cheaper...oh well!

Room Tip: Mataram is a bit further out from Sengiggi and you cant really walk there, but taxi's are cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martine1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and really enjoyed the location and friendly staff. We hiked rinjani and they even even went to the effort to pack a carefully wrapped lunch. Pool and beach side location were great. If you swim a little out there's good snorkeling too as the reef gets a not deeper. Great hotel! Would go back in an instant.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JaseNMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We Spent another wonderful week Alang Alang Boutique Beach Resort in Lombok. It 's the fourth time that we stay guests for a week and as always it was great . The garden is wonderful , peace , tranquility due to the size of the structure which has 19 bungalows and a villa with swimming pool are unique. For the third time we have rented a villa with pool ideal for our two daughters aged 8 and 4 years old . The property is dated and definitely would need some renovation but the location is unique, the sea view is magnificent. From the garden you can access to the nearby beach for a walk on a beautiful beach largely shaded by palm trees and other plants. The bungalows are built in the traditional style of Lombok and the inlay work in wood are beautiful. The art installations that adorn the interiors of the villa are unique and original , sea creatures , birds geckos, obtained with shells, pieces of rope, stained glass , sand , colors, ceramics and wood ... The food is excellent , the indonesian dishes delicious and western cuisine excellent . We do not like the buffet and the staff is always very helpful and attentive to special requests. During our stay we uncovered that the hotel could close within two months to be destroyed for a new modern hotel.....A big loss for Lombok and for our family because without Alang Alang Boutique Resort we would not go back on that beach!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annalisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay there! The place is amazing and the staff very friendly. The rooms are spacious and lovely, be aware of the mosquitos. It is a bit away from the centre but this is not an issue.
The breakfast options are limited.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amel_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mataram
0.1 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#7 of 7 in Mangsit
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
1.0 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,237 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sunset House Lombok
Sunset House Lombok
#3 of 5 in Batu Layar
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel

Property: Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel
Address: Jl. Raya Mangsit Senggigi, Mataram, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Mataram
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Mataram
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alang Boutique Beach Hotel
Alang-Alang Boutique Beach Hotel Lombok, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing