We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, good food”
Review of Doniana

Doniana
Ranked #4 of 63 Restaurants in Acre
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Tel Aviv
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great view, good food”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We visited on a holiday weekend at lunch time, so it was very busy. Our reservation was honored immediately, and we were seated with a great view of Haifa Bay. Service was extremely friendly and helpful and we enjoyed an excellent meal after the continuously refilled and pleasantly varied mezze, including an excellent hummous, and some nicely sharply spiced vegetables. The variety of shrimps was impressive, and we got to sample four kinds. The grilled fish that was ordered was also excellent. We definitely enjoyed the the setting, the food and the service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel_Tzipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    97
    36
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Satisfied”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I had dinner with my family on Sunday evening without reservation. The receptionist was very welcoming. We didn't want to wait so decided to have it outdoor table. It was quite chilly but service was good and food was satisfactory.

Helpful?
Thank Lonelytraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Herts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food. Good service. Good views”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Last minute decision to go to Doniana for dinner this evening with absolutely no regrets. The place was almost full, while every other restaurant we passed was empty or almost empty. Service was prompt and friendly. We were very well looked after by Hisham.
I made the mistake of ordering a starter. I say mistake because before the starter, came 3 complimentary dishes and various pittas. The grilled meats were succulent and tasty but the baked potatoes needed a health warning for the quantity of salt on them. We had to turn away the complimentary sorbets afterwards.
The background to the meal included the twinkling lights of Haifa across the bay.
We would love to return later in the year when we could eat out on the terrace - it's a bit too chilly in March.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Traveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful view generous plates”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We lunched there afew days ago, snd we had a good surprise. The restaurant has a beautiful terrace with the sea view. The food was good and portions were generous. We had the Finland salad, which was fresh and tasty. Very good olive oil dressing. We also had lamb kebabs that we liked very much. After coffee we were served with a complementary forget. We definitely recommend this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank zeeva_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I ordered Red Mullet main course, and paid 96 Shekels for it. We are talking about almost $30, and all I got was 4 tiny fish. The food was eatable but nothing to die for.
Service was pretty bad too!

The good thing about this place was the great view. It is located on the Mediterranean sea.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Y G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doniana also viewed

Acre, Northern District
Acre, Northern District
 
Acre, Northern District
Acre, Northern District
 
Acre, Northern District
 

Been to Doniana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing