We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way better than just good - truly wonderful”
Review of Efendi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Efendi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Acre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Many reviewers and others before me have discussed at length the wondrous restoration & creation project which resulted in the "Efendi-Hotel".

I can just say that no amount or quality of photography would be able to capture the true magic of the place, the beautiful rooms, the amazing public areas and balconies and the fine details which adds up to the best boutique hotel in Israel and a worthy counterpart to the best Chateau Hotels in the world.

Another aspect of the "Efendi-Hotel" which I found to be particularly endearing is the fantastic service which operates in complete harmony with the palatial surroundings. Just a few staff members are able to supply a smiling, comfortable and no stress service which transforms the stay in this hotel into a dream like experience.

One single episode would serve best to demonstrate that impeccable service. We have spent the night at the hotel with a few friends, celebrating my wife's birth day. One of ours friends bought a watermelon while touring the market in Acre and brought it with him. We were sitting on the northern balcony, about to check out when the hotel receptionist who noticed our friend's watermelon suggested he leaves it with her and she would have it carved and brought to us. And so we were treated to a freshly carved watermelon resting on ice cubes just like that, a spontaneous and heart warming gesture shown to us as we were about to check out.

So, pack a suitcase (not a big one though, parking is an issue) and get going to the Efendi

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shay007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

We spent just one night here but it was enough to judge this as one of the most unique experiences of our visit to Israel. Not only was this hotel beautiful (reflecting the vision of the owner whose eponymous restaurant, Uri Buri and the best ice cream store are literally round the corner) but it got to us with its old fashioned notion of hospitality and attention to detail that is sadly missing these days. You are in a restored property with a fabulous wine cellar built around an old structure dating back to the crusades. Staff were friendly, professional and enthusiastic, having bought into the vision. We wish we could have extended our stay

Stayed: July 2012
1  Thank aitch s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We celebrited our anniversaty in this special hotel that combine feel of authentic house with modern technology (air condition, coffe machine, dvd, tv, etc). The service was excelent. The breakfast was unforgetable. The vies from the roof (especially sunset) are great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank INNA_BZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Feel like royalty and treat yourself to a night at the spectacularly restored Effendi Hotel in Acre. Each room has an authentic atmosphere with attention to the smallest details. Furniture, lighting, materials, ceiling paintings -- all combine to create a wonderful, romantic atmosphere. The hotel is located in the heart of the Crusader/Ottoman Old City of Acre. Many of the rooms have views of the Mediterranean Sea. The chef offers excellent dishes in the tapas bar in the evening and for breakfast. There is a real hammam on the premises.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

my husbend and me celebrate my 60' birthday at the new boutique hotel ,the room was beatiful , big and very nice furnished ,high cellings painted with fllowers and the large windows let the sun and the sea view in. the old turkish bath and the hotel loby are very picturesque.
the breakfast in the wine cellar was very tasty and unique. .to sip a glas of wine on the roof at sun set was a wanderful relaxing experience.

Room Tip: room on the first floor with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dafna r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Very intimate, beautifully restored & decorated boutique hotel! Wonderful wine basement/cafe! Great service!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the rooftops to the Mediterranean Sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

By the same owner as the Uri Buri restaurant ( kind of 4/5 stars restaurant) this place which I just visited is a palace from a couple of centuries, which has been redone, redecorated ....just a 8 1/2 years job .....worth a visit and certainly a stay .....
Roland

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acre
0.3 mi away
Akkotel
Akkotel
#2 of 4 in Acre
363 reviews
6.3 mi away
Shtarkman Erna Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Rimonim Palm Beach Acre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Nea Resort & People
Nea Resort & People
#1 of 1 in Shavei Tzion
159 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
10.3 mi away
Maskit Suites & Spa
Maskit Suites & Spa
#1 of 1 in Liman
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Efendi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Efendi Hotel

Address: Louis IX, Acre 24122, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Northern District > Acre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Acre
Price Range: £258 - £480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Efendi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque narrow lanes of Acre, the Efendi Hotel overlooks the historic city walls and the magnificent Mediterranean Sea beyond. The unique structure of this hotel combines two ancient houses that have hundreds of years of history stored within their walls. These houses were meticulously reconstructed and merged into one building before being converted into a boutique hotel.. Complex preservation and restoration work over a period of eight years gave birth to a gorgeous, breathtaking pearl that was truly a labor of love. Thought was invested in each and every detail of the preservation work, which was performed under the supervision of the Antiquities Authority. Artisans were specially flown in from Italy in order to undertake this delicate work, as well as the restoration of the beautiful ceilings.All rooms in the hotel are furnished and equipped to the highest standards, and each room has its own unique character and style. Some rooms' ceilings feature illustrations, while others are made from preserved wood. Most of the windows offer sea views, while others look out over the ancient city of Acre and the scenic mountains of the Western Galilee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Efendi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Efendi Hotel Israel/Acre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing