We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding boutique hotel”
Review of Efendi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Efendi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Acre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

In trying to figure out where to stay in the north, we selected Akko because of this hotel and it was absolutely the right decision. The suite was magnificent, each public room lovelier than the next. Staff were all excellent and most helpful with little problems we had (arrived on a Saturday afternoon and had difficulty figuring out where to go). Incredible breakfast, lovely rooftop. Best meal in Israel was at Uri's restaurant down the street. If you are going to be in this area, it is a must.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmFromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Great experience, though an expensive one. Don't miss it. Words cannot describe. A real treasure - that makes u smile, relax, be romantic, straightens your wrinkles and more. Walking in the public areas- it is a museum. Breakfast around the knights' table is outstanding, as well as a glass of wine on the roof with sunset. U exit the hotel and u r in mid old city of Acre with the special history, smells and tasted of the market, restored areas from ancient times, exotic ports, interesting museums. A real exceptional vacation, even if for only 2 days.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Idit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A twelve room boutique hotel with an excellent atmosphere.
The hotel consists of 2 palatial old homes. The spaces and light are beautiful.
I have a few niggles though; the shower taps had the French F and C for cold and hot, however they were labelled incorrectly. The spa was very minimal.
The service was good and the restaurant advised (Uri Buri-same owner as hotel) was excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe93225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We came to celebrate my mom's 80th birthday and this was an amazing place to do so. We started the reception on the roof at sunset. The spacious hotel and the amazing dinner we had, cooked by the hotel's chef (Omri something, unfortunately I forgot to ask for his last name) and served at a LONG knights-like table, and the service from an amazing staff... These all made our celebration SO much enjoyable.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRLPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed overnight with our kids and their grandparents. We stuffed into a suite with the kids because there are no interconnecting rooms, but the air mattresses were great. The hotel is restored beautifully and it has real charms such as being on the roof at dusk or on the side porch on the mats at night. The concierge Victor was really helpful and the various staff that checked us in and out were great, and rolled with the punches really well when our original reservation didn't work out on arrival because of the kids needing connecting rooms. My parents enjoyed the fish restaurant (the staff remembered the next day exactly what they had for dinner) and we would love to return to this hotel without the kids. The gelateria owned by the hotel's owner is not to be missed -- the texture and flavor is as good as Grom in Italy. The breakfast was communal around a large table and innovative -- my wife really liked the items. The negatives: no gym, no room service, no in-house restaurant and if you are walking around the neighborhood down the alleys of the old city late at night it feels really creepy because the area around the hotel is not an upper-class area and usually top hotels are in those kinds of areas. We didn't want to tell people we were looking for the hotel figuring it would make us a target. If a few guests get hit here, I assume it will not be good for the hotel. Hotel would be wise to put more directional signs around the old city to guide night walkers back to the property. Otherwise, we were very happy with this place and enjoyed the upgrade in Israeli tourist accommodations that it offered.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had a recommendation to come to the Efendi Hotel and were so glad for it! There is not a lot to do in Akko, it's a beautiful city and very interesting and picturesque, but quite small.

We stayed in the Efendi and loved it. While I was parking a man with a long, unkempt beard approached my car and I figured, "Oh great, a homeless guy." Instead, to my embarrassment, it was the hotel owner, Uri! He's quite an interesting and erudite guy, don't let the artist-look fool you. He bought the hotel a few years ago, and invested quite a bit of time and money renovating it. It is absolutely stunning! Be sure to have a glass of wine on the rooftop at sunset and see the swallows. It is also magical hearing the Muezzin call the faithful to worship at sunset as you sit there and sip your un-Islamic glass of excellent Israeli wine!

It is not an inexpensive place to stay; but it is full of character and beauty, and the quality of the service is exceptional. If you are going to go to Akko, stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Kirkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A rare bueaty: the finest rooms with real personalized service.
The building and rooms are amazing, with foundations and halls from the medieval days to Ottomanic rooms and high-tech facilities, one can really feel like being in a time machine. We felt like Sultans for two days.
Is there a better way to celebrate our anniversary?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roykev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acre
0.3 mi away
Akkotel
Akkotel
#2 of 4 in Acre
363 reviews
6.3 mi away
Shtarkman Erna Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Rimonim Palm Beach Acre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Nea Resort & People
Nea Resort & People
#1 of 1 in Shavei Tzion
159 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
10.3 mi away
Maskit Suites & Spa
Maskit Suites & Spa
#1 of 1 in Liman
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Efendi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Efendi Hotel

Address: Louis IX, Acre 24122, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Northern District > Acre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Acre
Price Range: £258 - £483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Efendi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque narrow lanes of Acre, the Efendi Hotel overlooks the historic city walls and the magnificent Mediterranean Sea beyond. The unique structure of this hotel combines two ancient houses that have hundreds of years of history stored within their walls. These houses were meticulously reconstructed and merged into one building before being converted into a boutique hotel.. Complex preservation and restoration work over a period of eight years gave birth to a gorgeous, breathtaking pearl that was truly a labor of love. Thought was invested in each and every detail of the preservation work, which was performed under the supervision of the Antiquities Authority. Artisans were specially flown in from Italy in order to undertake this delicate work, as well as the restoration of the beautiful ceilings.All rooms in the hotel are furnished and equipped to the highest standards, and each room has its own unique character and style. Some rooms' ceilings feature illustrations, while others are made from preserved wood. Most of the windows offer sea views, while others look out over the ancient city of Acre and the scenic mountains of the Western Galilee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Efendi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Efendi Hotel Israel/Acre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing