We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short of actually being a working hamam this was great”

Hamam El Basha Museum
Ranked #7 of 32 things to do in Acre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hamam Museum in Old Acre“The story of the Last Bathhouse Attendant," a multi-screen, walk-through dramatic presentation in the Hamam Basha Ottoman-era bathhouse in Old Acre http://www.curator.co.il/page5.html
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Short of actually being a working hamam this was great”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The exhibition was great and gave you a feel of the sort of conversations, stories and characters that inhabit a working bath house (not to mention the fact that the history of the bathhouse itself was explained)

Each rooms use was explained and narration continuity was kept throughout. I have used working hamams before but i found i learnt something new about them from the exhibition.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank A_UK_man25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    25
    20
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Historic Turkish Bath”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Con: really bad movie
Pro: The movie relayed the spirit of generations of bath workers.
Con: distracting plot introduced in more recordings
Pro: really cool Turkish bath and I've never been to one so it was worth the fiver.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stowawaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't bother wasting your money!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Wished we had listened to other reviewers. It’s truly a waste of time coming here. The video presentation, which seems to have been produced for grade school kids, needs to be replaced with a more professional historical account that is brief but accurate. The statistics on the amount of information our brain retains after listening to a 10-minute oral presentation is about 50% and then goes down the longer the presentation gets. So it would be nice if the museum director could revise the video, keep it short, and put the rest of the information into posters in front of each exhibit. Unfortunately, nobody could get out of the museum until the video presentation is over. The doors are locked and will only open automatically after the entire show is over. We felt like we were locked in this place way too long.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

If you feel like paying $5 to watch a very boring video before walking through a two room old bath house go right ahead. Quite a nice bath house, but really a waste of time to walk through one. Otherwise I would save your money and visit an active bath house sometime for a real experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonty_Balboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Hamam”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The Haman is quite nice.
The movie in the beginning is for my taste a bit too long and boring.
Still the architecture and the sealing of the Hamam is very beautiful.
You shouldn't miss to visit the Hamam.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamam El Basha Museum also viewed

Acre, Northern District
Acre, Northern District
 
Acre, Northern District
 

Been to Hamam El Basha Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing