We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a relief!”
Review of Akkotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Akkotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Acre
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a relief!”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We have been travelling around Israel and unfortunately have been let down in many ways with the accommodation on offer - in all price bands.
Heading down the coast we decided to stop in at Akko/Acre and found Akkotel. This is what I have been looking for and until now unable to find. A clean, charming, comfortable, friendly and well located hotel.
The bathroom is a good size and nicely fitted out with a power shower over a bath. It feels absolutely luxurious after the last two places we stayed.
The reception on arrival was warm, friendly and sincere. Everything was explained and local information concerning restaurants, opening times for sites, travel ideas etc was offered.
This hotel has good reviews and you can rely on them. This hotel ticks all the boxes.
The town itself is beautiful too. Historic and charming - a real treasure.
If you want a decent hotel then look no further.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinobread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    120
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
80
154
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This great hotel is located within the Ottoman stone walls of the old city. It is located just steps away from the underground crusader city and al jazeer mosque, to the north, and the markets and beautiful port to the south.
The room was spacious, with wonderful furnishings and great stone walls (sporting the flat screen tv). The bathroom was equally spacious with a wonderful hot shower.
Breakfast was a well stocked buffet of both western favorites and local foods. They were not serving dinner at the time I visited.
The front desk was wonderful, with great advice for sightseeing and restaurants and just passing time during a rain storm (and finding pizza delivery when the winds kicked up).
For the price and location, this is a gem.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWm65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Canada Flintridge, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Akkotel is situated in a wonderful spot in the acient city of Akko. The staff is very friendly, and the service is excellent. I will always return to Akkotel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Moriches, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Akkotel for one night, and wished we had had time to stay longer. The hotel is a very old building, beautifully restored and renovated. Our room was very comfortable. We had a view of the mosque from our window and were delighted to be able to hear the call to prayer in our room. Breakfast was not so overwheming as you might get in a big city major hotel, but it was still superb. Lots of cheeses and salads, bread, eggs, coffee and juice, a typical Israeli breakfast. The internet was free and worked well. I had been very ill the day before we arrived and had had to be hospitalized in Haifa. The staff were VERY solicitous and caring, sent up several cups of tea, as that was all I could eat. I was disappointed upon checkout to see that we were charged for every cup of tea. Charging for a teabag? Really! Other than that, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CenterMtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

A very comfortable and pleasant small hotel located right in the old walled city of Akko. The rooms are clean and attractive and the restoration of the building is nicely done. The neighborhood is fascinating with lots of historic sites and a lovely location on the coast (but the swimming beach is south of the old city). Although it is a tourist location, it is also a living city with a market and small shops--a fascinating mix. Several great restaurants--Uri Buri is outstanding.

The breakfasts are very good (with a big buffet if there are enough guests). The breakfast hours are more limited than at a larger hotel (starting only at 8:00 a.m.). Free WiFi worked well.

The old city is compact and walkable. It's a long walk or short cab ride to the train (it's on the main north/south line--a good way to travel) or bus station.

This is one of the most interesting small towns we have visited in the region (having traveled in Israel, Egypt, Syria, and Jordan) and the Akkotel adds to the experience.

We did notice that a large new youth hostel has opened in an attractive modern building right in the old city--it may be worth checking for anyone looking for something more economical.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saaysaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon MA, USA
Level Contributor
316 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

we stayed here for 3 nights in Dec 2011.

Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Rooms with double beds are larger than those with twin beds.

As others have said this is a family run hotel. The staff are friendly and personable. They go out of their way to help in every way. Here are some examples:
* my wife left her pocket book in the breakfast room -- they knew it was ours and called our room immediately to let us know. Needless to say, nothing was taken from the pocket book
* we asked for suggestions on various items -- where to get best deals on gifts, directions to restaurants and places of interest -- in each case they gave us very detailed instructions to make sure we found the desired place

Only 1 minor criticism -- breakfast buffet was not as excellent as the rest of the hotel. This buffet had 3-4 types of bread, cheese, eggs, fish, salads, and fruit. Top end hotels in Israel have a higher standard for breakfast buffet -- such as omelette stations, and a much wider range of items

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shakespeare_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

The reviews and Lonely Planet write up make this place out to be palatial. Based on the outside, it is. Inside, it's a little drab and the rooms are basic. Nothing is by any means horrible (besides being a little noisy at night) but temper your expectations before you go. I felt like we were paying for the location.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farhasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acre
0.3 mi away
Efendi Hotel
Efendi Hotel
#1 of 4 in Acre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rimonim Palm Beach Acre
6.3 mi away
Shtarkman Erna Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
7.3 mi away
Sea Life Hotel
Sea Life Hotel
#2 of 7 in Nahariya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nea Resort & People
Nea Resort & People
#1 of 1 in Shavei Tzion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akkotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akkotel

Property: Akkotel
Address: Salahuddin Street, 1 | Acre (Akko) Old City, Acre 24112, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Northern District > Acre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Acre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akkotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akkotel Hotel Acre
Akkotel Israel/Acre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing