We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best boutique hotel inthe area”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Akkotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Akkotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Acre
Certificate of Excellence
modiin
1 review
“best boutique hotel inthe area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2008

A friend took us to see this lovely hotel- and within two weeks we"ve ordered 11 (out of 16) rooms for us and friends to stay on week-end & Shavuot holyday.
Both owners (2 brothers) gave us wonderful time-starting with a tastfull dinner ,rich breakfast and fullfilled almost all our .requests.
We strongly reccomend visitors at the western GALLILE to stay
in this hotel- it's in the heart of old Acre- minutes from all the interest places to visit!

  • Liked — new,clean.location
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eliko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    120
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
79
154
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2008

This is a beautiful hotel in Akko and I recommend it without reservation. The staff is genuine and caring, the rooms are perfect- new and beautifully appointed, and the food very yummy. They went out of their way to make sure I had a good visit. I wish the owners (2 brothers who painstakenly restored the property) all the success they deserve. Akko is a lovely old town and the sites are all within walking distance of this hotel.

  • Liked — beautiful and great owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank moonchild711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2008

I have just returned from a long weekend vacation with 30 friends that have alot of experience in tourism. I myself am a travel agent for the last 35 years and all of us in this group can recommend this hotel. The location is ideal, the property is tremendous, the staff is more than excellent and for the price that this hotel charges, you cannot find a better deal. Neither in Israel or in Europe. If you are in Israel I suggest that you visit Acre and stay at the Akkotel hotel.
Regev and his friends

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank secretaryTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2008

This small hotel in Acco is an outstanding place to stay for those interested in the history of Acco. It is a small, recently created hotel (September 2007) in a wonderful position at the gate to the old city. The hotel actually forms part of the wall of the city and the top floor exits directly onto the ramparts.

The Ottoman era building began life as customs house, later becoming a boys' school. The renovation is very stylish and sympathetic to the original building with its thick stone walls and vaulted stone ceilings.

Likewise, the management of this family owned hotel is welcoming and most informative. Acco itself is a UNESCO declared world heritage site and well worth visting for its historic sites, but also a friendly working town.

All in all one of the most charming, welcoming and well run hotels we have stayed in.

  • Liked — the historic building is part of the world heritage listed ramparts
  • Disliked — hard to identify anything
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marcus43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2008

We loved our stay at the Akkotel. We had been booked to stay in Nazareth, but a few minutes in that city convinced us to cancel our reservation and leave. Our daughter had stayed at the Akko Hostel, and loved the city, so we drove on down to Akko. The Akkotel happened to be near the Akko Hostel which was where our daughter was taking us. I much prefer nice hotels to Hostels, and, fortunately, since it was the winter season, the Akkotel had space available. Our room was excessively comfortable: a king sized bed, lovely windows and views, and a loft for our daughter to sleep in. The hotel is built right into the old city walls, and combines old city charm with true modern comfort. There are even high speed internet connections in the rooms! The restaurant attached to the hotel is marvelous, and we enjoyed an enormous gourmet meal which was the perfect ending to a long day. We so enjoyed the Akkotel that we cancelled one of our nights in Eilat and spent an additional night in Akko.

  • Liked — Absolute comfort, friendliness of owners and staff.
  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sallysorenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2008

This is a brand new hotel, built directly into the wall of the walled city of Acre (often spelled Akko.) It is the only hotel within the gates of the old city, where the sparkling meditteranean is right outside. I think the hotel had 12 or 16 rooms. The view from the roof, of the sea and of the town, is impressive.

While there was no view at all from our room (other than another wall) it didn't matter because the town is so entrancing we were only in the room for sleeping.

The room was nicely furnished; nothing gaudy or overdone, not very large, just comfortable beds and two chairs. There was a flat screen television, the ability to control heat and air conditioning, and great water pressure in the pristinely clean bathroom. (it did take a while for the hot water to get to the room, but once it was there it was fine.) The towels and linens were quite comfortable.
The breakfast, which is included in the room rate, was very good. Unless you are really interested in time on the beach and not the old city, it is a far better place to stay than the other available places which are further south on the road to Haifa. The restaurants we tried in the walled city, from the felafel and schwarma stands to the nice places, were quite good.

And the owners and employees, all of whom seemed related in some way, were very friendly and provided a lot of helpful information.

If I am ever back in this part of the world I would happily stay there again.

  • Liked — The people were friendly, the place was very clean, the beds were comfortable and the price was reasonable.
  • Disliked — the lack of any view from our room.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2008

Found this through this website. Great location, very clean, modern and spacious. Parking, breakfast, internet included. Renovated courthouse at the entrance to the Old City. It was worth it as we are reasonable close to all the places on the coast that we want to see.

  • Liked — Location, Uniqueness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Larrysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acre
0.3 mi away
Efendi Hotel
Efendi Hotel
#1 of 4 in Acre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rimonim Palm Beach Acre
6.3 mi away
Shtarkman Erna Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
7.3 mi away
Sea Life Hotel
Sea Life Hotel
#2 of 7 in Nahariya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nea Resort & People
Nea Resort & People
#1 of 1 in Shavei Tzion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akkotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akkotel

Property: Akkotel
Address: Salahuddin Street, 1 | Acre (Akko) Old City, Acre 24112, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Northern District > Acre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Acre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akkotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akkotel Hotel Acre
Akkotel Israel/Acre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing