We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Akkotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Akkotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Acre
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

I can see why the hotel is highly rated in Akko. It's got charm and unique character as it is build literally on the wall of the city. The staff were efficient, friendly and very helpful. Breakfast selection was good and delicious and had Israeli and American options. Do not miss going up to the rooftop for great views of the town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dento97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    120
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
80
154
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramallah, Palestinian Territories
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We went to the old city of Akko for relaxation and historical enrichment. We arrived on Saturday, during Id, which was a mistake. The heart of the old city was closed to traffic and after several attempts to drive to the hotel and a couple of hours in heave traffic, we parked about one mile away and walked to the hotel. The seven parking spaces were taken and we were directed to a public lot. When we left two days later the parking attendant was unhelpful and quite surlily.

The hotel is interesting! They boast of modern bathrooms and if you call three small rooms,one with an actual door, the other two with curtains modern, then it (they) are. The bed was ok but a small double.

The breakfast is good, but not great. I watered the coffee down a bit with hot water and it was then drinkable.

I do agree with others that the staff was very helpful and nice. A note about the crowds and parking would have been greatly appreciated by us.

The city was full of holiday travelers, rubbish and foul smells from the sewers. The historic tour with audio guide was excellent. This was not crowded because there was a charge.

Room Tip: Our room, #102 was quiet and dark at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The hotel is situated close to everything of interest in Akko except the Baha'i Garden.
It's clean, comfortable and classy.
The room we had was facing the Land Gate of Akkos wall, and since it was id and the muslims were celebrating, we could not sleep because of all the noise in the street below. It might be better on an ordinary day though.
Staff is friendly and quite helpful.
I found the Israeli breakfast to be a bit lacking - it is really nothing special.
All in all an OK hotel with a pretty good location and unique style since it's inside the wall.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the Land Gate of the wall. The street there is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erlend L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yavne, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Spent a weekend at the hotel with additional 11 couples of our friends, celebrating our 25th anniversary. A small (16 rooms) family owned and operated boutique hotel, very special renovation project of an old house in the great wall of old Acre. Rooms are comfortable, breakfast reach and tasty. Location is superb, near a beach and steps from all the attractions of ancient Acre. All complemented by a VERY reasonable room rates.
But above all I want to mention the excellent service of Ilya, the owner, both before we arrived with great advice and recommendations for our vacation planning, and during our stay with immediate response for every need.
The only reason I'm not giving it the excellent mark is the lack of SPA. If you are not looking for such amenities, consider this hotel as Excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeenThereDoneThat004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

a most unusual and unexpectedly wonderful experience. we came to acco to attend a wedding, and spent the night at this charming hotel. very comfortable, we felt pampered both by the staff as well as by the hotel itself. excellent location, comfortable and well accesorized room. we will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgtgtgtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I couldn't get into this hotel last year when I visited Akko. This year I did. All the reviews praising this establishment are accurate. Just wonderful service, wonderful helpful staff. You really want to stay in this hotel on a visit to this Crusader City to feel the ambiance of the place.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bigkahoona6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

I loved it. My family came to visit from England so we visited Acre. The city is exciting, quite friendly people. No hassle. The hotel was nice surprise. The owner very helpfull and the rooms clean and quite unique right on the gate to the old city. Very nice choice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limorkiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akkotel, Manager at Akkotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
We are delightful to hear that you enjoyed your staying at Akkotel, thank you for sharing your experience. Hope to see you again among our guests...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acre
0.3 mi away
Efendi Hotel
Efendi Hotel
#1 of 4 in Acre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rimonim Palm Beach Acre
6.3 mi away
Shtarkman Erna Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
7.3 mi away
Sea Life Hotel
Sea Life Hotel
#2 of 7 in Nahariya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nea Resort & People
Nea Resort & People
#1 of 1 in Shavei Tzion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akkotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akkotel

Property: Akkotel
Address: Salahuddin Street, 1 | Acre (Akko) Old City, Acre 24112, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Northern District > Acre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Acre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akkotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akkotel Hotel Acre
Akkotel Israel/Acre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing