We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight in Akko...”
Review of Akkotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Akkotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Acre
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A delight in Akko...”
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Akkotel is a remarkable hotel. Small, family run with a relaxed feel and excellent food. Hidden in a street in the Old City, our taxi driver stopped at two large depressing hotels on the edge of the town before finding the right one. Set in the City walls, within a short walk of the Crusader Fort (incredible architecture) and harbour (for excellent restauarants and manic late night boat trips if you wish) it is well placed. Being in in the old city and it is noisy outside but the shutters work well. Also, there is no outside space, but within a few metres are many small cafes with shaded areas. Due to the design of the building, most rooms are small, but well appointed. The bathroom was a little tired but this is a minor comment. The staff show very justified pride in the hotel, it was a joy to stay there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiceroMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    123
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
83
156
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dan
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

This hotel is very special since it is built into the old wall of Acre.
What's good?
- parking: 7 parking places for 16 rooms is more than enough. (Most tourists are without a car, so those who have a car don't have to worry.
- Hospitality: By no means the service in the hotel is great. Rauia is so nice and polite that you couldn't ask for more.
- Breakfast: The variance may not be the most amazing in Israel but the quality of each thing which is on the table is surprising. Exactly what I would expect from a high rated boutique hotel.
- Location: 2 minutes walk from the old city.
- Design of rooms: We've been to the suite. Wonderful design, a special attention has been put to the ceiling. Marvelous carvings, arch-like entrance to the bathroom & toilet. (have you ever seen arch-like door?)
- Size of rooms: I heard that the regular rooms are small. The suite is very big, so if the upgrade is not expensive, it is a well worthwhile upgrade.
- Quietness & separation: As been said in other reviews, you can close the shutter and not pay attention to any light or noise outside (Although the center of Acre definitely not inside a quiet village).
- Facilities: In the suite - 2 Air conditioners, 2 LCD TVs, small kitchen, safe, separate sofa, electronic shutter …

What’s not so Good?
- There’s not a single carpet on the room floor. And there are no slippers supplied either. In the winter it can be cold. So either bring your own slippers, or turn on the air condition to heat the room as much as it can.
- Plan of toilet room is not so good since the door is always stuck in the sink when you open it – something which is quiet hard to get used to.
- The bath has no curtain so when you take a bath you definitely wet the floor, also the water flow is quiet weak on the regular mode of the shower so if you have some time fill the bath because as a shower it is not fun at all.
To sum it up: A very classic & quiet hotels mainly for tourists, and less for local Israelis. It is a good hotel, but very few things separate from being an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rans11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

A very nice family hotel embedded within the wall of old Acre. The building was constructed by the Ottomans in the 18the century and later used as an Israeli court house up until the 1990s. Ilia, the owner, is a very hospitable and you can tell he cares and very proud of his establishment. To a large extent he has a lot to be proud of. He would love to tell you about how he built the hotel, and about Acre in general.

The rooms are cozy and well decorated, with the original stone columns and arches exposed. There are nice bay windows too.
The only downside in our stay was a relatively small double bad (not too small), because the room couldn't fit any other bad. In our room, you needed to like cuddling with your partner. Another room, given to another member of our party had bad smell, but was replaced quickly.
Bottom line, I've already recommended to friends in the 24 hours since we checked out. I would love to come back with my wife.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2010

The hotel and it's rooms are amazing. You feel like you are staying in a medieval walled castle. Each room is unique. The rooms feel like they are rich with history.
The hotel is absolutely amazing! It is a must!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saylorchicLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2009

The rooms are beautiful.The hotellocated inside the Old City of Akko, but away from most of the noise.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank assaf050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Dad and I stayed in the Akkotel Nov 26th, 2009. (I'm 29, he's 60.) It was fantastic---fantastic for the money and fantastic overall. It's conveniently located in the Old City, near the port and near an access ramp for the ramparts walk on the old city wall. The building is historic and cleanly restored. The proprietor helped us find attractions in Akko, and the chef from the in-house restaurant came out to chat and was friendly as well.

The room wasn't huge (we had 2 twin beds) but we had everything we needed. There were a few parking spots that the proprietor controls access to.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2009

First, Acre, or Akko (most places in Israel have at least two spellings), is not as near to Haifa as it looks on the map. It's at least an hour drive. The old part of the city, surrounded by a wall, is where Akkotel is located. In fact, the hotel has literally been built into the wall, so that one can go up onto the roof and walk directly onto the wall. The old city is, in a word, a labyrinth. As one walks around, one thinks, "this must take me back the way I came." But one would be wrong. It took us quite a while to find our restaurant AND our way back to Akkotel. The hotel is excellently appointed. Our room had electrically controlled metal shutters that closed out all light. The windows, when fastened, shut out all sound. The beds were comfortable and the closets large. The bathroom was top-notch. The breakfast that is included in the rate was excellent, with all kinds of cheeses, herring, freshly brewed coffees, and so forth. There is a small amount of parking right in front of the hotel, but probably adequate for the hotel's size, which is very intimate. If you intend to visit Akko, this is the relatively inexpensive place to stay. But if your budget is extremely tight, there is a hostel half a block away. Top notch as Akkotel is, it does not have luxury amenities for those who must have them (valet parking, pool, shops that sell jewelry, etc.), but for everyone else this place would be highly recommended.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GEDLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acre
0.3 mi away
Efendi Hotel
Efendi Hotel
#1 of 4 in Acre
339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rimonim Palm Beach Acre
4.4 mi away
Nea Resort & People
Nea Resort & People
#1 of 1 in Shavei Tzion
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Shtarkman Erna Boutique Hotel
8.6 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
7.3 mi away
Sea Life Hotel
Sea Life Hotel
#2 of 7 in Nahariya
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akkotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akkotel

Property: Akkotel
Address: Salahuddin Street, 1 | Acre (Akko) Old City, Acre 24112, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Northern District > Acre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Acre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akkotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akkotel Hotel Acre
Akkotel Israel/Acre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing