We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice if you travel around the Dead Sea”
Review of HI Arad Hostel

HI Arad Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HI Arad Hostel
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
163 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent choice if you travel around the Dead Sea”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

If ]you've a car and one day is not enough to spend on the Dead Sea, then this hostel is a perfect choice. It's clean and the rooms are very decent. Breakfast is quite good too.
Yes, there're lots of teenagers around, but there was no trouble for us there.
Walking distance from the hostel is a nice local pub "Musa" where you can have a pint of beer and some good food too.
Price was 100$ per night, but it seems those are the good deals you can get in Israel:)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

husband and i stayed Thurs and Fri nights in mid-Oct. used as base for dead sea excursion. had car too. it was perfect. clean room and nice breakfast. Walk to town center. There may not have been anyone else there Fri night. Thanks Naomi and rest

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank les96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The standard of cleanliness was high and the rooms, being chalet style, were private and tranquil. As in most youth hostels in Israel, the sheets were far too small and kept falling off me. They might be the right size sheets for children but not for adults.

Room Tip: When booking specify that you want a quiet room away from groups of teenagers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We traveled to the Dead see in June and decided to spend one night in Arad. We booked a triple room and the breakfast was included. Instead, we were assigned a dormitory for 8 people, with 4 bunk beds, which did not correspond to the description and the pictures posted on a popular booking page.The bathroom and bed sheets cleanliness was poor.
The YH complex was quiet and we could neverthelss have a good sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

i have stayed here very recently. the food was quite nice.the room i stayed in could have up to 5 people staying in so it was very big. i didn't like the showers but i'm very fussy. they had a good tv and i could i actully watch tv i enjoyed.the area outside my room was very nice. there was free wifi outside so i could sit there on the internet. it also had a very good air con.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sunshine900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

The rooms were very nice, and the hostel was definitely better than some of the hotels I visited in Israel. Staff were very friendly and provided excellent service. They were fast when responding to requests, and were extremely friendly. This was the place I visited in Israel that I felt the most welcome. The rooms were clean, very large, and quite spatious. The landscaping was very beautiful, and the rooms had excellent views. Thir dinner was pretty good as well. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the second floor. It has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dxg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We arrived in Arad after touring the biblical sites in the Shephelah related to the life of Shimshon. As we arrived in the Negev there was a great sandstorm. Visibility was rather low. We had supper in Beer Sheva and headed to Arad. We arrived prior to Shabbat beginning. The staff left early due to Shabbat. The place was clean and quite comfortable. The grounds seemed to be well maintained and the buildings immaculate.The landscaping around the property is beautiful. There are places nearby to get food. A group of Israeli high school children occupying three coach buses was also staying at the hostel. The older Israeli teens held a Shabbos service in the dining hall. The hostel area was rather noisy but expected with that many teens being on the grounds. That evening the rain began to pour and continued for the next day and a half. The staff related that it was the annual rain, the only one they would get. Later in the evening someone brought food by that we would be able to eat for our breakfast. The portions for our group of 7 was quite generous and good food. The youth hostel was rather easy to find with our gps. Upon leaving the following day we had difficulty due to construction on the main road into Arad. Our gps could not seem to cope with giving us a usable detour. Once the construction is finished I am sure it will be easy to come and go from the hostel.

Room Tip: The upper floor units allow you to get good air circulation provided there is not a sandstorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bapreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arad
9.6 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
16.7 mi away
Ein Gedi Hotel
Ein Gedi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ein Gedi
404 reviews
9.8 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inbar Hotel
Inbar Hotel
#1 of 4 in Arad
126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Desert Bird
Desert Bird
#4 of 9 in Arad
8 reviews
0.4 mi away
Desert View _ Cohen House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Arad Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Arad Hostel

Property: HI Arad Hostel
Address: 4 Ha Atad | P.O Box 34, Arad 8904000, Israel
Region: Israel > Southern District > Arad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Arad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your HI Arad Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing