We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this opportunity !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desertvision Hostel
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Arad
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I highly recommend staying at Desert Vision with it's friendly family atmosphere and interesting creative staff . I have travelled far and wide and this experience was by far one of the most interesting .
Make a point of asking your female host to take you round the gallery and ask her for a guided tour the fabulous art installations .
It's a short walk from the shopping centre where you can buy almost anything you need .
The dormitory is rather like a Bedouin tent , comfy and peaceful.
I hope to get the chance to return one day . It's a great place to create .. if that's your bag !
Happy travels !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phyllipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

i stayed at Desertvision in march 2014 and it was a wonderful experience! The place is magic. I loved the art installations and the feeling of being in the middle of a creative work prozess! The yard is beautiful and the staff is so lovely and helpful. The place has a very cosey sleeping room, where i felt like sleeping in a tent in the desert. I am definately going there again!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank samirah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The idea running a hostel within an artist's workshop is great, however, we didn't liked the actual realization. We had the feeling, we are disturbing our host and felt not very welcome. The location in fact is a huge storage building in an industrial area far off. Facilities were quite poor (e.g., one shower for all guests, most furnitures are cobbled from bulky items etc.). Even though we are usually staying at simple places, we would not book this place again also because it was, for that what you finally get, quite expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Max347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The staff is really friendly. The rooms are located in an art gallery. The beds make you really feel like you are in the desert, surrounded by nothing but rocks. The hostel gives you a warm feeling. staff is direct but nice

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nhung2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Arad to go to Masada and the Dead Sea (Ein Bokek and En Gedi). It was a wonderful hostel and a whole different experience than the busy, larger hostels. You stay in one big room with 11 others. We got to know all the other visitors, because we sat around the big oven in the room to stay warm and you can eat breakfast together (it was included). You can also go to the supermarket and cook yourself dinner. The hosts were very nice and gave us advice where to go and what to do. It was an art gallery. Him and his wife are the artists. It's recommended to have a car, especially on Shabat. Stores close and public transportation stop running Friday at 2 and open Sunday again. It's about half an hour to Masada and Ein Gedi is 10 min further up the road.
All in all very good experience!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Inge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

t unsettling when you arrive as Desert vision is on the outskirts of Arad in an area that could be the industrial zone. However, once you're through the door, you enter an art galery and the welcome is amazing. We had dinner with our hosts as they had some friends over for the weekend. She's a great cook and we had a great evening discovering the Isreali hospitality. Overall, this is the place for you if you are looking for a friendly, welcoming place where you're made to feel at home but if you're looking for luxury, you should go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZeConstantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

On the road to Eilat (from Jerusalem) we decided to stop in the desert to go off the beaten tracks and to rest far from Ein Bokek tourist area.
So thanks to Trip Advisor we found this hostel. Located in the tourist quarter (you need a car to go their or be prepare to walk a long distance) you will fin a very friendly guest house with everything you need (wifi, PC, full equiped kitchen, confortable beds, a nice living room, a wonderful terrace and a huge artists' art collection). The hosts are amazing with a high hospitaliy level. We spend the night with them and their friends for Sabbath. It was unexpected but memorable. Go ! evening with them and their friends for Shabbat

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Worldtriper_Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arad hotels
2.3 mi away
Dead Sea Adventure Hostel
6 mi away
Kfar Hanokdim
Kfar Hanokdim
#1 of 10 in Arad
153 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zimmer Barzilay
Zimmer Barzilay
#4 of 10 in Arad
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Oasis Negev
Oasis Negev
#8 of 9 in Arad
11 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inbar Hotel
Inbar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arad
133 reviews
2.3 mi away
Villa 1000
Villa 1000
#4 of 9 in Arad
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desertvision Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desertvision Hostel

Address: Hasdan 9, Arad 95096, Israel
Region: Israel > Southern District > Arad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Arad
Price Range: £15 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desertvision is an artistiqe khan situated in the middle of the artist's colony of Arad city, south Judaea Desert. The closest point to Dead sea and Masada mountain. 20 minutes drive. The khan is art and design oriented. Two big dorms of 11 beds each and two private rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing