We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expedia strikes out again, this time with Inbar Hotel.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inbar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inbar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arad
UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Expedia strikes out again, this time with Inbar Hotel.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Decided at the last minute to go to Israel for the first time over the New Year. We booked via Expedia, Hotel Inbar, in Arad. It was the only hotel we could book on the system as all of the others appeared fully booked.

We wanted to visit the Dead Sea and some of the regional tourist attractions and it stated on the Expedia text that the Dead Sea was about 30 minutes from Arad. Mostly true.

Before I even go into my review, I want to warn any tourist travelling to Israel or at least to this hotel; don't do a trip on the internet!!! Go with a package tour where you have a guide.

Even though I was very impressed with the infrastructure that Israel has which definitely places it on my list of civilized tourist destinations, if English is you’re communicating language, expect lots of problems.

Combining this review of the hotel with our general experience;

On arrival we took the shuttle bus from Tel Aviv airport. We demonstrated the itinerary, but they can't read English because Hebrew is a totally different structure. We were dropped off at Hotel INBAL in Jerusalem and not Hotel INBAR in Arad. 2 Hours in the opposite direction.

The driver dumped us saying it was not his fault and we had to find our way to Arad at a taxi cost of $150. So much for the Israeli attitude to tourists.

We arrived at Inbar Hotel, Arad, to find that we did not have a reservation via Expedia. We had to pay a holding deposit of $100 to be allowed the last available room in the hotel - and the worst worn out room.

I then spent over 1 hour on the phone to Connecticut (rerouted to the far east call center) to hear Expedia say that the hotel was at fault because they can't contact them and the hotel contested that it was not the first time that they had problems with Expedia. As a bottom line on this saga, Expedia were probably right, the hotel had such primitive systems and themselves went through an agent that was not a 24 hour agent. Meanwhile, I, the customer, of both Expedia and Inbar had to give the telephone number of the hotel so they could communicate with each other.

Failing all of that we then tried to make the best of it and get on with our break.

Inbar hotel has no balconies and by law is smoke free. The breakfast is free but pathetic. Dinner is OK but expensive for what it is.

Reception staff are semi-conscious and do only the minimum.

We asked for a bus schedule to go to the Dead Sea daily. We missed the bus on the last day because we later realized that the schedule was for one day only. Nothing happens in Arad so it is important to have clear communications from the hotel to get out of there - but alas no.

When you check into your room the television won't work, so don't spend half an hour trying to test the leads. The problem is you have to deposit money to take a remote control from reception that they did not mention to us. Another stupid inconvenience.

The hotel reception is a dirty looking place but the only place to receive Wi Fi, nevertheless free.

On a positive note, everything worked in the room, with a little improvisation.

Good heating when required, hot water, no electricity problems, small bathroom with a shower and a real bath (no plug but put a sock in place and you have a good daily bath), fridge, coffee facilities and safe. All the basics in a depressing environment for survival. Maid service was very efficient.

If anything goes wrong, the hero of a maintenance man turns up almost immediately to fix anything.

If you stay here, introduce yourself to the Restaurant manager and the Security man/doorman. They look after you and give you tourist advice. Forget reception.

All in all, a dismal badly managed hotel that serves as a transit stop mostly in a town where nothing happens and the only way to have a holiday is to get a bus or taxi out to other parts.

Try to get a bus as the taxis drive so dangerously between Arad and the Dead Sea on the mountainous roads. Two near accidents during our stay. No police monitoring for dangerous driving.

Finally, skip Arad if you go to Israel and definitely skip Inbar unless you are just in transit.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms and not the old ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dciaccounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    27
    35
    11
    7
See reviews for
21
20
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Good food (amazing selection), friendly service, convenient location, nice little indoor pool with Dead Sea water. The room was huge by Israeli standards. The hotel staff was not sufficiently knowledgeable about the attractions of the city, but we found them on our own: for starters, the Glass Museum and the Doll Museum in the artists quarter (make sure you meet the artists themselves, who give quirky guided tours), and the Tumarkin lookout over the desert.

Arad, in general is a hidden gem. It's just a short drive to the Dead Sea and Masada, while being much less pricey and touristy. Nice breeze at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilasays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramathasharon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

Who wants to be close to the Dead Sea, Low budget but a short drive away to the dead sea 25min.
Also close to the Museum of Glass in arad city.
Great location for those seeking to combine trips Desert and the Dead Sea.
Good food buffet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yuval e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I picked Inbar hotel because of its location: less than 20 miles downhill to the Dead Sea.
There is plenty of hotels at the beach of Dead Sea, but they cost 3x or more.
The hotel itself is average but then I am not very picky. I only need a clean place to sleep.

NEGATIVES:1) wi-fi works only within 10 m radius from the router. 2) room phones only dial 0. If you don't have a local cell phone, your only option is a payphone in the lobby (you need to buy a card). The reason: apparently, some time ago Russian tourists called up thousands of dollars worth and left without paying.

POSITIVES: 1) very helpful staff - just be nice to them and they will be nice to you. 2) very good food.

Things to do: when going to Masada - do not take cable car and do not take Roman path. Instead, if you are able, hike the Jewish trail from the east. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Try not to arrive on Saturday during daytime. You can check in but you can't go to the room bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank memsofit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mbabane, Swaziland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This is one of my favourate places.
I liked the whole set up preticularly the rooms.
I was there last year room 418 and this year room 380
I observed that electric current is regulated by the use of electronic cards.
The beds were neatly and nicely made, tolet clean with a few things a traveler would need
The restaurant is nice ,every space was used as the people increase
The supply of food was endless and all very tasty and nice
There is a shopping area down the road too
I look forward to coming back here again next year

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MgdaleneI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huizen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Inbar is a good hotel in the center of Arad. We first looked at two other hotels in the outskirts of Arad but those were more expensive, worse rooms with unpolite desk service.
Breakfast is very rich and employees are friendly.
You can make a nice trip to Massada where you can climb to the pateau. This is much more rewarding than the cable from the east side.
For the rest there is not much to do in Arad.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dirk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

The "InBar" in Arad should be a perfect initial point for trips around the Dead Sea and to the Negev. In remembering a one-day-stay 12 years ago we booked one week over Pessah at this location. This was the wrong decision.
Our opinion about the "InBar" - nothing new, style of the seventies, W-Lan without function, big and uncomfortable breakfast-room, no services, unkind stuff with only one extemption:
the guard, a two-meter-man, was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShimonRolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arad hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arad
9.7 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
9.7 mi away
Leonardo Inn Hotel Dead Sea
Leonardo Inn Hotel Dead Sea
#14 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
17.1 mi away
Ein Gedi Hotel
Ein Gedi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ein Gedi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hod Hamidbar Resort and Spa Hotel
10.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#11 of 17 in Ein Bokek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa 1000
Villa 1000
#3 of 9 in Arad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inbar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inbar Hotel

Property: Inbar Hotel
Address: 38 Yehuda, Arad 8905813, Israel
Region: Israel > Southern District > Arad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inbar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Inbar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inbar Hotel Arad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing