We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Inbar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inbar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arad
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This hotel was chosen by the tour company I used so I had no control over choosing another hotel. It was in a shabby, dirty part of Arad. The hotel needed cleaning outside e.g. windows and the whole area of pavements etc., Room was a good size and they now provide tea/coffee making facilities. Remember to take a universal plug with you (!) for the bath. The breakfast was adequate but the "British" food which should have been hot was barely warm e.g. eggs. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McKenzie004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    27
    35
    11
    8
See reviews for
21
20
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We searched for about a month for a place near the Dead sea for our easter trip, and this was what we could find available. It turned out to be very expensive for the 9 persons, since not only was the double rooms 200$ / night x 3, but we had to pay 50$ extra x 3 rooms to have a small couch opened up.
It is close to Dead sea, so easy to get here after a day at Masada and the beach.
They did recommend a very good place (a nearby sports bar) for dinner, which we all loved, including all children.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank futtrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arad hotels

Jerusalem
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The hotel has a very good location to visit sights in the Neguev, even though there isn't much to see in Arad itself. The common areas of the hotel are acceptable, but the rooms are rather small and shabby - although everything worked properly. Food for dinner and breakfast was very good, with many choices. The spa is wonderful, with sauna, a warm Dead Sea water pool and another fresh water swimming pool. Staff was generally OK, with two exceptions: Ms. Polina, the young lady at the reception desk was extremely efficient, polite and kind, apart from being fluent at least in Hebrew, Russian and English; Mr. Suleiman, the dining room manager was unacceptably rude on two occasions.

When I arrived on Friday 12 April in the afternoon, Ms. Polina was trying to solve a problem with the sauna while receiving new guests; as the problem was not immediately solved, although the clients it affected didn't complain, Mr. Suleiman yelled at Ms. Polina in front of several guests in a very rude way. Later on, at dinner, a gentleman asked my permission to share my table, as the hotel caters mainly to groups and there were only a few small tables; of course, I agreed; the gentleman, a tourist guide, was a friend of Mr. Suleiman, who sat at our table without asking my permission for doing so, ate his supper at a time when he should be working, talked to his friend in a language I cannot understand although there were two other languages common to the three of us and then left without even saying goodbye to me. In my opinion, the management of Inbar Hotel should give a course on good manners to Mr. Suliman to teach him how to behave both to female coworkers and to female guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miriam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We selected the Inbar based on geography. We wanted a hotel close to an activity we planned at both Massada and the Dead Sea. The Inbar appeared to be an affordable option as it did not have any minimum night stays - compared to the surrounding kibbutz and hotels near the dead sea.

Arad is about 25 minutes from the Dead Sea - up hill on a curvy road that circles the mountains of the desert. Arad itself is a clean city. Inbar leaves much to be desired.

1. At check-in we had reserved 3 rooms. 2 were connecting and 1 was independent. At 2:30 pm only 2 out of 3 rooms were available. In addition, we asked if the rooms were no smoking. We were told that connecting rooms are smoking rooms but that they won't smell. The 3rd room wasn't ready because the slobs that had stayed their the night before had still not checked out of their room!
2. Front desk people seemed nice. Lior told us that if we didn't like the room, he would invite us to his home (not seriously, just as a gesture). We believed him. Unfortunately, when we returned to the hotel after 5pm, the room was ready but the cigarette smell was horrific!
3. Mattresses were comfortable. We opened the windows in the room to air them out. It helped a little bit.
4. TV remotes was difficult to figure out but when it worked, it was fine.
5. Cleaning crew did a terrible job. I don't even think they vacuumed.
6. They do not have hair dryers. Instead they want you to leave them a $20 deposit which they will return when you return their hair dryer.
7. On the plus side - if you use American style electric - they have outlets in the bathroom - no converter needed.
8. Great location. You can walk to restaurants and shopping mall and easy access to roads that lead to Massada and Dead Sea.

Overall - I would not stay there again unless they made it a non smoking hotel and redid the carpets and all the finishes to get rid of the smell. For one night it was okay. Very dissapointed!!!

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking! Find out what time your room will be ready.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fam4ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesarea, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed in Arad on Sunday, 1/20/13. Hotel Inbar is the only option nowadays for non-religious people. Margoa is closed for renovation.
Inbar is a nice outfit, modern, and clean.
TV is fine, though you need some engineering skills to turn it on first, and then switch with the same remote control to the Satellite converter.
The mattress - at least in my room - was the sore point. It was old, sinking in the middle, and "singing" at every turn. (The springs were scratching each other - a clear sign of old age).
Pricey, at least when considering it is just Arad, not Paris or London.

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist - maybe she knows of a specific room that has newer mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Decided at the last minute to go to Israel for the first time over the New Year. We booked via Expedia, Hotel Inbar, in Arad. It was the only hotel we could book on the system as all of the others appeared fully booked.

We wanted to visit the Dead Sea and some of the regional tourist attractions and it stated on the Expedia text that the Dead Sea was about 30 minutes from Arad. Mostly true.

Before I even go into my review, I want to warn any tourist travelling to Israel or at least to this hotel; don't do a trip on the internet!!! Go with a package tour where you have a guide.

Even though I was very impressed with the infrastructure that Israel has which definitely places it on my list of civilized tourist destinations, if English is you’re communicating language, expect lots of problems.

Combining this review of the hotel with our general experience;

On arrival we took the shuttle bus from Tel Aviv airport. We demonstrated the itinerary, but they can't read English because Hebrew is a totally different structure. We were dropped off at Hotel INBAL in Jerusalem and not Hotel INBAR in Arad. 2 Hours in the opposite direction.

The driver dumped us saying it was not his fault and we had to find our way to Arad at a taxi cost of $150. So much for the Israeli attitude to tourists.

We arrived at Inbar Hotel, Arad, to find that we did not have a reservation via Expedia. We had to pay a holding deposit of $100 to be allowed the last available room in the hotel - and the worst worn out room.

I then spent over 1 hour on the phone to Connecticut (rerouted to the far east call center) to hear Expedia say that the hotel was at fault because they can't contact them and the hotel contested that it was not the first time that they had problems with Expedia. As a bottom line on this saga, Expedia were probably right, the hotel had such primitive systems and themselves went through an agent that was not a 24 hour agent. Meanwhile, I, the customer, of both Expedia and Inbar had to give the telephone number of the hotel so they could communicate with each other.

Failing all of that we then tried to make the best of it and get on with our break.

Inbar hotel has no balconies and by law is smoke free. The breakfast is free but pathetic. Dinner is OK but expensive for what it is.

Reception staff are semi-conscious and do only the minimum.

We asked for a bus schedule to go to the Dead Sea daily. We missed the bus on the last day because we later realized that the schedule was for one day only. Nothing happens in Arad so it is important to have clear communications from the hotel to get out of there - but alas no.

When you check into your room the television won't work, so don't spend half an hour trying to test the leads. The problem is you have to deposit money to take a remote control from reception that they did not mention to us. Another stupid inconvenience.

The hotel reception is a dirty looking place but the only place to receive Wi Fi, nevertheless free.

On a positive note, everything worked in the room, with a little improvisation.

Good heating when required, hot water, no electricity problems, small bathroom with a shower and a real bath (no plug but put a sock in place and you have a good daily bath), fridge, coffee facilities and safe. All the basics in a depressing environment for survival. Maid service was very efficient.

If anything goes wrong, the hero of a maintenance man turns up almost immediately to fix anything.

If you stay here, introduce yourself to the Restaurant manager and the Security man/doorman. They look after you and give you tourist advice. Forget reception.

All in all, a dismal badly managed hotel that serves as a transit stop mostly in a town where nothing happens and the only way to have a holiday is to get a bus or taxi out to other parts.

Try to get a bus as the taxis drive so dangerously between Arad and the Dead Sea on the mountainous roads. Two near accidents during our stay. No police monitoring for dangerous driving.

Finally, skip Arad if you go to Israel and definitely skip Inbar unless you are just in transit.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms and not the old ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dciaccounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Good food (amazing selection), friendly service, convenient location, nice little indoor pool with Dead Sea water. The room was huge by Israeli standards. The hotel staff was not sufficiently knowledgeable about the attractions of the city, but we found them on our own: for starters, the Glass Museum and the Doll Museum in the artists quarter (make sure you meet the artists themselves, who give quirky guided tours), and the Tumarkin lookout over the desert.

Arad, in general is a hidden gem. It's just a short drive to the Dead Sea and Masada, while being much less pricey and touristy. Nice breeze at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilasays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arad
9.7 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
17.1 mi away
Ein Gedi Hotel
Ein Gedi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ein Gedi
395 reviews
9.7 mi away
Leonardo Inn Hotel Dead Sea
Leonardo Inn Hotel Dead Sea
#13 of 17 in Ein Bokek
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hod Hamidbar Resort and Spa Hotel
10.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#10 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,162 reviews
11.0 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#2 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inbar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inbar Hotel

Property: Inbar Hotel
Address: 38 Yehuda, Arad 8905813, Israel
Region: Israel > Southern District > Arad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Arad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inbar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inbar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inbar Hotel Arad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing