We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tasty leisurely meal on the sea”
Review of Scubar

Scubar
Ranked #17 of 54 Restaurants in Ashkelon
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ashkelon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A tasty leisurely meal on the sea”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We like going to Scoobar for its tasty fresh fish dishes and the lovely sea side location at the Ashkelon marina. We ordered our "regular" small fried fish platter. To our disappointment we received a fried fillets of frozen red mullet. The shift manager, however, was very accommodating (after we complained) cancelled the order and had us order something else. Well, we ordered a fresh fish baked in herbs fish that was excellent. It is to the credit of a restaurant that if something goes wrong, the staff knows and is willing to correct a situation to the satisfaction of their customers.We will be back and will order that fish platter again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bracha t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    39
    22
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The food was very tasty and the service was excellent. The waitress was especially helpful in making sure my wife and daughter had gluten free options.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashkelon, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“scoobar is a great place day and night!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

If you are looking for a place to sit and hang out with some friends or family I would highly recommend it. its right at the marina, when the weather is nice you can relax outside, it usually has great music, sometimes they bring bands to play live.
they serve quality drinks, tasty food ...I really love to go there!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pashpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food and ammusement”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Read some good and bad things about this bar/restaurant.
Desided to check it for myselve, and I can just say, that what I have eaten and drunk was good in the 3 times I went to there.
Only minus point was that the table is having is own waiter... but this is normal in Israël.
For the rest, I had nothing to complain in this bar/restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marky_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tortona, Piemonte, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food is good but service is very bad”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Nice fresh fish food but the service is very bad.
Waiters are young girls with no experience.
You have to wait long time before serving you and they also sometimes make confusion with the orders.
They have 9 kind of beers by draft, and this is nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniele Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scubar also viewed

Ashkelon, Southern District
Ashkelon, Southern District
 
Ashkelon, Southern District
Ashkelon, Southern District
 

Been to Scubar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing