We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The SnowMansion Taos Hostel Ski Lodge Inn & Campground
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
El Pueblo Lodge(Taos)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Taos Inn(Taos)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Fonda de Taos(Taos)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
El Monte Sagrado(Taos)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
30
23
6
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
23
6
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal kitchenlush gardensprivate bathroomother guestsbunk bedsmemorial day weekendsmall donationshared roomsabominableskiaccommodationsconsdesklodgefireplacepueblo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I have actually stayed here before, and loved it, and was looking forward to another stay. So we booked a room for a night, and were made totally aware of the cancellation policy (no refunds).

Then, we were caught in the severe flooding that took place in Boulder earlier this year. For obvious reasons, our travel plans changed. But when we called to see if they'd make an exception to their refund policy for flood victims, we were told no. I was pretty baffled, but preoccupied with other things, so I followed up later with a phone call and email. Still haven't heard any response.

It's only $28 bucks, and really it's the least of our worries. But it was extremely disappointing and left me with a really bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
6  Thank kjsharp83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnowManNewMexico, Owner at The SnowMansion Taos Hostel Ski Lodge Inn & Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

I am glad you stayed here before and enjoyed it. I hope you will stay here again and I am sure you will enjoy it. As you know, when cancelling with short notice, you are responsible for the entire cost of stay. However, because it was due to a well documented natural disaster, we did not hold you to the balance due. We lost half of the cost of stay and you lost half of the cost of stay. This is fair.

I am sorry again that your travel plans were interrupted by the flooding in Boulder. I hope you visit us again soon.

Best regards,
Amu
575-776-8298

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed at the Snow Mansion as a base to run our art project and immediately fell in love with the warmth and community based at the hostel. Wonderful living space, clean rooms, great well stocked kitchen full of every utensil you would ever need to cook inside or outside on the campfire ( when the fire ban is lifted) and amazing organic garden and space to camp in tents or in a Tippee! Everyone should spend at least a night if not more, to soak in the high desert mountain air, visit a hot water spring or just enjoy the bustling village of Arroyo Seco. Fantastic for families - our two boys loved the garden and company. Perfect base to visit all the sights and sounds of new Mexico.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This hostel is very laid back, old-school style. It feels like you are staying in someone's home. A lot of people come in for skiing but there is plenty to do in Taos (hot springs, pueblos, gorge, snowmobiling, etc..).

The Taos Vortex sucked me in for New Years when we sat around sipping wine by the fireplace in the lodge. I left for a few days and came back again only to get stuck longer than expected. Not a problem!

The dorms are large enough that you don't feel cramped. There is a pool table, piano, and hang out areas. Two kitchens - one with tv and video games and a campfire area outside. Arroyo Seco is a cute little town with a few shops and a bar or two. Very local feel.

There is a donation box for homemade soups and herbal teas and someone is always cooking something.

Don't expect anything fancy and be patient with the office hours (it seems that they are closed more than they are open). Be aware there are two cats as well :) Overall a really charming place that you should visit. Skip the hotels and save some cash - you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amberenergy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I recently had a delightful stay at this little hostel nestled in the mountains slightly north of Taos in the town of Arroyo Seco. The rooms are comfy and cozy and the prices are reasonable. There is free internet and a charming common area. The kitchen area is clean, and the other guests were friendly. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. I look forward to going back sometime in the summer to see their vegetable garden. It is close to good eating establishments and some nice artist shops.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Great "base camp" for outdoor adventuring. Comfortable building adapted for housing a lot of people. Communal meals available for a donation. There are a lot of long termers living here, working on an organic farm that is in the back (I found the few that whined about how hard it was absolutely hilarious after seeing the actual size of the land), so there's a bit of a commune atmosphere, but i did not find them stand-offish. Common room can get loud and partish, but everyone was good about keeping quiet hours. Bunks and bathrooms are very basic.

Room Tip: You WILL need reservations during the 2 Taos "high" seasons in summer and winter.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenkism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews