We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just great ice cream!”
Review of Taos Cow

Taos Cow
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Arroyo Seco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“More than just great ice cream!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The ice cream is great! But so are the breakfast burritos and the breakfast sandwich. You can get coffee here too. The place has free WiFi and electrical outlets so you can plug in your laptop. I love to linger here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blaize S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    77
    22
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gunnison, CO
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Mostly Disappointed”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I dined here for a late lunch and ordered the Gyros sandwich (minus pita bread and chips). The best part was the bed of lettuce, feta cheese, and side of Thai coleslaw - those items were fresh and well prepared. The gyros meat, however, was a disaster - it was thin, luke warm, and cooked like bacon (?!) so the small portion size for the price was probably a relief. I was pleased by the female manager's response when I offered my feedback after the meal - her manner was
thoughtful and kind, offering a complimentary mini scoop of ice cream. The ice cream flavors looked inviting yet the raspberry scoop I had was nothing extraordinary (Note: I have been
spoiled by ice cream from the Oberweiss Dairy in the Chicago area).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for breakfast on the way to the ski valley!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Taos Cow is an Arroyo Seco institution. I love this little place! Yes, the service can be a bit slow (sometimes there's only a couple of people behind the counter, with one of them making all the food) and the place can get crazy crowded, but you need to embrace the mellow, hippie vibe of the place, relax and enjoy the delicious food and ice cream. We come here every time (and usually multiple times) when we visit Taos as it's a convenient place to stop for breakfast on the way to skiing. My favorite breakfast item is the migas--depending on the cook it will turn out different ways but the green chile is usually nice and hot and it's an awesome egg dish. They have great vegetarian options and even a couple of vegan options too. And the ice cream is divine, even on a cold day.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream Ever!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stopped here on a whim, not really knowing much about it. This charming little town is about 10 miles outside Taos. Somehow, in all my trips to Taos, I'd never gotten over to "Seco" as the locals call it. I am REALLY picky about ice cream and usually find most of what I try to be too artificial tasting. They had several unique flavors here, along with regular favorites. I had 3 samples and of those I chose the lavender vanilla. Wow--it was incredibly delicious!!! I will definitely be going back. If you love ice cream, don't miss Taos Cow!!! They also have breakfast and lunch items available, and EVERYTHING is homemade.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dreamtime20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super Amazing”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

They have the best ice cream. We drove 20 miles out of our way when we saw where it was on the map!!! It's a cute little place. If we wouldn't have had dinner we would have probably ate there to! We just spent $40 on ice cream ;)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CLopezSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taos Cow also viewed

Arroyo Seco, Taos County
Arroyo Seco, Taos County
 

Been to Taos Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing