We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small village with great potential” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Juha's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Juha's Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 2 Caesarea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“small village with great potential”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We met nice stuff who recomended us many nice places to see in this little village which is still untached by tourists. We foud very interesting the work of volunteers who were making english translations of the main shops and places of interest in the city.
Very nice local people. Everyone plays pool and domino...we also played with them :)
Great local food, beaches and surfing (in close Caesaera)!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    12
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
21
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

In the village you feel like you're in a different world, it's like an island surrounded by Israel. The people are incredibly friendly and helpful and the guesthouse is a really cute place where you immediately feel at home. The facilities are new and clean, everything is arranged with lots of love.
When you go out of town kilometers of lonely, beautiful beach are waiting for you.
Definitely the perfect place for some relaxed days!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ines M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

When asking directions to this town don't be put off by people's surprised looks and replies like 'are you sure that's where your going?' 'why are you going there!'... this is all part of the experience!! Plus you can look back on this after your stay and realise that reputations are often very wrong!
Had a lovely stay here, open-minded people up for a bit of an adventure in a town off the beaten track will love it. Hung around soaking it up for a couple of nights. Beautiful beach, helpful lovely owners/staff at the guesthouse, interesting town with yummy arab food! Still dreaming of the Pita and Zatar breakfast here!
I recommend coming with a good book - there's not an awful lot to do, but this is part of the appeal, its a relaxing place to stay.
I really enjoyed sitting in the cosy, beach like hostel front room and reading the art/photography book an Israeli artist had produced about the residents of Jisr Az Zarqa - definitely worth a flick through! Also ask if the exhibition is still on near the guesthouse.
One other thing I remember is the help I got from the lovely lady who co-manages the place with navigating buses when I was leaving and heading north, she went out of her way to help me find my way!
I keep mentioning this place to anyone heading to Israel who would enjoy something alternative - just go!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellaglasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Palestinian Territories
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This place is definitely a keeper in my inventory for places to stay in Israel proper!

Jisr az-Zarqa is one of the few (if not the only) Palestinian village(s) on the Mediterranean Coast that did not get expelled and erased during the First Arab-Israeli War of 1948-49. While being a perfect example for the State's neglect of which Palestinian communities suffer within Israel's borders, it somehow helped Jisr Az Zarqa to keep its uniquely Arab-Palestinian flavour.

The untouched and postcard-like beach, the welcoming and (almost overly) hospitable people (we got invited for two local weddings within four days of stay!), and not the least the charming and tasteful DIY-style in which the hostel is built, all contribute to the extraordinary charm of this place.

The rooms are basic, but with all the necessities one might need. The small kitchen and lounge-esque room are charming (including trust-based payment for food and drinks). Everything including the bathroom facilities are kept clean.

The breakfast is simple, tasty, and authentic (Manakeesh [sort of focaccia with thyme and olive oil], Labaneh [yogurtish cream cheese], vegetables). Dinner can be arranged with a local family to experience traditional Palestinian cuisine long from falafel and hummus. Otherwise, there is little for the culinary connoisseur.

Finally its proximity to touristy and upper-class Caesarea (which highlights the stark contrast to the governmental negligence of Jisr az Zarqa) and not the least to the lovely coastal city of Haifa are definitely an asset to make it a base to discover the northern coast.

Thanks Neta and Ahmed for the lovely stay we had, and thanks to all of Jisr az Zarqa for making our retreat this special as it was!

Room Tip: Both double rooms are lovely. The dorm does its job, but due to its proximity to the bus stop it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Its not often that we get to glimpse life in an Arab village in Israel, let alone a close look, from the inside. Most people here in Israel have not. Most People wouldn’t even dream of it. We did.
Ever since we heard of the Guesthouse project in Zarka, we have waited for the chance to stay there. Eve of Israel Independence day turned out to be an excellent chance. The guesthouse and the village were Very nice, the beach – absolute heaven.
Jisaar is one of the poorest villages in Israel. It may not be the cleanest, or the most beautiful of villages, we loved it. It was authentic, alive, friendly noisy and dynamic. Everywhere we went from the men sitting on the Terrasa under the guest house, the people in the grocery store, the falafel stand and the old women in the vegetable store, the school kids on the street, everyone was smiling. The guest house is situated in the middle of the village, so if you are looking for peace and quiet this is probably not the place for you. For us it was perfect. The room is basic but clean and comfortable. There is a large sitting area, a well equipped kitchen and the bathrooms are spotless. We had dinner at a local family's house, for 50 NIS we got excellent plenty of local home cooked Arab food, served with lots of friendly smiles.
The beach is a 3 minute drive away, 10 minute walk from the center of the village. I hesitate whether to write more about the beach.
I could mention that it is one of the most beautiful beaches in Israel. I could tell you about the fisherman's gorgeous rocky lagoon. I could describe it as the closest thing to a Sinai beach I Have been to in years. But I think I would prefer to keep it as our special secret so not everyone rushes there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

★★★★★ very welcoming place. generous people. vital village. one of the most silent beaches in israel. recommended to walk northwards on the beach, and meet the variety of birds which are coming from the nearby fish pools

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yonatanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had a great time at Juha's Guesthouse in Jisr az-Zarqa. It was a perfect mix of laid-back and relaxed hospitality, and attention given to care, clean and comfortable rooms, beautiful design and safe atmosphere. We were looked after, but not pushed to do anything.

We had some meals out in town, some we cooked, and we went to Haefa's hose for a delicious meal one night. I also came back the next day to learn some recipes from her.

Neta and Ahmed were great hosts with lots of tips and information, and went out of their way to make sure we were having a good time. Thank you!!

Room Tip: Dorms were really fine. If there's pots and pans missing from the kitchen, ask downstairs at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caesarea
2.6 mi away
Dan Hotels Caesaria
Dan Hotels Caesaria
#1 of 2 in Caesarea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Beit Maimon
Hotel Beit Maimon
#2 of 3 in Zichron Yaakov
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
3.6 mi away
Elma Arts Complex Luxury Hotel
Elma Arts Complex Luxury Hotel
#1 of 3 in Zichron Yaakov
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
3.1 mi away
Casa Caesarea
Casa Caesarea
#1 of 2 in Caesarea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beach Front House
Beach Front House
#1 of 3 in Caesarea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juha's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juha's Guesthouse

Property: Juha's Guesthouse
Address: Jisr az Zarqa | In the Arab fishermen's village of Jisr az Zarqa. next to Caesarea, Caesarea 37858, Israel
Region: Israel > Haifa District > Caesarea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Caesarea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly & clean small guesthouse, located in the center of Jisr az Zarqa. Experience the authentic atmosphere of an Israeli Arab fishermen's village on a dreamy beach (5 min walking), hike the popular "Israel Trail," visit Caesarea (a 30 minute hike/ 5 min by car), and the "Crocodile Stream Nature Reserve" (a 10 min hike). 40 min from Tel Aviv, 25 min from Haifa. True backpackers vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Juha's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing