We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic room, good food”
Review of Ein Gedi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ein Gedi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ein Gedi
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Rooms are basic with older amenities but comfortable. Staff helpful and attentive. Rooms did not have any shampoo, soap. Asked for them to be delivered (each day) and they were promptly delivered.

Restaurant serves great food buffet style.

Bonus of having zoo. Kids loved wandering around. Botanical gardens also fantastic

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wagumbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Ein Gedi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

Our friends booked us into the privatised Kibbutz Ein Gedi resort for a Bar Mitzvah on Masada in Dec 2012. We had a small suite for a family of 3 - in a terrace block with a small sitting area outside the French doors overlooking the garden/mountain views. It was nice enough, but the bathroom was not as modern as the newer rooms (which were also nicer) in the main hotel blocks.
The sofa was turned into an extra bed - a double bed - for our daughter so this made the living room quite cramp with little room to walk around the "bed" itself. Having in-room Wi-Fi was great.
We ate in the Dining Room for breakfast and dinner, reminiscent of how a Kibbutz used to be - I suppose, and the food was excellent. We learnt a little bit about Kibbutz life and how Ein Gedi came into being during the afternoon complimentary tour of the Botanical Garden. The guide took us around the modern Kibbutz of Ein Gedi - and it was a very good experence as we had never been to Israel before nor did we know very much about the country.
The Ein Gedi Spa and Dead Sea area required a shuttle bus down, and this operated hourly. The Spa centre provided towels, lockers and shower facilities - free for hotel guests. The Mud area and the hot thermal water showers are just at the Spa centre although it's a VERY long walk down to the Dead Sea itself, so you might as well wait for the shuttle which runs every 15 mins to take you down to the water itself. Beware of the very sharp crystallised rocks as you walk into the Dea Sea itself, go with good beach shoes!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bangkok_10900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I reviewed this property not a long time ago. It is to say that they opened the new spa, and it is good. Their open pool is under repairmen - I think for the whole year 2013. Their breakfast became better, really good, albeit dont include meat - as it is usual in Israel.
What IU missed to note in my first review: the walking treks around Ein Gedi. People usually go to the David water fall. There are another options - number of good walks are around, of different difficulty level and length. They are marked by color marks on stones. Ask for the map. I believe that summer time it is unmanageable because of heat, but in Oct-May is a nice exercise

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silencd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The Ein Gedi resort is in an ideal setting in a desert botanical garden in spitting distance of the Dead Sea and Masada.
What we liked: location, breakfast buffet, dinner buffet (but pricey), accessibility to Dead Sea spa, lobby, overwll paid a lot for what we got
What could have been better: wi fi access was a disaster, just admit you don't have it vs. having such poor service, desert plus rooms were just mediocre, a real shame to have no view in such a beautiful place, bathroom was small and not very nice, desk staff were quite brusque, should warn people that shabbat dinner requires a reservation, Sea and Spa is a great location but it is not a nice spa.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jst20b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We spent 2 nights here as a family with young kids. The price (high) isn't reflected in the rooms which are decent but not outstanding, but the setting makes up for it. We took the higher level (Arugot) rooms - some of these have dramatic views of Nahal Arugot which is worth asking for. The dining room food was good with a lot of choice. On the kibbutz, close to the hotel dining room, there's a small zoo with a petting corner which our kids really enjoyed visiting. We made use of the free entrance to the Ein Gedi spa down the road - the complex is quite outdated but it's a quick and easy way to get to the sea, plaster on Dead Sea mud and have use of hot sulphur baths. Overall this was a nice, though not necessarily cheaper, alternative to the big hotel chains at Ein Bokek and very convenient for seeing the main sites in the area (Nahal David/Nahal Arugot, Dead Sea, Masada).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srfl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Spent only a single night there in Dec 2012.
The rooms are very basic, and could do with some renovation.
The up side that the room was clean and had all the basics.

The food is mediocre, buffet style, with many choices, but nothing excellent.

In Dec, although there is no rain and the temperature is about 20 C, the outdoor pool is closed.

There is a bus service that takes you once an hour from the hotel to the dead sea.

The price in my view is fairly high,

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YM2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Our room was average, the pool was nice but a bit crowded. We didn't realize we'd get a free visit to the Ein Gedi beach. We didn't end up going but it could be a nice perk for those planning on getting in the dead sea anyway. The buffet dinner was a bit expensive for what it was but there are not many options in the area and we didn't have any complaints. Breakfast was decent as well. Overall, I don't regret the stay. It wasn't really anything ground breaking or worth writing home about.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spf3million
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ein Gedi
17.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#8 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,301 reviews
19.5 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#4 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,286 reviews
17.9 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,144 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hod Hamidbar Resort and Spa Hotel
17.9 mi away
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
#11 of 17 in Ein Bokek
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ein Gedi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ein Gedi Hotel

Address: Kibbutz Ein Gedi, Ein Gedi 8698000, Israel
Region: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Gedi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ein Gedi
Price Range: £72 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ein Gedi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ein Gedi Hotel Dead Sea Region
Hotel Ein Gedi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing