We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different room types, all very expensive”
Review of Ein Gedi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ein Gedi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ein Gedi
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel several times, because I didn't have a choice. As a tour guide, I try to find for my clients special accommodation in Israel, BB, kibbutz resorts, or boutique hotels. Ein Gedi resort is special, because it is places in a beautiful botanic garden. However I will not recommend the this establishment any more. Only the deluxe rooms, the new ones, are worth the price. All the other rooms, including Arugot rooms are not worth the price you pay for, and they are over rated. To pay 360 $ per night including breakfast and dinner is outrages.
But that's not all: this is a Spa hotel, and still no personal toiletry in the bathroom. The soap in the dispenser is disgusting. No mineral water in the room, no flower, no decoration at all. The staff was not helpful at all. I tried to call reception several time, they did not answer.
They need a wake up call, because the place is so beautiful, and it's a shame that the hotel management is not responding to the unsatisfied customers.

Stayed: April 2013
4  Thank Israeltourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed in a superior/deluxe room, hence the 5 star for accommodation.
Apart from accommodation – the scenery, the botanic garden, the organized tours, the free Wi-Fi, and breakfast & dinner & wine selection – are equally available to all guests and were outstanding.
The dining hall (a.k.a. hotel's restaurant) is reminiscent of traditional kibbutz dining rooms; this is a plus and not a disadvantage, in my opinion. The reception and the restaurant staff were always court and willing to help.
For those who don't drive, there is a public bus stop in front of the reception. Unfortunately The sauna and hammam were under repair during our stay, so I am unable to comment on this issue.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were on a pilgrimage to the Holy Land and had been staying in some pretty nice places so our group was quite shocked by the bare rooms that awaited us at Ein Gedi. I am not a snob but our room reminded me of the horrible places we stayed for 6th Grade Girl Scout Camp. I do have to say the showers had incredible water pressure and nice hot water. However in the positive column, the resort is smack in the of a botanical garden and overlooks the Dead Sea.

We were only there one night (thankfully) but I believe the main reason to stay here is to visit the spa- which we did not have time to do. Also in walking the grounds, it seemed there were some much nicer places to stay within the kibbutz. Our room had completely bare walls and the furniture was a mish-mash that seemed as if it was left over so they just crammed it in our room. When we turned on our air conditioner, black things flew out and landed on my friend's bed.

The food was pretty good - especially the breakfast buffet. Maybe it was just our experience but the people who worked here were very curt and didn't care whether you were a guest or not. After the incredible hospitality we received everywhere in Jordan it was a bit of a rude welcome to Israel.

Room Tip: I'm really not sure what to ask for here except maybe a room that is at least painted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JFlanigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We were there for a weekend. Winter in Israel, always hotter at the Dead Sea. This particular weekend Summer take over for a while. 30 degrees centigrade at Ein Gedi. The sight is nothing short than amazing. The surroundings are incredible.
The hotel rooms are on the lower end (i.e., nothing to write home about). But the price...ok, I understand that the location is incredible, but a bit more proportion, please...

Room Tip: Sometimes the sight is worth paying the price. This is near it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We got Arugot room. The view is amazing. Magnificent dessert with the dead sea in the backgound. THe inside surrounding include impresive botanic garden and the whole interior location is full with all kinds of plants (you can forget for a moment that this is the dessert).
Few animals around like capras and unique bird. The SPA include mineral water pool as well as regular one. THe guests can use the excellent half olymic swimming pool as well. THe SPA decoration is beautifull and the treatment was excellent and professional.
A ticket to the regular Ein Gedi shore is available free for the guests as well.
Food was excellent with a lot of choices.

Room Tip: Arugot Rooms - possibly second floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith_TTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have been coming to this resort for years and years now. This year we were extremely disappointment.

The staff was very rude; it felt as if they see a person as an ATM and not more. Everything costs money; the famous mud from the Dead Sea was 100% diluted and very low quality.
In the years before the mud was always black and you could feel its benefits. Now the mud was grainy and was more gray then black. Our friends that came with us just came back from the other side of the Dead Sea in Jordan and they noticed the poor quality of the mud straight away.

The biggest problem was in the mineral bath area. There aren’t any comfy chairs; the towels cost a lot of money and the staff was extremely rude! The way to the lockers is through the gift shop, that’s another way to make you spend more money in a rather common way I must say.

The main reason to arrive to the Dead Sea is to enjoy and relax in the mineral bath area and it was a huge disappointment!

The rooms were ok, the food was very good but the staff and the mineral bath area were very poor.

There is a new spa but it costs 50 NIS just to get in.

Overall it was a disappointment!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h0neysuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

the botanical gardens, lovely. Synergic modern spa, hammam and sauna very good.
close to all important places like Qumran, Ein Gedi and Masada and of course the Dead Sea. Delicious varied food. In the kibbutz, you can always pick up an extra bottle of wine or fruit etc. In short, you will soon feel at home. This is recommended even parents with children.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobEm777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ein Gedi
17.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
Crowne Plaza Dead Sea
#8 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,326 reviews
17.9 mi away
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
Daniel Dead Sea Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ein Bokek
2,564 reviews
17.7 mi away
Isrotel Ganim
Isrotel Ganim
#1 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
Herods Hotel Dead Sea
#4 of 17 in Ein Bokek
1,300 reviews
17.4 mi away
David Dead Sea Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
Hotel Spa Club Dead Sea
#11 of 17 in Ein Bokek
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ein Gedi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ein Gedi Hotel

Address: Kibbutz Ein Gedi, Ein Gedi 8698000, Israel
Region: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Gedi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ein Gedi
Price Range: £75 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ein Gedi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ein Gedi Hotel Dead Sea Region
Hotel Ein Gedi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing