We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere”
Review of Abrage

Abrage
Ranked #19 of 100 Restaurants in Jaffa
Price range: US$16 - US$60
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Abrage is situated at the picturesque ancient 6th square adjacent to St Peters church. Located in a historical building 100 years old Abrage is glorified with an Ottoman aroma that comes .deep from within the exposed stone walls and Turquoise arches that characterize this venue Anchored in the heart of the ancient square in old Jaffa, Abrage in the perfect venue for quaint affair, enhanced by the romantic adjacent wishing well, the cool sea breeze and the tree gardens. The rare location combined with our expertise chef's fish, sea fruit and meat dishes and our team who will endeavor to provide tailor made service will make your event an experience to remember. Whether you are on vacation, on tour of our historical city or on a indulging weekend Abarage is waiting to treat you to a break of culinary wit in a place where time is at a standstill.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stopped here for a break after a long walk from our hotel in the center of tel aviv to old Jaffa.
The service was very polite and we enjoyed a nice bottle of wine along with fresh home made bread accompanied by Israeli dips..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madricha, Guest Relations Manager at Abrage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Maro P,

thank you for visiting us during your recent trip to Israel and for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to hear that you chose us for your respite during the walk- there is nothing better than bread and wine to regain your strength for the trek back to the hotel! ;-) I hope you'll visit us again when you're in Old Jaffa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 141 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

We decided to celebrate a family occasion here after reading excellent reviews.

Service was awful:
1. My pregnant wife had to wait for water until the rest of the guests arrived, why? because that's what the waitress said
2. 15-20 minutes of response time for each request we had (water, bread, bill, etc.)
3. No children menu. When we asked to receive the children dishes first, well, they arrived last, after all the adults received theirs
4. We arrived 10 minutes after breakfast was originally served and they wouldn't allow us anything from the breakfast menu

Food was poor:
1. Fish kebab arrived frozen inside (frozen! is this a restaurant or what?)
2. Tomato sauce-pasta would have make an Italian go "Colombian" in that place

Atmosphere:
By the time we left, most of the flies in the restaurant where already out (flies, as in bugs).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Od3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madricha, Guest Relations Manager at Abrage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Od3d,

I'm truly sorry to hear that we let you down on your recent visit to Abrage. I have said this before, and I want to reiterate it for everyone who plans to visit us- PLEASE let a member of management know if you are dissatisfied with any part of your meal.
I will tell you that after breakfast hours, we clean the kitchen and set things up according to the lunch menu, so that is why we are not able to provide breakfast past our set breakfast times. 10 minutes doesn't sound like much, but once the kitchen is switched over, we are not able to serve breakfast.
Regarding the wait times- I don't know what day you dined with us but the date of your review was a Saturday, and wait times are usually longer on Saturday because of the number of customers we serve. The staff should inform customers that service might be slow at these times, and I apologize if your host did not give you a heads-up.

Ultimately, however, you simply did not enjoy your experience and our preference is that our customers leave Abrage satisfied. I do hope you'll give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had a lunch switched from a special dinner on 4th of May (special evening in Israel) with our 22 best customers from Romania. We experienced a vast and rich range of fresh appetizers, accompanied by lemonade, water and ... very good wine. Perfect service, unforgettable fish, great atmosphere...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dorin_B55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madricha, Guest Relations Manager at Abrage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Dorin_B55,

I am so pleased to hear that you and your customers enjoyed the lunch at Abrage. Thank you for your warm words about our fish, service, wine, and atmosphere. We really do appreciate you taking the time to write about your visit. Please visit us again the next time you're in Old Jaffa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

You must have come through "oranges from Jaffa" once in your life if you don't live in an Arab country !!!
Nothing like a nice cool freshly squeezed orange juice after a long warm walk from the port or a bicycle ride from tlv !
Enjoy ! (And there is wifi)

Thank tarek31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madricha, Guest Relations Manager at Abrage, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear tarek31,

this might be the first time we've been reviewed on our orange juice! :-) We are happy to provide such a delicious refreshment after your walk or ride and appreciate you taking the time to review us. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had dinner there in a group of almost 50 people and I can only say - it was amazing. A rich range of freshly prepared appetizers awaited us together with wine and soft drinks, the tables set with candles and white table linen. Moty, the owner, had checked every detail, and we had our own restaurant group manager for the whole evening. Service was fast and very attentive. We had several dishes (fish, chicken, maklubeh, vegetarian), all of them delicious and rich, and a plate of sweets, tea and coffee afterwards.
The restaurant is situated in the old part of Yafo, next to St. Peter's Church, slightly away from all the noisy restaurants.We were very happy to have a quiet place where we could also sit in comfortable lounges outside and chat ...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christiane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madricha, Guest Relations Manager at Abrage, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Christiane K,

thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed the food, service, and atmosphere. We do enjoy hosting the large groups of visitors to Israel in the desire to make their visit even more special than it already is. I'm happy that we were able to add to your good memories and I hope we have the chance to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abrage also viewed

Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Abrage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing