We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Food, Average Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wellhead Restaurant

The Wellhead Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 37 Restaurants in Artesia
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Is also a brewery. Food ia excellent as is the variety of locally brewed beer.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average Food, Average Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Menu selection was okay but rather limited. The burger was great, the country fried steak was okay. The beer selection is very good but it's a brewery so you'd expect that. My biggest complaint is our main course arrived literally 5 minutes after we were handed our appetizers. I hadn't even finished 2 jalapeno poppers before my main course was being set in front of me! I felt rushed throughout the entire meal and our waitress, while cordial, wasn't very friendly and it didn't seem as if she was happy to be there. All in all, just average.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drumrjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    43
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great beer - ok food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

When we walked in this local watering hole the entire patronage literally turned and stared. I think that they must mostly serve locals. The food was fine. It was okay, but not great. The beer however, made it worth the trip. We were thoroughly surprised by the quality of their micro-brews brewed on site. The beer definitely made it worth the trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ParticularDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua Tree, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good Beer, OK Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Wellhead is located in the historic downtown portion of Artesia. They serve a good variety of microbrew beer. My meal was good (a burger), but my friend had the special of the day (meatloaf and mashed potatoes), which was pretty bad. It came on a large plate that dwarfed the two small pieces of Costco looking meatloaf and the large pile of insyant looking mashed spuds. That particular plate looked quite unappealing, wasn't very tasty according to my friend and not worth the $15 charged.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dmarieJoshuaTree_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artesia, New Mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Micro Brew”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Good place to meet up with friends and have a beer. Food is ok with some bar type food and full ontrays but the beer takes the cake.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank katie1898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Co.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Surprising find in a small town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We arrived in Artesia, NM and walked around for a while and then sat to look at some sculptures.
When we asked a woman sitting there for a restaurant recommendation she suggested the Wellhead.
The restaurant is on the main street and nothing special to look at. It does have a large choice of microbews which we didn't partake of. The service was a little flaky but we were quite pleased with our food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wellhead Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Wellhead Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing