We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect too much”
Review of Kfar Giladi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kfar Giladi Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kfar Giladi
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Don't expect too much”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Spent one night with my wife and two daughters. The room we received is one of the renovated ones and even though we asked for a family room it surprised me that there was only a shower and no on-suite bath-tub...
Room was clean, check-in was quick and polite. In general, staff we had encountered were friendly and efficient.
Our booking included dinner and breakfast. If you're a meat eater you had a wide choice of all kinds of meat made in many ways, but if you're a vegetarian like myself... one fish option, some strange salads (cherry tomatoes with beetroot?) and that's it. I stayed hungry :-(

Breakfast had more options but would not qualify as great. Not what you usually get in Israeli hotels.

All in all, I would not go there again. If you do, prepare yourself for small rooms, not really equipped for families and.. bring your own food and drink - you'll probably need it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    88
    62
    30
    22
See reviews for
110
45
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We spent Passover there with an extended family group. We found the room very satisfactory. The food was good - full board on festival days and half board on other days - lots of salads, quite reasonable main dishes and nice desserts. The setting is lovely with views up to the hills of Metula and the central grassy area was very handy. There are lots of hiking and other activities in the vicinity. We found the staff at reception, in the dining rooms and housekeeping quite satisfactory.

We had some problems with the airconditioning - it only blew cold. The absence of lift facilities was a significant problem.

Room Tip: You should select a lower level room to avoid dragging suitcases up the numerous stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baysyd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Please note that some rooms are newly renovated while others are not. We took two renovated rooms with a connecting door. the rooms are basic but nice. lots of grounds for the kids to run around. beautiful view. I found the staff to be good overall. hotel manager Itai was very nice. only negetive is the cleaning staff. We were there for a week, the cleaning was good for the first few days, but after a couple of days it was clear that the cleaning lady did not sweep the floor. Wifi works well in the lobby, but not in the rooms.

Room Tip: If you want a nice clean hotel with good food and a great location for hiking then this is the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raanana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Spent the week at this kibbutz hotel.
Very basic accomodations but rooms are clean and well kept.
We were half board and enjoyed varied and quite good breakfasts and dinners.
Good indoor pool and gym. (outdoor pool was closed due to weather)
Attentive staff and good service.
Our kids and grandchildren loved the open grounds of this hotel.
Many beautiful hiking trails and places to visit in the area.
So for an action packed vacation with the little ones, this place comes recomended.

Room Tip: There are several types of rooms - some recently renovated and very nice. We took the simpler rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seth r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

If you are looking for a kibbutz experience with a family - then this may be for you. To say that it's basic - significantly overplays what is on offer.
Let's start with reception - unhelpful, unfriendly and lacking any sense of customer care or awareness - presumably untrained?
Finding your way to your room - up & down stairs, along smelly and unclean corridors to a room which barely meets the very basics. The carpet is stained, the beds are uncomfortable and there is a lingering odour which is unpleasant.
Onto the "restaurant!" - barely a refectory - communal living at its most basic!
This is NOT a hotel - it may meet hostel standards - just!
You can get wifi - BUT not in your room - only in reception, where you have to trudge yet again to be assaulted by what is nothing more than a children's playground in reality - noisy, ill managed (in fact not managed at all!) and only for a family.
I have no idea why this is called a hotel - it's a communal facility which will meet a very restricted market - certainly not that of a traveller/tourist needing rest & relaxation at the end of a busy day.

Room Tip: There aren't any good rooms! Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsYorksUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kfar Giladi hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

As an American we welcomed the chance to visit a kibbutz. If you're familiar you might judge the hotel more critically than we did. The room was basic, very clean and comfortable. The lobby was busy and noisy with lots of kids running about (there were parties going on). This might annoy some but we enjoyed being in the midst of Israelis and their regular lives.

Food was fine, nothing to rave about. As part of a group I can't comment on the price or value. (clicked "value" rating by accident and can't remove it. I can't comment on the costs)

What we enjoyed were the grounds and looking out toward Lebanon, seeing the bomb shelters that were such a part of early Israeli life (and still are, Gaza attacked the week after we left). We had a tour guided by a life long resident who did a wonderful job conveying kibbutz life without any sugar coating.

There is a wall in the lobby covered in fascinating pictures from all eras of the settlement. Unfortunately there wasn't one caption, not even in Hebrew. That's a shame I hope they correct as I'd love to have read the story of each of those old photos.

This might be an everyday lodging to Israelis, but we really liked getting a glimpse of a life style we've only read about.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Queenisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

As noted by others, the hotel is the process of renovation, both of the rooms and the roadways. Our rooms were newly renovated rooms 38-40 The rooms themselves were nicely redone with modern fixtures, but are on the small size. One of our rooms had a shower door that did not seal properly and flooded the bathroom. That presumably will be fixed. While rooms elsewhere in the complex apparently had carpeting, our rooms had porcelain floor tile. Not a problem for us, but could be for others. Our biggest issue with the room was that the walls were so very, very paper thin. You can hear everything said on the other side of the wall, tv came through loud and clear, etc.... If you want privacy or quiet, this is not the place for you. The suite of rooms we were in was not in the main building that houses the lobby, dining room, swim facility, etc.... On a cold February night, it was cold to go back and forth to the pool/gym.

Some staff was friendly, and some was not.

The best thing going for the hotel is the pool complex, which is very large and nicely heated. Few hotels have a pool as large. Towels provided were also quite good. If you have young children and count on the watchful eye of a lifeguard, don't do so here. I saw the on duty lifeguard reading a book/magazine, and later on, talking with a friend who came on by and sat down next to the guard chair.

The food left us wanting. Breakfast was not all that different from other Israeli breakfasts, except that there was very, very little fruit, and what there was was fruit from a can. Very disappointing. On the flip side, guests got to press their own oranges for juice each morning. The real disappointment was the evening we chose to have dinner at the hotel. It was easily the worst meal of our trip, and beyond that, among the worst meals we ever had. That at $24 US per person. How one can make a pot roast in a sauce and have it be dry and tasteless was a mystery. What we were told would be roast chicken was just chicken legs in some sort of sauce with olives in it. No appeal at all. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your money on dinner at Kfar Giladi Hotel. In the lobby area there is a bar with some snack offerings, including pizza. The pizza was very clearly of the frozen variety, and if you are from the US, it seemed virtually the same as the Elio's frozen square pizza found in the supermarket freezer. Not a problem, just not fresh made.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kfar Giladi
5.2 mi away
Pastoral Hotel - Kfar Blum
3.2 mi away
Hagoshrim Hotel & Nature
Hagoshrim Hotel & Nature
#1 of 2 in Kiryat Shmona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
2.4 mi away
Alaska Inn
Alaska Inn
#1 of 1 in Metulla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Galilion
Galilion
#1 of 1 in Merkaz Kah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
19.2 mi away
Villa Galilee
Villa Galilee
#2 of 5 in Safed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Village - Jordan Riverside TravelHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kfar Giladi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kfar Giladi Hotel

Property: Kfar Giladi Hotel
Address: Kibbutz Kfar Giladi, Kfar Giladi 1221000, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Kfar Giladi
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kfar Giladi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kfar Giladi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kfar Giladi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing