We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madison Hotel Nahariya
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Nahariya
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed one night and while the hotel has many positive points it is a bit "tired". First the good points: great location - on the sea and just a few minutes stroll from the main street. The room was large and had everything one would expect in a resort hotel - large TV, microwave, small fridge, safe, coffee etc.
However, the refrigerator didn't work, the bathroom door couldn't be closed, no room around the sink to put anything down and a general run down feel. The staff was helpful but the lobby still looked drab.
All in all it was worth the money but a little more upkeep by the management could make this into a really attractive place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zgerstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed in the Madison Hotel last week for 3 nights.
We were given a delightful room overlooking the sea. Comfortable beds, very clean, new bathroom and absolutely nothing to complain about. Everything was good.

Breakfast was very good and a delight in tastes.(except the jam, not good)

The staff at the reception desk could not be more helpful and pleasant, especially Avivit
and her big smile every time.

The only thing that was missing was an outdoor pool. The beach is facing the hotel but
the sea was very dirty being partly surrounded by rocks to make it safer. There is a country
club with an indoor pool nearby. No outdoor pool.

We will be going back the the Madison.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandra1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Alert to Madison ownership, the potential of this property is being wasted. This hotel is literally 1/2 block from the beach, and only a short stroll to the Nahariya boardwalk and Ga'aton shopping center. I spent 4 nights there with my wife.

Negatives: this is a tired hotel, in desperate need of a re-fit. Ownership unfortunately employs some staff members that don't care about it, or its guests. The rooms have an early 80's decor, and carry a slight mildew odor. Caked on grime was visible in the bathroom, particularly in the shower. The bed was uncomfortable, and more akin to sleeping on plank board. No swimming pool on premises. No spa or gym. One particular desk employee (Shani) carried a typical "get lost" attitude that was prevalent in Israel 10-15 years ago. When a visiting friend asked her to call up to my room from the lobby, she refused. One evening when I asked Shani for ice, and she gave me the pitifully lame excuse that "the hotel ice machine was broken". FYI – a little while later, I got my ice from another employee. I guess smoking cigarettes and chatting on her cell phone were more of a priority than hotel guests. She’d never make the cut in other establishments and deserves to be booted.

Positives: most employees were not like Shani; indeed, some were very helpful. The rooms were large and had small terraces that had magnificent views of the ocean. A small fridge was in the room. The location was superb if you’re into beach sun & fun; and it’s a short walk to restaurants/shopping. The breakfast was abundant, with excellent variety. Free Wi-Fi in the room.

Some advice - if you have a choice, be very cautious about staying here. Ownership has lots of house cleaning to do - with both the staff and the facility.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madaharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed here after we were dissatisfied with the nearby Ga'aton Motel and checked out after just one night. The room was perfect in every way. We had a beautiful view of the Mediterranean Sea and the beach, and an immaculately clean room, a nice, comfortable bed, a refrigerator and microwave, and more than you could ask for. The staff were very nice and pleasant people. If you prefer a bathtub to a shower, ask for a room on the 6th or 7th floor.

Breakfast was from out of this world. A first class breakfast was offered for free, and it included a buffet of so many choices of delicious food that the only problem was avoiding eating too much. The restaurant where breakfast was served in the building was also open for dinner, but overpriced, so we didn't go there at all for dinner. There are plenty of much cheaper restaurants nearby that are so good, your only problem is choosing where to go.

Staying at the hotel allows one free access to the pool and beach across the street, which we took full advantage of.

The building seemingly has no handicapped access. The only way into this building is through a flight of steps. Guests are responsible to carry their own luggage up these steps. This can be difficult for one who has strength that has diminished with age or due to disability. The hotel has no staff able or willing to assist with this.

The hotel does not have its own parking lot. But we had no trouble ever finding free parking around the perimeter of the building.

There is no on-site self-serve laundry. One who wants their laundry done must pay quite a lot for off-site laundry, which is costly and time-consuming.

The electronic keys die often and easily, and must be frequently brought to the desk to be reinstated.


Stayed: May 2013
3  Thank colorknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The hotel is opposite the beach. To get to the beach and the Country Club which presents at the hotel website, the guest should leave the hotel and cross the road.
We stayed in studio room which was spacious and divided into a sleeping area and living area. The bad is small. The furniture are basic. The towels are very low level (small and thin).
The food was good and plentiful. Ther are no parking arrangements. The guest need to look for a parking space near the hotel (at swimming season it's harder to find a place close).

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank אברהם פ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed only for one night on business while visiting clients with colleagues. I look for clean rooms, helpful staff during check in and wifi. It ticked the box on all three. My niggle, the room was a little tired and needed updating. The bin in the room was full of the previous guests rubbish from the local supermarket. Breakfast was perfectly fine and staff helpful. We were the only guests at the hotel, I think it was out of season when we stayed. The location to the beach was perfect. Lots of bars close by with good night life. A welcome chance to grab a late drink as the bars closed at approx midnight mid week.
I would stay again for the location and value.

Room Tip: good location for the beech, and wifi in the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed for a week in Feb. 2013. The room was large, and the view was wonderful. We had a great view of the beach. the sunsets from the balcony were so fantastic we found ourselves running down to the beach. The beach was so nice and so accessible. We were in walking distance to the main promenade. Shopping, food, people watching, live music and friendly locals. The staff were friendly, informative, and so helpful. We were told where, when, and how much for every thing we asked about. The more we talked to them the friendlier they got. The price was right, the stay was comfortable and the breakfast was more than enough. The water however was ...well for lack of a better word, salty. That was our only complaint. We found ourselves buying gallons of bottled water. Otherwise this hotel comes very highly recommended from us.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view, and a top floor. You will love the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nahariya
0.1 mi away
Shtarkman Erna Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sea Life Hotel
Sea Life Hotel
#2 of 7 in Nahariya
249 reviews
6.6 mi away
Rimonim Palm Beach Acre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nea Resort & People
Nea Resort & People
#1 of 1 in Shavei Tzion
143 reviews
15.3 mi away
Dan Panorama Haifa
Dan Panorama Haifa
#9 of 28 in Haifa
807 reviews
16.2 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Hotel Nahariya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Hotel Nahariya

Address: 17 Ha-Aliya, Nahariya 2238143, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Nahariya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Nahariya
Price Range: £78 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Hotel Nahariya 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madison Hotel Nahariya in the Western Galilee is the perfect choice for your next vacation or business trip in Israel.The hotel is perfectly located on the Nahariya promenade, facing the Mediterranean Sea and a row of gorgeous beaches.The hotel's position provides a short walking distance to the city center, adjacent to a variety of restaurants, bars, coffee shops, shopping mall and entertainment center and a short drive to the beautiful sights that are available along the shore ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Madison Hotel Nahariya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Nahariya
Nahariya Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing