We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Squeaky-clean in the heart of Nazareth”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nazareth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sisters of Nazareth Convent
Reviewed 13 August 2010

If you want an urban retreat experience in the Holy Land, this is it. Outstanding staff and small but very clean rooms. Quiet retreat but literally steps from the market, the Basilica and shops. Rooftop terrace a sublime thrill. Breakfast is simple but with the freshest sesame bread. Not a "hotel" but a genuine religious pilgrim house.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
4  Thank Rev_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2010

I arrived at Nazareth New City at 9.30pm, and phoned the convent to see if they had vacancies. So, in effect, I checked in with 15 minutes of notice and the sisters there couldn’t have been more helpful. The 10.30pm curfew and early 10am check-out may put one or two people off but I can honestly say that I’ve never, ever stayed somewhere for such a short-time, and enjoyed it so much.

I paid 180 NIS for a single-room with en-suite bathroom but without breakfast, and it was the cleanest place I’d ever stayed in. It was quiet, and the shower was top, top quality. A very good toilet, and plenty of plugs to recharge the camera or mobile phone. The courtyard is beautiful, as was the roof which its magnificent view of Nazareth. There’s also an air-con, but no TV or wi-fi though you could pick up someone else’s on the rooftop.

If I were to point out the drawbacks, they are pretty minor matters: such as the squeaky bed or the thinnish walls which meant I could hear the person snoring next door. But really, I have no obvious complaints about this convent, which is magnificent and superbly-located, being next to the Basilica of the Annunciation. I really cannot emphasise enough just how clean the place is.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sachahuista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Location is great. Grounds are very nice if you are lucky you might arrange a visit to the herodian tomb and other ruins below the convent, with a nice guiding and it is free.
Breakfast is basic, bread, jam and cheese. But the rooms are spotless, new, beds are great and linens white and really nice. Not forgetting really nice and helpful staff. One of best stays in Israel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tweetster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

I have stayed at the Sisters of Nazareth Convent twice now and both times have been wonderful. The rooms are simple, but SPOTLESS. The bathroom is sufficient and clean, and the beds are great. In fact, the bedding is higher quality than any of the more expensive hotels I've stayed at in Israel/Palestine - I wanted to stay longer. The beds are twins (...it's a convent) but for closeness to the sights in Nazareth, price, and atmosphere you can't beat this convent.

Make reservations early. If the convent has other travelers the same time you are there you can pay for meals at the convent which are served family style and HIGHLY recommendable.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveling_Bookbinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Stayed first night at Rosary Sisters... was nice, clean and simple. Religious Sisters was by far better. Better location, nicer grounds, better breakfast, better service. All around better and the price was even better at the time.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank okitsme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Beautiful grounds, located down the street from Church of The Annunciation. Gated, with beautiful views from roof and some rooms. Clean, comfortable rooms. Great service. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okitsme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

I was prepared for a hostel kind of experience -- boy was I wrong! My room was very simple (not luxurious) but super clean. I was so happy to have a good shower after my hostel in Old City Jerusalem! The convent is right next to the Church of the Annunciation (where the Angel told Mary she would conceive) and conveniently located to a great restaurant and shops.

If you're looking for a luxurious hotel, this may not be for you. But if you are looking for a clean, quiet, serene, hospitable place while on your pilgrimage through Israel -- stay here. You will be very glad.

*The men on our trip stayed in the dormitory -- I think they were less impressed. But the women in the bedrooms were quite happy!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DDSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nazareth hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Nazareth Hotel
Villa Nazareth Hotel
#1 of 14 in Nazareth
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
#4 of 14 in Nazareth
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Simsim Guest House
Simsim Guest House
#1 of 11 in Nazareth
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antique Hostel
Antique Hostel
#9 of 11 in Nazareth
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al-Mutran Guest House
Al-Mutran Guest House
#2 of 15 in Nazareth
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sisters of Nazareth Convent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sisters of Nazareth Convent

Address: Old City | Near The Basilica, Nazareth, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Nazareth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Nazareth
Also Known As:
Sisters Of Nazareth Convent Hotel Nazareth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing