We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place, friendly staff and amazing atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al-Mutran Guest House
Ranked #2 of 14 Nazareth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I found this place by coincedence and booked it for me and my parents based on good recommendations on TripAdvisor. The house and rooms are old and have an original Arab feel but still modern and cozy. The breakfast is great - typical Palestinian - and the hospitality overall is what makes it worth visiting Nazereth just to stay a night or two here.

It's quite tricky to find and though there are parking spaces in front of it, they are a bit difficult to get to. Beware, there's a garage close to it which charges overprices for parking by saying that it's a part of the guest house - I fell into that trap.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lena607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed staying at Al Mutran, an arab house full of enchanting atmosphere and very clean.
Emir (Amir) welcomed us warmly and was full of attentions to our needs and wishes (parking included).
Delicious (and plentiful) breakfast.

Room Tip: We had reserved the "deluxe" room and we were very satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paolo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We had a very hard time finding the bed and breakfast. The indications were not clear and Nazareth streets are narrow and traffic is heavy. It took us 2 hours, once in Nazareth, to get there. They said it would be easy to park - there were parking spaces on the side of very narrow roads -hard to get into and you have to trust that other drivers will not scratch your car.
The B&B itself is quite nice. We were on the 3rd floor, no elevator and many steps. The rooms are large, clean and quiet. Once you are at the B&B, it is easy to visit the old Nazareth by foot. The staff is very helpful with advice as to what to visit, where to eat and how to get there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Curieuse12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Al-Mutran Guest House is a Bed and Breakfast facility in the heart of the old city of Nazareth, within walking distance of the Church of the Annunciation, etc. The only trouble with it was finding it. It took us two hours, eventually being directed by a group of taxi drivers within a couple of blocks distance of it. Even a local person, whose job requires driving to addresses, had trouble locating it. If you are driving, make sure you have the skill to navigate through one car width + a few inches on either side for the length of a block with curves.
The hotel staff is very pleasant and nice (Bara'ah was so sweet, even offering to carry the luggage up the two flights of stairs), so much so that I do not wish to say anything negative about the place. The manager and his assistants speak enough English.
A clean room was very high priority for us, and in that regard it did not disappoint. The room in fact had high ceilings, a common sitting room on the floor, which also had a refrigerator and computer, and a shared balcony for the floor from which to look out to the opposing house-covered hillside.
The (Arab) breakfast is adequate if, for drink, you are happy with coffee/tea or water and are not looking for juice (they do provide a sort of grape-colored flavored sugared water in place of juice). The omelet was fine, as were the sesame paste covered flatbread, falafel, cheeses, diced apple/pineapple sald, fresh fruit, and yogurt (leben). Room and facilities were adequate for what we had come to expect of Israel. You get something close to what you get for a third of the cost in the US. The bathroom and sink were serviceable, slightly roomier than the narrower showers/bathrooms we experienced at other places in Israel, under this range of lodging budget. Bathroom and sink had liquid soap in dispensers (we had brought our own).
The internet connection worked excellently. The in-room water heater for instant coffee (or teabags) could be plugged in once I unplugged the bedside lamp (the cord was too short to reach the other free outlet by the table with the instant coffee packets). Also we felt a little queasy walking barefoot on the carpetless floor of the room.
Now that I know where it is, and did drive back and forth to it a couple times after initial arrival, I might consider lodging there again, but will probably reconsider in view of the energy, effort, and time connected with the parking on location (too awesome and hilarious to describe). Also, this is a B&B, there is no front desk, and you may need to be able to call someone to get checked in once you arrive. I also ended up being charged about $3.50 more per day than the rate confirmed by Expedia, for which they blamed the exchange rate charged by their institution.
I felt safe, although it clearly seemed imprudent to leave the GPS or other valuable things in the car. The people were friendly, although the advice from the facility was more focused to support local businesses and less in the principal interest of the majority of tourists, which would be locations of Christian interest. Any political/ideological stuff existed only as an undercurrent, but it definitely was there as evidenced by advertisement to a lecture posted on the door.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Nice little guest house directly in the old city and close to nice restaurants. For small cars there is parking possible in front of the house. Room was filled with old furniture and decoration. The room was really small with hardly enough space to walk around the bed. Shower and wc was sort of build into the big old room. But there is common space or sitting room outside. Nice old house but nothing really special and a bit expensive. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulotto12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We booked a triple for one night. The room was very small, but there was a common room to share with other rooms. The location is advertised as in heart of the souk, but is actually down the street. Still a great location, but not particularly scenic in the immediate location of the hotel. The breakfast was the best we had on our trip and the service was outstanding. I would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank KilburnPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Amicable service, nice breakfast, rooms of various sizes, equipped with a shower. We took 2 rooms, 3 persons in each. Quiet place, old building with a nice atmosphere, sitting area both at the floor level and outdoor (in the morning sun). Emil and Maroon provided useful tourist information. We were allowed to hold a family gathering at the sitting area in the evening. Probably will come again next time around.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eitankenneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nazareth hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Nazareth Hotel
Villa Nazareth Hotel
#1 of 14 in Nazareth
222 reviews
1.7 mi away
Golden Crown Nazareth Hotel
0.3 mi away
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
#4 of 14 in Nazareth
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Nazareth
Ramada Nazareth
#5 of 14 in Nazareth
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels
0.1 mi away
Simsim Guest House
Simsim Guest House
#1 of 11 in Nazareth
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al-Mutran Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al-Mutran Guest House

Address: The Old City, Bishop Square | Pob 2654, Nazareth 16100, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Nazareth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nazareth
Price Range: £63 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Al-Mutran Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Mutran guest house is a restored 200-year-old Arab mansion in the old city of Nazareth located in the Bishop Square. It offers a boutique-style atmosphere that is suitable for families, couples and individual travelers. The guest house is relaxed and cosy, the staff are welcoming and the rooms are elegant, offering panoramic views over the old city. All rooms have A/C. Free WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Al-Mutran Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing