We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - great old building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al-Mutran Guest House
Ranked #2 of 15 Nazareth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location - great old building”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I were thankful to be able to get a room at the last minute. Our reservation in a nearby inn wasn't working for us, as we had a car and needed a place to park. Though the parking wasn't easy, we always managed to find a space. Emile, as others have said, is wonderful. He makes all the difference. The inn is conveniently located, but is quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable for two people, though the room felt a bit small with our luggage. Many lovely touches made us feel like we were experiencing a real Palestinian Arab home. I especially enjoyed the sitting room in the morning with the sun streaming in through the balcony doors. We stayed four nights and will be back!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room facing the front - they are a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobKat1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    80
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
59
107
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great little guest house in quiet street in Nazareth. The owner could not have been better ,making sure our stay was very relaxing. great breakfast. lovely balcony to relax on. Very good location for Nazereth's excellent arab restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VandL_Bath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Al-Mutran was wonderful. Emile couldn't have been nicer. We were lost and he came and found us to take us to the hotel. He also dropped us off at the restaurant for dinner since it was chilly outside. The room was very clean. Great Breakfast! I can't say enough nice things about the people of Nazareth.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Nicely located between the main attractions and the portion of town containing a number of restaurants and bars. Be sure to look up directions to the place from their website beforehand as the GPS failed us. Also, location on Google maps is close, but not close enough and would lead you astray.

Common areas are very charming. Room was small with no frills, but clean. Didn’t have any problems with noise, but it was a Saturday night so not much was happening. No elevator but host assisted with the bags. The breakfast is over the top. Way more food than you can possibly eat. But the best part of Al Mutran is easily the host. Extremely friendly and informative.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracyInVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A friendly, homey and very beautiful place, in the ,middle of the old city, 2 minutes walk from the main sights of Nazareth. The rooms are lovely and comfortable, you can choose between large rooms and small rooms. The upper rooms have a very nice view of Nazareth. Thy serve an authentic local breakfast which you must try, including eggs, labane, olives, vegetables, fruits, salads, pita bread with za'atar, hot drinks, great coffee, and more.

Emile, the manager, is both friendly and professional, he will host you and guide you through the city, and give you recommendations what to do / eat / shop.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adaryud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Don't let the positive comments in other reviews fool you, this place is a pretty run down backpacker joint.

Way overpriced for what it offers. I stayed during a trip across Israel and this was easily the worst choice of accommodation. Rooms were worn down and not clean. The place might be right for you if you are 18 and backpacking across the world but for that it is too expensive. If you are looking for a reasonable middle / upper class accommodation, avoid.

In fact my top tip is to avoid staying in Nazareth altogether. You can stay in a really nice Hotel in Tel Aviv, Haifa or at the sea of Galilee and easily do a day trip. It does not warrant an overnight stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McJever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashkelon, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A magical place, wonderful hospitality! Rooms are clean, quiet and pleasant location. Emil the host is a charming person. Very Good breakfast.
If you come to Nazareth you should not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimrit80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nazareth
0.2 mi away
Villa Nazareth Hotel
Villa Nazareth Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nazareth
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
#2 of 13 in Nazareth
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
#3 of 13 in Nazareth
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels
15.9 mi away
Kibbutz Inbar Country Lodging
0.1 mi away
Simsim Guest House
Simsim Guest House
#1 of 11 in Nazareth
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al-Mutran Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al-Mutran Guest House

Property: Al-Mutran Guest House
Address: The Old City, Bishop Square | Pob 2654, Nazareth 16100, Israel
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Nazareth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Nazareth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Al-Mutran Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Mutran guest house is a restored 200-year-old Arab mansion in the old city of Nazareth located in the Bishop Square. It offers a boutique-style atmosphere that is suitable for families, couples and individual travelers. The guest house is relaxed and cosy, the staff are welcoming and the rooms are elegant, offering panoramic views over the old city. All rooms have A/C. Free WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Al-Mutran Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing