We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, affordable, AC worked in August, convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Casa de Maria
Ranked #9 of 14 Nazareth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We found these guys online, it was a good combination of contented reviewers, price, and location. We spent two days touring in the region, so our accommodation needed only to be clean, have a good air conditioner and shower, which it had, and breakfast was a bonus. The location worked fine for driving. Parking worked fine, too, they shifted our car around in their small parking space. We only ate two breakfasts, so though it was the same thing (fruits, cheese, bread, cereal, etc.) that was fine.

Room Tip: Our double room had a tiny porch, didn't request it, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bearskinrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

My sister and I was arriving after midnight and arranged to be picked up by the hotel by a car. We were unaware at the time that Tony worked at the hotel and was very grateful for the ride for a tidy sum. Tony was very cordial and welcoming. We arranged for a double room and received a queen and twin sized bed. The hotel was clean and and nicely decorated. The water for bathing was luke warm on all but one day. The first mornings breakfast had eggs, a fruit salad with a variety of fruit, meat, cheese, yoghurt and bread with hot and cold beverages provided.

After getting acclimated, though offered a guided tour for $200 a day, we declined and took the bus to Tiberias and later to Jerusalem. Though cordial, there appeared to be a shift in the reception we received. Breakfast was much the same and as the days progressed the menu items got fewer and fewer with the free beverages eliminated. I later noticed that there was a sign that indicated that drinks were an additional charge.

We arrived one evening to find the lights above the first floor lobby out from the elevator to our room door. Another night we found the gate that enclosed the hotel locked. Not having local phone service, we had to locate a phone to call the hotel to gain entry. We were told "I thought you were in for the night.". We checked out that night and a taxi which was initially available for $60 to take us to the train station became unavailable. The accommodating Tony became unaccommodating and unavailable to transport us to the train station, because he wanted a lot more than the $60 that the taxi would have accepted. Tony was willing to take us around to see that no taxi's were available, he could not help us otherwise. Fortunately for us, a taxi happened by and we were able to flag it down and get to the train.

Perhaps our experience may have been different were we not the only people staying in the hotel.

Room Tip: My room was located on the front on the third floor. Perhaps a room facing the back may have been q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vbkny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night before hiking the Jesus Trail, which starts in Nazareth. It is located about 15 minutes (walking) from the center of Nazareth, which was not ideal for us. It is situated on a busy highway, and the walk from the center to the hotel sometimes includes sidewalks and sometimes does not. Like I said, not ideal. We were pleasantly surprised by our room, however, which was huge by Israel standards. Clean, well decorated, comfortable bed. The only issue was that our room overlooked the highway, which was quite loud.
The hotel is family owned, and one of the sons helped us. We had to get a very early start and he graciously set up breakfast for us a half an hour early and gave us free cappuccinos. Breakfast was good--typical Israeli with some cheeses, fruits, salads, lots of cheese, bread. He also gave us hot pita with zaatar, which was delicious.
Overall good experience. Hospitality was great, location...not so much.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The hotel is located right on the main road so on 1 hand, it is easy to see/find. However, there is no address so we had no idea where the hotel was located in Nazareth, the information from Bookings.com didn't register on our GPS. I called the day before driving up to Nazareth for directions and was told the hotel was located behind Big shopping mall but that we should call when we arrived in Nazareth for further directions. As it happened, we drove into Nazareth and got stuck at a major traffic lights with Big shopping mall on our right, so we immediately called the hotel - but we could not work out the exact location of the hotel in relations to that intersection despite the fact that we knew it must be very near. In the end, we crossed the intersection, drove into Big shopping mall car park and out again, stopped along the road to find somebody to speak to the hotel and got hand-directed directions to the hotel. As the hotel is located near a major intersection, it would have been good for the hotel to prepare directions for people driving into Nazareth (for example, "if coming from the direction of ....., turn .....at the big intersection where you see the Big shopping mall and the hotel is immediately before a petrol station - easiest way is to go into the petrol station and ring the bell at the gate adjacent to the petrol station so the hotel can open the gate for you" or something like that). ROOMS: Our triple room had a tiny window way above our heads, we didn't even know it could be opened, we only realised it could be opened when the cleaning lady must have opened it for us the next day, not that we could have reached it easily. The view consisted of a rock wall about 1 foot from the window itself with birds' nest so the birds' chirping woke us up early the morning the window was left opened.
I saw 1 room while walking along the corridor that had a nice sitting area with lovely big windows which gave daylight to the room - in stark contrast to ours, we had no idea whether it was day time or night time in our room. Having said that, our room itself was a good size with modern bathroom and amenities.
Breakfast was so-so.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bangkok_10900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night in this hotel. It was expensive (99 usd double room), but it was the best value in town. The main downside is that is is relatively far from the old town - I reckon a boring 15 mins walk through a noisy, mostly sidewalk-less street. Another downside is that most rooms face a busy motorway, which means easy access if you come in your own car (i didn't), but it also means that the rooms are very noisy all night long. On the other hand, the rooms were impeccably clean and well equipped, and the buffet breakfast was generous and good (typical israel stuff: vegetables, yoghurts, eggs, hams).

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniel_osorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

The rooms are large by Israeli standards. We arrived on 12.12.12., not knowing about the huge celebrations taking place in the city that day. After we parked and checked in, we discovered that we would either half to walk almost half an hour to the central square, or take a taxi only part way, as the drivers weren't interested in dealing with the crowds. At this point the owner offered to drive us, found a place to park only two blocks away, and then took us to the balcony of an office building from where we could see the festive lighting of the tree ceremony and enjoy the music on the central stage played by the Hebrew University Symphony Orchestra. The owner returned several members of our party to the hotel later. This was absolutely above and beyond the call of duty on his part.
In the late evening the owner sat with us and told us the story of how he built the hotel, which is family-run.
The room was well appointed, and the double windows blocked out most of the sun and noise, even on the well-travelled street side. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
The buffet breakfast was fine, especially after the cook asked us if we wanted omelettes, which he cooked fresh for us.
The owner gave us a tour of the hotel, showing us the honeymoon room, which is like a regular room except that it is in a private wing of the hotel, and features a double jacuzzi.
Booking direclty with the hotel, we paid NIS 420 for our double room, and consider it money well spent (excellent value for the price).
The location is great, because anything further away would no longer be at walking distance from anything in town, and anything closer would be unsuitable for guests with cars. Anyone who's tried to navigate Nazareth's streets knows what I'm talking about.
The hotel is not equipped to handle handicapped people, and offers no kosher food. On the other hand, tourists, businessmen and pilgrims will find this an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daveed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Large and very clean rooms, comfortable beds, warm and pleasant service. Got a room facing the road witch was pretty noisy. Breakfast was good. Location - o.k if you have a car . If you are an Israeli make the reservation directly with the hotel by phone. You might get a better price then using Booking.com.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Illy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nazareth hotels
0.8 mi away
Golden Crown Nazareth Hotel
1.0 mi away
Villa Nazareth Hotel
Villa Nazareth Hotel
#1 of 14 in Nazareth
222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
Legacy Nazareth Hotel
#2 of 14 in Nazareth
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
Rimonim Hotel Nazareth
#4 of 14 in Nazareth
271 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Nazareth
Ramada Nazareth
#5 of 14 in Nazareth
30 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fauzi Azar Inn by Abraham Hostels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa de Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa de Maria

Address: Nazareth 16000, Israel (Formerly Derech Hatzionut 27)
Region: Israel > Northern District > Galilee > Nazareth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Nazareth
Price Range: £68 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa de Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa de Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing