We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go Early!”

Megiddo National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$169.00*
and up
Sacred Jewish Sites Tour from Jerusalem: Tiberias, Safed and Mount Meron
Ranked #3 of 29 things to do in Nazareth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This archaeological site of an ancient fortress town has revealed more than 20 layers of ruins, ranging in time from the Neolithic Period (7000 BC) to the end of the Persian Period (332 BC).
Plover, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Go Early!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We got there 1 and 1/2 hours before they were supposed to close and were herded off the tell 45 minutes earlier then closing time. Still one amazing site! GO GO GO!!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank kate2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    80
    26
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
272 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Definitely worth seeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

The history of the different folks that have lived here is fascinating. I had a private guide that took me around many places in Israel and told me this was a must see. The tunnel below the top area is wonderful. It is hard to believe it was built so long ago and there is STILL water here! It is unfortunate that all of the artifacts discovered are at a British museum. Some should have been left at this site.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank newflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Back in the Bible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We visited Megiddo straight from the airport, just after the site opened. There were no other visitors: the site was open and arid, shaded by the palm trees standing guard over the tiers of ancient walls. I was epecially impressed by the Canaanite altar and the long access tunnel to the water source. Years ago my mother was similarly impressed with this. Our visit to Megiddo last year was an excellent way to begin our holiday to Israel.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Prepare your imagination :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

The "Megiddo Hill" sounds "Har Megiddo" in Hebrew. Sounds familiar? Of course, because this is the place, where it is believed the ARMAGEDDON will take place! So prepare your imagination :)
The place itself is very interesting! (even that not that impressive - no temples, no statues, almost nothing but excavations...) Go to the visitors center - it has a huge moving model of the temple as it was thousands of years ago, with very interesting explanations. We want there as a group of few families, with children, and the local representative made us an excursion ( I think this excursion is given every few hours). In any case, it's worth walking the place with someone who understands the place and can explain things, or a book. Don't miss the underground pass - it's amazing it was built with no machinery!..

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Igor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lots of footwork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

be prepared for walking climbing etc; take plenty water but worth it

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Megiddo National Park also viewed

 
Nazareth, Galilee
Nazareth, Galilee
 

Been to Megiddo National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing